If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dash cam report and threatening

• 04-10-2025 11:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭

I was passenger.... so

We were driving home from work during storm for about 20km behind car going 40-50 on 100km/h road and not allowing to be overtaken...driving in the middle.... on route we have to pass village... so we took alternate turn and never thought anything else... after the alternate turn on the end of village we ended up behind same driver... we i mean driver and me we didnt even realised its the same car..but again going very slowly... once the road opened i mean was clear we proceed to overtake... the driver accerelated as well... in the same moment another car joined the lane without paying attention us overtaking... so we had no choice but overtook both cars...at the end of village (still in) ... we joined lane and drove normal... about 3km after we saw in rear mirror car in excess speed going through water puddles flashing lights... and waving arm in window... indicating to stop... we pulled on the side and it was the driver who we overtook saying he would burn down our car and he has friends on higher positions and he have dash cam of us tailgaiting and then overtaking in village 2 cars.. i was on passenger seat in silence and my mate driving was in shock...by threats... the guy was there shouting for about 2 mins and saying he will make sure my mate will loose his licence and then drove away.

We rang the gaurds straight then and there and honestly described the whole ordeal... we went to produce statement but guards were not interested as we had no reg or any details...

What should we now expect out of this? My mate is not sleeping.. terified...he suffers from extreme level of anxiety and is taking medication for it... i spoke to few friends but i dont how to advice him.. he works like horse and if he loose licence he will be homeless... he has 0 driving offenses... no speeding...no points...nothing...

Any advice would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

Sounds like your standard bout of road rage.

Wouldn't worry about it, your man sounds like a knacker talking sh1t if he said he'll burn your car down and get one of his friends to take your license away in the same sentence.

Also i wouldnt be slowing down or pulling over for anyone unless it was flashing blue lights requesting me to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Justva gobsh1te doing its thing. Some day they will get wgat they deserve till then justvignore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Bikerguy

Honestly gobshite or not..we were sitting in car in complete shock...i am big lad...but it left me speachless... he said that he has dash cam footage... my mate driver was only talking to him through open window........ i am literaly texting my mate to easy his mind... its horrible... he is thinking about loosing mortgage...the car (is on payment) if he looses licence he will have no job... like seriously

I wasnt driving...and again we never ever thought anything about it... my mate just pulled over.... as we didnt know if someone needed help or what...honest to God...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Be grand. No one is getting done for overtakinv gobsh1tes your mate will be fine.

Easy to say... but how can i convince my mate... as he is terrified... he now thinks he should have slow down and get behind him instead of overtaking 2 cars when the seomcond car pulled into the lane etc... its too late to speculate.. but to me as passenger it was absolute nonsence... the driver had clear issue... horrible..

Thanks for your time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

He has to somehow realise its his anxiety going to cause him problems, not some random motorist he will never hear from again.

Look how disinterested the gardaì were about your complaint, why would they be any more interested in the other drivers complaint?

Nothing will happen here