Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boardless - A Pointless Game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,045 ✭✭✭appledrop

Im delighted with the 3!

I could track back to 1980 but couldn't match most of years to city.

Thank God for Michelle Smith and all those gold medals I saw her get in Atlanta!

Then I went for LA as I had a feeling it was 1980 or 1984 Olympics.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Ohhhhh sooo close to a perfect score 😩

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

dammit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,438 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

A lot of you had this one narrowed down to somewhere between the Golden Gate Bridge and the Titanic, I guess you all felt it in your water!

Screenshot_20250730_222127_Sheets.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭lorcand1990

I am missing something, where are the answers the suspense is killing me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭jluv

I'm so happy with that score! I hadn't a clue so just randomly picked 2 for each.

Maybe that's my new strategy 😜

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I actually can't believe it my over analysing paid off🤣.

I was convinced when I looked at question that Eiffel Tower and Staute of Liberty were two pointless answers job done.

Then I realised didn't know Croke Park, Brookyln Bridge, Wembley etc so I opted for Titanic & Oscars instead but thought I played it too safe and would score high anyway.

I have to say I wouldnt have guessed Titanic was pointless, I would have thought it was one of others.

How does that affect the league and cup

@cdeb is our new leader with 2 rounds to go. Only 7 points separate the top 4

Screenshot_20250730_224003_Sheets.jpg

And in the cup we have our semi finalists

Cdeb, @rainbowtrout @HeidiHeidi @duffman13

Screenshot_20250730_223643_Sheets.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭PogoRach

Three 0's and a 2 pointer (I knew there was at least three from the 1800s and a good few from the mid-1900s, so hoped that Titanic and Oscars would be good enough for a low score)...

I really should've done a better job on Day 1 (the largest Counties still dragging me down), the later rounds have been great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭yozico

1000016812.gif

Yes

I can reveal the answer to the tie breaker was 1083 m the total height of The Eifel Tower, Empire State Building, and The Shard

@Rikand Was closest with 1100m and @Goldengirl has 1059m, great answers

Im surprised how much earlier Croke Park was opened compared to Wembley stadium!

How are you all on christmas no 1s and distances?

😂 Classic @lorcand1990

17539089951417995823190704313158.gif

Yay!

R4Q1

Name 2 of the 12 most recent UK Christmas No. 1s on the board

The most recent is worth 10 points, next most recent, 9 points and so on

The 11th and 12th most recent are pointless answers

3 answers are wrong,

Screenshot_20250730_225012_Sheets.jpg

R4Q2

Name 2 of the 12 shortest distances on the board

The shortest distance is worth 10 points, the next shortest 9 points and so on

The 11th and 12th shortest are pointless answers

The 3 longest distances on the board are wrong answers

Distances calculated using the Haversine formula

Screenshot_20250730_225042_Sheets.jpg

Fair play to our new leader @cdeb and @Trigger both with a score of 1 in that round!

Jesus christmas number 1s, that 2nd question 😂 I'm getting a headache just looking at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

goddam. with the olympics after i asked about barcelona and atlanta, i got stuck in my head those were the 2 answers. 😅

A summary of Q 2:

Find the shortest distance but its pointless, so really what you want is the two points with the longest distance but actually you don't want the three longest because there are wrong oh and they will be places like Anchorage thrown in that you have never heard of just for the craic🤯

Im actually pretty sure I know where anchorage is... doesn't really help me though!

That question is gonna take a bit of time, some of them stick out as short journeys so maybe I can narrow them down, but theres a heap that are just in the 'long journey' category!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Very impressive scoring cdeb!

I would have been right there with you only I thought the Empire State Building was built in 1913, not 1931. D'oh!

Best of luck in the enxt round :D

I think my best chance on question 2 is a game of pin the donkey for the answers, I haven't a fecking clue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭PogoRach

I'm more confident on where Anchorage sits on a map than a few of the other cities mentioned...

That said, this question has a bit of a Largest Counties vibe to it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭batistuta9

two brutal questions there, trying to avoid the 15s really

I'll have to sleep on these!