I Do Agri - Scammer

• 15-05-2025 02:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭

Hi all.

I purchased x3 "gate locks" from I Do Agri's website in July last year and still have not gotten delivery. I've had an occasional email appologising profusely and all will be resolved in a few days and then all contact details, emails etc go dead again. Have many more had this experience? Absolutely shocking service from a lad that has himself plastered all over youtube although I see he has gone to ground there again. Anyone know how best to resolve? I'd take money back but happy to bring to small claims court out of prinicple at this stage for a purchase of only around €75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Can you file a claim with your credit card provider? Get the money back that way.

Posts like this might shake him into action if he is still actively selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭dmakc

Surprised to hear this, could they not qualify for a refund straight up given you haven't got delivery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,546 ✭✭✭tanko

No offence but i cant believe anyone could actually pay for those pieces of scrap. I burst out laughing when i first saw him peddling that rubbish. Any calf that would push against a gate with one of those on it would make bits of it let alone a cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

It's not clear from the website if that's the business name that's registered with the CRO (Small Claims needs the correct business name or it will be rejected).
    The Terms show a different domain for emails at idocad.ie and I Do CAD is a ltd company based in Galway.

IMO better to just apply to card provider for a refund / charge back because of non delivery despite attempts to resolve with seller.

Is there another side to this story. Seems he went out of his way to hand deliver before Christmas, to make sure all orders were done. Not for or against here but we only have your version of events.

@mythos110 we're you don't the videos on YT for a while? Mostly reseeding of a steep field?

They were nice to watch. 👌👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭mythos110

You are probably right to question it but I can assure you there is only one version of events here. Items paid for and failed to deliver. The last contact I had was an email saying it had the delivery details attached. When I messaged back saying the delivery details were not attached - no answers

I needed it for a specific purpose to be honest and seeing a young lad trying to start out with a new product, I said I'd give it a try. Lesson learned

Thanks Funkey. I changed jobs so I am travelling a lot to eastern Europe. It means when I have jobs to do at home, the priority isn't getting the go-pro and drone out :) . Also, most of my jobs are quite repeditive so sometimes hard to see the point in posting the same task in a different field! Except for the silage of course which I always try to catch every year!

Would I be right in saying that it is more difficult to claim back through a debit card and that credit card has more protection? I paid by debit myself. Must look into it and thanks for the suggestion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,669 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Just do a charge back on whatever method of payment you used. But don't delay. There are time limits.

Thanks, but that has to be within 120 days and I am well over that already unfortunately. I'll contact my bank and see but I suspect it won't be an option

If you have any correspondence from him as back up information to show you tried to resolve it might help your case.

Yes, I have submitted to my debit card provider and will update on the result here. Have sent through all communication sent by me and responses including where the email response came back as inactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭countryjimbo

I have the same issue, spent €99 at the end of Jan. Got a confirmation email and absolutely nothing since.
    Have emailed multiple times, have commented on Youtube and have also text a number I think is his, got nothing back.

Like was said earlier, I brought these mainly to support a lad who was making a go of things but sorry now!

I know there's two sides to every story but no excuse for not even replying to an email!

I just heard back from bank today that they cannot process a refund as outside the 120 day limit. It bothers me more that the online shop is still active so he is still scamming people than the money I have lost myself to be honest.

Post edited by mythos110 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I'm sure it wouldn't be that hard to find out where he is and turn up at the gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭divillybit

I was looking at the YouTuber J. T. 's barn n grill, where he's fixing up an mf1150, which needs a new nose cone. He mentioned it on the video, if anyone knows where I can get one let me know. Some lad contacted J. T. and said I've an nose cone for an 1150 massey. J. T. wired him the money thinking it was legit and sure enough it was a scam. He lost a few hundred bucks. Feckin scammers everywhere you turn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭manno

He's about 20 mins away from me. I rang him one time he had an add on donedeal. He was selling shipping containers for a fraction of what they were worth at the time. He was saying he could get any amount of them. I got the impression he was a bit of a dreamer.

Are you still within the time limit for small claims court?

I think if he loses he has to pay the fee. Maybe look into that approach. Principles matter and it might stop others being caught by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭dmakc

I was thinking of getting a couple myself for a few double gates we have. At least you've raised awareness to stop future income/scamming.

I found it interesting when IFWF didn't take a lock after featuring him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭cjpm

That’s the trouble when you offer someone else a plug. If they do any blaguarding it tarnishes your name too.

Following on from my comment above, I contacted my bank and requested a charge back.
    They agreed and they put the money back into my account, and he had something like 30 days to accept that.
    Well, he didn't accept it so the money has been taken back out of my account now.

So, instead of doing the decent thing and just accepting that the money should be returned, he has doubled down and is fighting it. I am really annoyed and willing to do whatever it takes to get my money back at this stage, even if it costs me more!

Post edited by countryjimbo on

It's beyond the value of the thing now. It's the principle of it.

Not sure what the next step would be - small claims court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Looks like you can report idoagri.

Exactly!

Looking at the small claims court and I think that even if they make a judgement against him, someone has to enforce it and I bet he still wouldn't pay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭kk.man

I bet you must be many who haven't received their products and it's ongoing as the website is still open im let to believe. Would you not consider reporting it to the guards? A nice little criminal conviction would soften his cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭deandean

Oh dear, looks like their website is down.