Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protein Drink Sub

• 14-12-2004 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭

This is probably a really stupid question but i will ask anyway. I have been drinking a protein drink vanilla flavour and i have to so i think its fowl. I cannot stand it. I presume there is very little better tasting news out there. It is a mix with water powder. I was just wondering if there is such things as a protein tablet that i can take with water making it alot easier as well as i am always on the go. If there is any help or any other suggestions it would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Dont know about protein tabs but I know you can get protein bars(http://www.fitnessireland.ie/index.php/cPath/26).

I used to drink the chocolate flavour protein shakes - I nearly got sick the first time I drank it but after a while its grand! Maybe try some different flaours (http://www.fitnessireland.ie/index.php/cPath/24) - you'll get used to the taste after a while.

Or else - maybe ask in your local health shop - they might?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭monkeyman

I had this one before and the girlfriend said it tasted like frogspawn, don't know how she knew that.
    Using one now called Pro-X, made in Ireland. Strawberry actually tasty with water. I use it with skimmed milk. Or the maximuscle strawberry is fine as well.

or just make your own bars

Low Carb Protein Bar

INGREDIENTS:

5 tbsp natural peanut butter (chunky or smooth)
    1/2 cup dry oat meal or whole grain hot cereal (uncooked)
    1/2 cup oat flour (double the dry oats if you do not have oat flour)
    6 scoops chocolate whey protein (approximately 132 grams worth of low-carb protein powder)
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    2 tablespoons flax seeds (optional)
    1 cup non-fat dry milk
    1/2 cup water (depending on what type of protein you use, you may need to add more)
    Modifications: Use vanilla protein and replace ~1/4 cup of the oatflour with a variety of nuts, seeds, or dried berries.
    PREPARATION:

Spray an 8x8 baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Combine dry ingredients in a medium size bowl and mix well. Add peanut butter and mix - the mixture will be crumbly and dry. Add water & vanilla.

Using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, everything until a dough forms. The dough will be sticky. Spread dough into pan using a clean wooden spoon or spatula that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Refrigerate a few hours (or freeze for an hour) and cut into 9 squares. Wrap bars individually (use sandwich bags or plastic wrap) or store in covered container between sheets of wax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭masto1983

Just off topic a bit, but will "Whey Protein" help you put on weight? Or is something like "Carbomax" better for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

masto1983 wrote:
    Just off topic a bit, but will "Whey Protein" help you put on weight? Or is something like "Carbomax" better for this?

Well anything will help you gain weight as long as you have a calorie surplus. However not all calories are created equally.

E.g. a hardcore diet of mars bars will help you gain weight but you won't put on any muscle.

A good quality diet high in protein coupled with a Whey shake a few times a day will certainly help you put on quality lean mass.

Carbomax is simply a protein shake mixed with a carb source (potentially maltodextrin). This is an easy way of getting the excess calories in.

At the end of the day as long as you have excess calories and enough protein in there you'll be alright.

.logic.

Thanks logic.

Yeh, i just want something to get in the "calorie surplus" as you put it. Can any1 recommend anything from the Tony Quinn shop? Or anywhere else near The Square?
    Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

masto1983 wrote:
    Thanks logic.

Yeh, i just want something to get in the "calorie surplus" as you put it. Can any1 recommend anything from the Tony Quinn shop? Or anywhere else near The Square?
    Cheers.

Anything by EAS e.g. myoplex, is good in tony quinns and please DO NOT buy any of their own stuff from those over eager sales sharks in their shops - "No i am just brousing. No honestly i don't want your amazing drop weight as you sleep product. Oh feck this i am off!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

EAS is good but pricey. As I said in a diff thread The Ministry of Fitness are currently running a very good deal on 75% whey if you buy in Bulk (10kg)

http://www.theministryoffitness.com/mof/products/shop/svdm.htm

Edit: Just as a quick price comparison FitnessIreland are 47:99eur for 1KG of EAS!

http://www.fitnessireland.ie/product_info.php/products_id/115

.logic.

Does Tony Quinn stock the EAS stuff, cant see it on their website? (looking at "myoplex sport" in particular) Only goin-on about Tony Quinn cause its handy to get to(The Square)! Is the "Mass Builder" any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

I've tried most of the protien out there and I have to say for taste and value it has to be Ministry. All the lads I train with use it aswell. The stuff that they have on special now seems to be slightly different from the regular protien 75% compared to 80%. Has anyone ordered any of the specials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Frankieboy

So what ye are all saying is what?? I think i may get some whey protein of ministry. Get it in some different flavour than vanilla. Tropical sounds good? But i am not to sure about the price. How long would a 10 LB last? Plus do ministry charge for delivery? Last time i got something of fitness ireland there was no charge for delivery. What do ye think go for the tropical flavoured protein??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I've just started using Max Factor by EAS, as recommended to me by the supplements guy in Westwood.

I basically need something to give me the extra calories. I don't have the appetite to eat as much as I need to, and I don't particularly want to become huge, just 'defined'. He said you could use this according to your own needs.

It suggests taking it immediately after a workout. I only work out Mon, Wed, and Fri. On the days in-between, I take it in the morning after cycling to work. I haven't seen any difference yet, but I've only just started.

Anyone know anything about this product?

Kev.
    PS - I too have been on a quest for Protein Pills for a long time, but to no avail..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Jaeger

Frankieboy wrote:
    This is probably a really stupid question but i will ask anyway. I have been drinking a protein drink vanilla flavour and i have to so i think its fowl. I cannot stand it. I presume there is very little better tasting news out there. It is a mix with water powder. I was just wondering if there is such things as a protein tablet that i can take with water making it alot easier as well as i am always on the go. If there is any help or any other suggestions it would be much appreciated.
    Vanilla protein.. yuck! My training partner has just gotten to the bottom of his orange and vanilla (5.5lb) tub. It's disgusting.

I'm most of the way down through my tub of 'Berry Blast' by Dymatize (€60, 5.5lb). It's strawberry and not at all bad.

Nomatter what flavour you get, you'll get fed up of it sooner or later. I think I may stick with Berry Blast for the time being though, might try mixing it with juice next, couldn't stomach milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Frankieboy

Ok started drinking it with milk! Its still pretty nasty but not as bad. Now i dont have to worry about the fact it says on the box " best drank with water not milk or juice, I wont throw a third arm or anything?? I think I will try to keep this up as the protein bars that sound good are a bit pricey for me. Think I will try a different flavour as well cause maybe Vanilla just isnt nice!