If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Declining school discipline

• 24-07-2025 02:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

There was another thread about teachers who can't control a class but the wider issue is that school discipline is in the toilet.

Just because they are teenagers in school they can practically do what they like

You can call a teacher a Cxxx and just do your 3 days and come back. No bother.

Do that anywhere else and you are barred for life.

I'm not suggesting explosion on that alone but something more than simply a couple of days

But the bleeding hearts say suffer the children blah blah

I have been teaching in a DEIS school and we have a plethora of support staff. Counselling etc but it makes **** all difference

I would suggest that the Department bring in withdrawal rooms for kids who are wrecking the education of the majority and they stay in these supervised rooms until they improve.

I had a 3rd year maths class where two kids wrecked the class. They were like this in every class.

Teachers need to complain to their BOMs on health and safety grounds. Their union executives. The issue needs to be back on the agenda.

I have my doubts whether most teachers will complain as in my experience they lack spines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Bearhayes

So my advice to anybody thinking of going into teaching is not to. The profession is in decline and teachers are standing by and not objecting. Not all teachers but when push comes to shove they ain't. The majority.

The cowardly way so many Asti members jumped illegally to the TUI during a dispute so many years ago says it all.

If you have a dispute that goes on for a few weeks you will likely not be able to pay a mortgage. One payment.

The bank will not evict you.

Teachers need to get a spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭ethical

Unfortunately teachers are not standing together,in the staffroom or joining Unions any longer and their conditions are deteriorating at an alarming rate.There is a selfishness about teaching now with many teachers trying to 'get individual deals' rather than standing together for the greater good. Discipline is on the floor and nobody cares.The number of teachers that have told me that schools are not even bothered to put discipline on a staff meeting agenda is alarming.If there is an issue in most schools one is told to 'sort it themselves'. It is very easy to divide and conquer with this attitude.You would have more benefits and job security by working in one of the 'foreign' supermarkets not to mention career progression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,098 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Tough job these days. Same as the Garda.

General lack of respect/fear for authority. Historical they had “too much power” perse and this has swung to far the opposite way.

The general public opinion generally stops at “pity about them and their holidays”.

Yes that is true. Which is why I encourage members to complain on health and safety grounds. If teachers PM me I will supply details

All the holidays in the world don't make up for being abused on a daily basis

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Well I don't think a random poster on Boards is going to solve your perceived belief that discipline in schools is in the toilet.

It did give me a good snigger though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭oinkely

It must be very difficult alright. On a much les serious scale I look after a youth sports team and there's one kid who just acts the gobsh1te at every training session, messing, not listening, not attempting to do anything they are asked properly and just generally being a disruptive influence. Feck all we can do about it other than ask them to sit out whatever drill / game they are messing up for everyone else. I try not to bring attention to their behaviour as that might be what they are looking for but occasionally I have to ask loudly for them to step out and let the rest get on with it. No real impact though other than fecking up training for a lot of the kids who want to improve. I can imagine how crap it must be to have to deal with that sort of thing in a classroom with 30 kids and you have a job to get through a certain amount of the curriculum. I know a few teachers and they are very much invested in how their students get on, but they do relate stories of the difficult gougers where it is a generational thing and say when you meet the parents it is often a good explanation to the kids behaviour.

I have no answers to the problem, but a supervised exclusion room as mentioned above for all the gobsheens to be put together may not be a bad idea for repeat offenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,948 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Huge sympathy for ye - I know its nowhere near the same, but I spent a number of years coaching underage and you'd find week in, week out the same 2 or 3 lads messing things up for everyone else; that you'd spend half your time trying to manage them - and the only time it would be productive would be when there were a few extra coaches. Parents never to be seen. Not what you signed up for.