If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boardsies meet up

• 03-08-2025 02:24AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭

Does the boardsies meet up still happen or is that a relic of a bygone era.

I mind coming down from Armagh for it a couple of times and it was always great craic.

I suppose we're all too old for that now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,523 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Why would you want to meet a group of strangers from an Internet forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

“There are no strangers here; Only friends you haven’t met yet”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I think I did one around 2010 but the general direction of the site feels like I wouldn't really want my identity so readily available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I did it for years. Met one of my best friends on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,958 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

No thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 247 ✭✭User567363

I find it hard enough going into a shop to buy something, deffo not gonna meet people deliberately

If you find my comment funny, useful, interesting or even annoying then please like and subscribe to boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,039 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

If any boardsies in Dusseldorf fancy meeting for a pint, I'll do it.

However i have a feeling there's absolutely no-one else here. :)

Guess I'll be having a quiet pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

The middle east war killed off any chance there was of me doing this. And I'm too old for the meetup.

• On a side note 90% of the posters in the threat HAMAS attack on Israel are on my ignore list which is full because of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭RedXIV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Ah they were good craic back in the day when the site was a lot more collegial. Everything just seems so much more fractious these days. Like, I can't get over how many posters seem to actively revel in taking an openly hostile/contrarian position on literally everything. To the point where if I see certain posters' names popping up regularly as the most recent contributor to a given thread, I know to just not bother even opening it.

I had a good laugh with Whoopsadaisydoodles at an AH beers years ago, about two days after she gave me a week-long ban from tLL. If I was a mod these days, I wouldn't set foot next or near a meet-up.

Post edited by Dial Hard on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

ah whoopsie…

I remember something similar, she gave me a ban on AH and we were ripping the piss out of each other. And a whole bunch of other mods there too

Cassidy’s on Camden Street before migrating on to Doyle’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭littlefeet

Before dating apps, there were internet dating sites where people chatted to strangers on the internet, can you imagine. I met my husband that way, very different from today. The worst you'd come across were the eejits who were lying about their age, hoping the 30-year-old they wanted to meet wouldn't notice they were 60 and not 40 as they claimed, or other similar types of relatively harmless pests. Today seems to be scary; some of the stories are hair-raising or even dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,179 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If your on a Ban can you go?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I'd be up for it, but not travelling to Dublin! 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Whoopsie was kind of indirectly the cause of the end of the boardsies meetups.

I went to ones in Cork in 2008-2010 and they were great, also one in 2012 where I met whoopsie but after that there was a huge demise. Someone from ODG tried to organise one that was a bit of a damp squib and there were a few more attempts but nothing big. The one I attended had 20-30 people at it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

You say that, but where else could you grab a pint with other irish code monkeys that cut their teeth on z80 assembler programming? (ZX81 and spectrum for me back when they were bleeding edge technology)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Never made it to a boards beers but was st a couple of the cycling forums meets which were always good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I think there was two or three ODG ones, but less than 10 people attended if memory serves. And yes, i was one of those 10

I only went to two or three of the full boards beers ones… It was funny, being there early in the night and seeing some poeple anxiously looking at their phones at the site to see if there were any messages about where in the pub people were.

These days though, i don't know if i'd be bothered with meeting up with people from here that i don't already know. Back then you could have an argument with someone online and laugh about it over a beer or two… i don't know if the same holds true, it seems to me that people are more polarised and stuck in the "my opinion is the only right opinion, all other opinions are wrong and anyone who disagrees with me needs to be forced to agree with me by the volume of my voice"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,338 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I can't see a run on tins of condensed milk in 2025…

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Do boardsies use the same big fancy words in real life as they do on here? I've always imagined it would be like a meetup of intellectual heavyweights, drinking brandy in some fancy bar in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,368 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I went to a few from the rock and metal forum (beers) and the motors forum (no beers!) over the years but I reckon the numbers aren't there. I never went to an AH beers as I didn't really post as much there as other areas.

Always interesting to meet the real life person behind the online persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

And if you make a good point everyone says "Thanks!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

One of the ODG beers ended up at an AH one in Cassidy's, iirc.

And in fairness, I strongly suspect none of the worst keyboard warriors would ever have the balls to actually show up at a beers and be like "Hey, yeah, I'm that racist, transphobic wanker who hates the most marginalised people in society!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,528 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Went to a few back in the day, they were fun times.

But it was a different time too. There's a spontaneity that comes when most of the people using the site are in their early to mid twenties, have no - or at least less - adult commitments and it was also during the immediate recession/post-recession years: people were free a lot more of the time! We're all a bit older, crankier and more inflexible now.

It's also a fact that the ratio of sound posters to complete head-the-balls was better, much better, back in the day. You could reasonably expect, in the past, that if a beers did happen and you did go there'd be lots of sound people at it... These days I wouldn't be so sure. Though as Dial Hard has said, the biggest fractiously opinionated windbags would be unlikely to leave their lairs in the first place. It was only ever thus.

I'd never say never, but I think the actual social event era of boards is long gone at this point.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

We no longer do it because some people don't know how to behave in public, they know who they are and what they did (as do many others)…

Up to you whether you're on a ban or regular garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,502 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I'll come and I'll bring the cage for

THE THUNDERDOME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Yes, but you're not allowed speak for the duration of the meet.