Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 19

• 07-07-2025 11:34AM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,660 CMod ✭✭✭✭

The new challenge is:

s-l1200.jpg

Michael Jackson's Moonwalker.

The arcade version based off whatever the hell Moonwalker was supposed to be. Most people are familiar with the Shinobi like Megadrive game but this is way different and something I've wanted to try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Brilliant..it was going to be my next choice as I played it last week and forgot about the arcade version . Brilliant.

" Rescuing" children .. turning into a massive robot with bubbles at your side. Ohh the innocence .

In fairness as a kid i would drop me jocks and bend over backwards for mickey J to get Into that arcade in Neverland . Have at it Micheal

Post edited by unky chop chop on

The mega drive version is brilliant ..especially for the power where you just make every enemy on screen dance to the sound of smooth criminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,873 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You've a similar attack in the arcade version 😁

This'll be a great one to get stuck into. There's actually an arcade perfect MiSTer core for it too so will be able to fire up on a cab.

Just gave it a few lashes. Yeeeeshhh Ya do have the dance special move 😁 also I copped you can charge attack by holding attack button

Lets get those children people ! They need Mickey J.

First score on the board

IMG_20250707_202659.jpg

Master of the Universe

God damn it, thought I might just creep up on ya, apparently not. Some bastard in a weird wheel thing got me haha

1000073458.jpg

yeah I know the lad . I just go point blank range at every one . Ya need a bloody protractor to dodge those diaganol isometric bullets

Gave it another crotch grabbing spin

Jesus it gets hard little after that ihamster wheel .lads appear everywhere and shooting type fire hydrants popping out of the ground at the same time . Need to keep an oul song for that

IMG_20250708_215535.jpg

Master of the Universe

The game definitely feels like it needs a roll move to get out of some of the trickier spots.

I keep bottling it and using my dance attack too early, you really can end up in a spot of bother very easily!

Just think of the children !

Master of the Universe

Those fire hydrants are awful! I got to them without dying and lost a life trying to kill them. Yeah, they can't be killed it seems.

Little bit further now. I was actually seconds away from saving (!) two kids for more power but a big robot landed on my head out of nowhere, fecker!

1000073473.jpg

Got to same spot and rushed for those precious kids . Then I busted a move and killed off the other smaller annoying spinning robots . The big lad killed me .

Screenshot_2025-07-12-18-06-53-67_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,660 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Hoping to give this a go. Not having a fun weekend with car trouble!

Master of the Universe

1000073813.jpg

Almost!

Exact same thing happened to me. It's utter chaos just before that boss but I also managed to save a kid and they gave me a dance move.

Just couldn't get the angles down on the boss. Actually stayed alive quite a bit but wasn't landing any hits at all.

I think I was taking too long and the game sent out some random red lad who shot me and then it was all over.

Goy past that robot and his goons with a sliver of health ..and around the corner ...a rake and of lads and two more of those spinning wheel annoying ****** robots . Unrelenting . Jeez give Mickey J a break .

I thought I was set for a killer score there and didn't even reach my last one

Screenshot_2025-07-15-14-26-28-18_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Master of the Universe

Fair play for getting by that boss! those angles are mad aren't they?

It's quite a bit more difficult than I remember. The isometric angles really become a problem when you start getting mobbed by enemies.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,660 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Really need to give this one a go before the dead line.

The thing is he's not a boss ! as soon as ya kill him ya go around the corner and are mobbed by a raft of 15 or so enemies . . Not even time to grab my crotch or give a wooo hooo

My first day of attempts. Got past the furnace boss and the next level "Beat it" kicked in. Except I was the one receiving the beating.

mwalk-250716-225318.png

I also still don't understand what the movie is about.

I remember watching it when released in the cinema 😬. Didn't make sense then .must watch it again for the laugh, although I may have a slightly different perspective on it now .

I was a massive MJ fan but just thought it was like some art house thing and wasn't old enough to understand what it was about. It all falls apart when MJ turns into a robot.

I was myself . I got my first walkman and the Bad album on tape with it .

I had a cunning plan to go into primary school with bandages wrapped around my head to conceal the head phones saying I had an injury so I could listen to it in class. As you can imagine it didn't last long

Master of the Universe

Gave this another go last night, had a dream run up to the end of level 2, was sitting on 75k, got passed the first wheely lad and the flame throwers… then got hit by a car. What the absolute feck. I didn't know they could actually run you over ahaha.

Respawned my second life and proceeded to get hit by a car again. Absolute raaaaaaaaaage quit 😂

Haaa, yeah I got a clatter of the cars before , it's not good for the health at all .

Hopefully give another few creds to this later

I gave it 2 goes there and stopped in the name of rage . First time id 3 lifes like you @o1s1n and got ran down by a car and it hit me 3 times and killed me and then got a clatter of another .

Second credit was up at the robot boss lad with over 80 grand and 2 lives ..but had 2 spinning robots , him, his two cronies and then 3 lads decided come out of alley !!! Not seen that before ..I was destroyed . I'm off out to the sun to contemplate my life now .

Screenshot_2025-07-19-14-41-23-71_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Screenshot_2025-07-19-23-15-10-40_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Was millimetres from getting the next kids and health after that robot boss battle ...bullets flying from every where and I somehow fumbled through them with out being hit and died within a gee hair from them .

Sorry that was an inappropriate last comment ...Michael is disgusted by them 😬

Master of the Universe

I think I almost gave myself a heart attack getting that score, my hands are shaking haha. It's absolutely relentless.

1000074823.jpg

Nicely done .. the white glove is down so. Yeah it gets crazy after robot lad and I always have one hit and death health left. Weaving through bullets on a wing and a prayer

Master of the Universe

Managed to save all my special moves to that robot lad and got nice and far passed him this time, killed by a robot dog I've never seen before.

Finally got to the 100k!

Bit of a trick seems to be trying to get the screen to scroll forward as far as you can, absolutely filled with enemies and then use a special attack.

1000074845.jpg

Master of the Universe

And a little bit better again.

Turns out they're armoured dogs rather than robot dogs (they run off after their armour is shot off)

There's a really cheap part of the level when you get there, a railing with two lasers shooting across the path.

You can't shoot through the railings and have go around them into the laser fire head on and shoot them. Almost impossible to time without getting hit.

1000074849.jpg