Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating At Staff Christmas Parties??

• 01-12-2004 11:47am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok does this really go on because I Have heard so many rumours about the amount of cheating that goes on at these parties. Has anybody here cheated at an x-mas party or would if they got the chance??

I wonder why the hell so much cheating does go on these things. Anybody have any ideas??

Patrick

Cheating At staff Christmas Parties? 69 votes

Yeah I have seen it and would do it myself
    0% 0 votes
    I have seen it but wouldnt do it myself
    30% 21 votes
    No i have never seen it but I would do it
    59% 41 votes
    No I have never seen it and I would never do it
    10% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I never play cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

anyone for a game of snap???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,477 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Well I know my father started an affair at his work christmas party that ended his marriage so... yeah, it definitely happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

touché

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

haha funny lads fair enough I meant cheating on your girlfriend/boyfriend

Cheating at the poker game is expected well by me at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Never cheated, but I did photocopy my arse a few times.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

jesus sleepy im sorry to hear that. i knew this type of sh*t goes on at these things. I hate ppl who cheat its the lowest of the low.

Anybody out there willing to stick up for cheating??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,477 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

TBH, I couldn't give a sh ite. Wasn't my problem and tbh he brought it on himself. Still with his workmate though so maybe he's happier now. I know my mother certainly is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

oh.........I can see this turning into a moral showdown.

Is cheating right?

Depends. Is the relationship serious?

I don't think its right to cheat (I made my mistakes already) but everyone has their own opinion and circumstances may lead one to change those opinions, even for just a brief time..... like say a christmas party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

its not cheating its keeping your options open!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

im not a cheater, just a people person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Never cheated, but I did photocopy my arse a few times.

HAHA me too!.....in colour and all!Not a pretty site!.....wouldnt mind photocopying a fit birds one though! :D

woosaysdan wrote:
    its not cheating its keeping your options open!!!

I like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Christmas party? Try just about any work related night out - cheating goes on all the time. It's just usually well covered up. Especially if it's the kind of work enviroment where everyone knows each other really well and backs each other up.

Moral standing on this? I don't care if anyone not affecting me cheats. It's their life and the life of the one they're with they're dealing with. When it comes to me, I won't do it, and I would hope that the one i'm with in whatever circumstances wouldn't do it - but I accept that the human race isn't the best at doing what's right.

Thanks for clearing it up that cheating goes on all the time iceman. I'm sure everyone out there is feeling really secure right now.

True humans are beasts sometimes but they have the choice not to beasts. Its not ike they didnt decide to cheat you always have the choice. But yeah I suppose it depends a bit on the realtionahip if its just starting out then doesnt really matter but if its serious then it does.

One thing I dont get tho is why would you bother going out with someone in the first place if you plan on being with other ppl. Just avoid all the hassle by staying single.then you can screw around all you want.

I wonder will my girlfriend invite me to her christmas party this year?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The problem with Christmas parties is that a person is spending all of their time, 5 days a week, with these other people. For a lot of people, that's more awake time than they get with their partner. Work is generally formal, or at least just friendly, rarely does flirting or dating come into the equation (though the perpetrators will flirt unknowingly). So all the sexual tension gets pent up.

Then they go out and get hammered, the cork comes off, and the sexual tension is relieved.

Never seen it in my dept, but I'm sure it's happened.

I think the answer to that has already been mentioned. To keep their options open. If you like 2 people you might not want to take the chance that you'll just happen to be lucky enough to pick the right one. You might find 1 of the relationships falls apart where the other might be rock solid. I think a lot of people just want to make sure they have the ability to try out their options without living in a monotonous life, resenting their partner because they made the wrong choice and feel oblidged to stick with them for whatever reason.

a yes or no poll would have helped.

I reckon it happens alot. One of the girls in work has told me that when she has no problem enjoying herself when out with work at the likes of the christmas party. She made it clear I knew what she meant.

iceman the whole keeping your options open thing doesnt work with me. You dont have to stay with your partner especially if you resent them. Why dont ppl keep their options open by not going out wit that person freeing them to go find someone that they want to be with.

I think if you would cheat someone then no point in being with them coz you cant like them as much as you think. By all means play the field i certainly did it but not while your with someone thats just not right.

I guess it all boils down to someones morals whether they are a cheater or not.

I'm not saying I aree with it, but there are a lot of disfunctional relationships out there. Some people are just too scared to move on. Leaving a partner can usually mean starting a whole new life. Maybe the person felt trapped because there was an unwanted pregnancy, or financial reasons - who knows.

It's ok to say "yeah I would do this" but not everyone feels that they can. It's the same as someone saying "Yeah I can talk to women and I get on really well with them" in comparison to someone who is very shy and unable to make friends.

true there can be difficult circumstances and they can feel trapped but I doubt cheating is going to help the situation all that much. If you feel trapped talking about is the best thing and break up if you dont really wanna be with that person coz thats not fair anyway.

if you do that your free to cheat all you want. Anyways back to original topic. I wanna hear peoples christmas party tales so I now if it goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

seamus wrote:
    Then they go out and get hammered, the cork comes off, and the sexual tension is relieved.
    There's a couple of girls I used to work with I wouldn't have minded relieving my sexual tension over... :eek:

does anyone have any stories about what happened at their christmas parties?? just to get the idea of what really goes on.

Dont be shy now!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

Kingp35 wrote:
    I guess it all boils down to someones morals whether they are a cheater or not.

A bit simplistic imho. First of all you have to define cheating..

1. If I've met a girl at a club and we've kissed, maybe even slept together (there's those loose morals again!) does that mean that I can't be with anybody else until whatever it is that's going to happen with the original girl is over?

2. Ok, so we've gone on a second date, found that there's more we like about each other than irritates us, initially at least, and have now had a number of dates and are meeting regularly. Does this mean that we should be exclusive, or do we need to specifically define that between us?

even when you move through stages in a relationship there are reasons why you might be with someone else, and although it's best to end your current relationship first sometimes events happen on the spur of the moment and you can only rectify them afterwards..

Anyway to get back on topic, people get together at company parties, single people, involved people, married people. Of course it happens, but if you're smart enough nobody finds out for sure and therefore it's all just rumour and gossip :D

I don't think I've been to a single work do where somebody wasn't getting together with someone else. They may have been single or not, tbh wasn't paying close enough attention to them or their lives outside of work to be sure.

I have seen one or two people who I knew where involved with someone else "cheating". As was said already, there can be a lot of sexual tension in the workplace..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Kingp35 wrote:
    does anyone have any stories about what happened at their christmas parties?? just to get the idea of what really goes on.

Dont be shy now!!!!

gossip mongerer!!!!!!!!

Mossy Monk wrote:
    gossip mongerer!!!!!!!!

ah what can ya do??

To answer your question IAGO this is what i think ceating is. If you have met a girl in a club and slept with her then no you are not going out so go do whatever the hell you want.

If you have gone on a couple of dates with a girl and you havent said anything exclusive then no its still not cheating. It becomes cheating after the two of you decide its a proper relationship and u want to be together properly until then no it isnt cheating. how could it be if your not officially going out so go play the field as much as you want.

I dont get this sexual tension thing. Fact of the matter is if your with someone properly you shouldnt cheat whether there is sexual tension or not. People have choices so if the oppurtunity arrives to cheat then it does basically come down to your morals. Even if the relationship is real bad end before you go cheating. Its sick man sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

' wrote:
    [cEMAN**']You might find 1 of the relationships falls apart where the other might be rock solid.
    How rock solid will it be when she/he finds out you've cheated on them? And they will. Either you'll tell them out of guilt, someone else will tell them or you'll feel guilty having cheated on this great significant other and that will put strain on the relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

What is meant by cheating? intercourse? oral sex giving? oral sex receiving? a kiss? a kiss and a quick feel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 [DA]IrishRanger

I was staying at my mates, he lived abroad, I know his g/f she's ok, my mate said he was heading to a work's due, so i said no worry's, he headed off to it, and woke me up for a beer when he returned. He then told me that he was with one of the girls that worked with him. I am not going into details but he had a good time for half and hour.

It's going to happen sometimes, good job that most would not, but a frendly work place can lead to trouble, as you get to know a person for who they really are.
    You see them talking to other people.
    You can see how popular they are.
    You can see their sucess.
    You can be there for them if they are sad or need confort.
    You can flurt with them.
    You share the companys ups and down the work the bosses, sometime it's the only place where you can discuss your relationship and problems, sometimes it's the only place to confide what you can't at home. Sometimes depending on the company or job, work can feel like being in the red army, so you share that comrade, gone through the war feeling.

So the moral of the story is that a good strong relationship person, can sometimes be suduced by a better looking or 35+ women, who he works under. The male can be put off by his female boss. It can turn him on, so over time this builds up until booze is added and then fireworks. Also someone works under them, or beside them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

What is meant by cheating? intercourse? oral sex giving? oral sex receiving? a kiss? a kiss and a quick feel?

Alright, who wants to explain the facts of life to this 9-year-old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Alright, who wants to explain the facts of life to this 9-year-old?

Oh dear, we have a live one here, did you just get your 1st erection or something reading the post? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

On-topic, non-insulting posts please. Bannage may ensue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

anything you'd be p!ssed off with your partner for if they did it behind your back!

So the moral of the story is that a good strong relationship person, can sometimes be suduced by a better looking or 35+ women, who he works under. The male can be put off by his female boss. It can turn him on, so over time this builds up until booze is added and then fireworks. Also someone works under them, or beside them.

true but everyone seems to be missing the point that yeah there can be fireworks can be a huge atrraction but there is still the choice to say no whether its your boss or not. Cheating comes down to choice it really is that simple despite all the things that make it happen.

No relationship can be rock solid if you cheat and if you do then you cant really care about the person your going out with or wouldnt have done.

Come on most people have been in the situation especially at work parties where the situation has arisen that you could cheat. I reckon that has happened to alot of people it has happened to me. But I didnt and most people wouldnt because they have morals and decided against it. It all boils down to that.

Iago wrote:
    anything you'd be p!ssed off with your partner for if they did it behind your back!

Yeah I wouldnt be happy with anything!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I've never been to an office party. I've never worked in an office around christmastime, but I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

I'm a faith-tester. I've been with girls at (other people's) office parties who I are know are cheating on their partners. I'm single, so it's not a problem for me, the moral dilema is all theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I was out at a kinda work do the other night. Started with a free bar, then over to a bar, where clients were buying me and my colleagues drinks all night. It was fun, but also a major eye opener.

There were these married men unashamedly flirting with any woman who went near, buying them drinks and telling them their 'success' stories about how rich they were etc.

Made me sick to be looking at them/to be in their company. Myself and a few others, we just moved to another part of the bar.

I just hope to God, that I never become such a smarmy idiotic letch.

Thing is, that kinda crap happens every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Ahh, reminds me of last christmas. I was with one of the xmas temps at the work party a couple of days before Christmas. He was with someone else at the time. We were both exceptionally drunk... And I got the slagging of a lifetime for the rest of the holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

hahaha kirby ya tart! ;)

a friend of a friend(mr x) was at his christmas party and his boss had just had an argument with his girlfriend so "mr x" decided e try cheer her up, well long story short THEY HAD WILD RAMBUNCTIOUS SEX and the boss never found out! :D

evad_lhorg wrote:
    a friend of a friend(mr x) was at his christmas party and his boss had just had an argument with his girlfriend so "mr x" decided e try cheer her up, well long story short THEY HAD WILD RAMBUNCTIOUS SEX and the boss never found out! :D

And thats the kind of stuff that makes me sick. Some girlfriend she was why didnt she just dump the guy if she was willing to cheat. I have no problem with people who are single being withpeople who arent coz the person who is with someone should say no.

Anyway keep the stories coming!! Wanna see how many of you guys are out there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭loz_the_boz

Its a part of xmas tradition..............
    :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

To borrow & bastardise a line from a movie;

"Merry F*ckmas"

LOL - lots of free alcohol + people spending long hours together closely + relaxed out of office enviornment = high chance of some drunken shagging.....

not exactly science granted...

::: ven0mous :::

Kingp35 wrote:
    I have no problem with people who are single being withpeople who arent coz the person who is with someone should say no.

I don't agree with this. Someone willingly entering into any liaisons with someone in a relationship knows where they stand and what they're doing to that relationship.

It takes 2 to tango, and them persuing the liaisons is causing a temptation for the person in the relationship.

Now the person in the relationship doesn't have to act on this, but if there is no temptation then there's not going to be something going on. Fair enough it may happen with someone else, but the person unattached is just as much to blame for doing it if they know the other person is also attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

often enuf people cheat. we all know it.
    no 1 can tell wether someone is innocent apart from the person them selves.

now people can easily say "oh i never cheated"....
    but did they?
    my girlfriend did... and i found out.. how? the other person told me... and when i asked her about it, she denyd it...
    then the other person who she met, called around 1 day, when i was home. i asked them both about it, and she confessed....

relationship ended 2 weeks ago over some other stuff.
    now she is going out with my best friend.
    some people depend on relationships...
    not me...
    we got our christmas party friday...
    and there are a lot of people working here. well over 700...
    so might be fun! :P

often enuf people cheat. we all know it.
    no 1 can tell wether someone is innocent apart from the person them selves.

Helps to have to have access to a lot of CCTV footage ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

relationship ended 2 weeks ago over some other stuff.
    now she is going out with my best friend.
    P

I really hope you mean ex bet friend? and i also hope that you have/will give(n) him a serious beating!! :mad:

yeah no way would he still be my best friend the punches would be flying. Plus my man if she cheated on you how come you broke up over other stuff?? she cheated on you man end of story. Bye Bye

Oh ICEMAN your right it does take two the tango but lets be honest the person who cheats is more to blame. Its fairly low to go after somebodies boyfriend/girlfriend but its not as bad as cheating and as for temptation thats always there whether someone is coming onto or not. It may increase but it was still there.

There seems to be alot of excuses coming out here as to why people cheat but in my opinion there is no justification in it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

' wrote:
    [cEMAN**']Helps to have to have access to a lot of CCTV footage ;)

yeah after the last law suit, im banned from any survielance camera's for next 30 years....
    newband wrote:
    I really hope you mean ex bet friend? and i also hope that you have/will give(n) him a serious beating!! :mad:

yeah of course! my ex best friend.... shame i cant ban him from seeing my kid when he goes to see her.... i hates him with a big axe...