If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Suspicious Car Park Encounter – Possible Scam Attempt

• 03-06-2025 09:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Posting this on behalf of my sister in case anyone has had a similar experience.

Yesterday, she was in the Letterkenny Tesco car park, putting her groceries into the boot of her car. As she closed it, a man—who sounded Eastern European based on his accent—was suddenly standing very close behind her. The boot lightly brushed off him, but it was nothing forceful.He immediately started shouting dramatically, “Oh f*** man, it hurts, it hurts!”, whilst holding his shoulder, completely over the top and theatrical.

Before getting into his car, he took a photo of her license plate, then jumped in and sped off. Her adult son had been returning the trolley and was on his way back to the car, so she thought that this might have spooked him. She said that the whole thing felt very strange and staged—like he was setting something up, maybe planning to file a false claim or something.

Has anyone else come across this kind of thing? She's now worrying that he'll report it to her insurance and try his hand at a claim. She's already reported it to the gardai. They said that they'd keep her informed if anything comes up.

If anyone here works in insurance or knows how these things tend to go, I’d love to know—would he have any hope of success with this kind of stunt? Just trying to make sense of what he was playing at. Would be interested to hear if it’s happened elsewhere or hear some opinions on what he may have been at.

Thanks.

Post edited by Quoideneuf on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Orban6

Although understandable that she reported it to the Guards, it's pity that she did.

If he was to report the incident himself, he would have to have some evidence, CCTV, or whatever, I guess.

Without that, she could have claimed that no such incident happened.

Unfortunately she has already admitted that an incident had occurred.

I have no doubt that it's a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Quoideneuf

Yes, I'm pretty sure that it's a scam also. He had no reason to be under the lid of her boot, to be so physically close to her. His own car was parked opposite her, but a good bit away from hers, in that the trolley easily fitted in between the two cars, with additional space in between both cars. The way he sped off was also suspicious, no other interaction. Yes, I think she reported it in case there had been other incidences, but I suppose the question would be, how seriously an insurance company would take this, given the obviousness of it being a scam? I suppose that it's just a matter of keeping your wits about you when it in public - you never know when someone might be at it. That is what it comes down to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,816 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'd say he was going to rob her but spotted the son so his overreaction was some rouse excuse.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Quoideneuf

That thought crossed my mind also, that he may have been trying to steal her purse, as she was distracted putting her groceries in the boot, or he could've been a pervert. But, as he took a picture of the reg of her car, a scam seemed most likely. But, who knows for sure…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Orban6