If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louth Discussion Thread…?

• 11-05-2025 04:48AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭

Are there any ‘wee county’ lads/lassies out there, would have thought a Louth thread would have been stated before now….?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

no ‘Louth connections but great see ‘famines’ come to an end…..looked like meath for a lot of second half. Well done to the wee county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Brilliant win...... 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,690 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done louth great game of football, ger brennan is probably the best coach in the country at the moment in my opinion ,fair play to sam mulroy too had a really bad start to the second half and drove the team on in the end

craig lennon is probably one of the best footballers in the country too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,326 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

congrats to Louth… even more impressive when you consider they were behind for a reasonable portion of that match and trailed by 4 points at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Congratulations to Louth, from Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Serious work and improvement by Louth over the last couple of year. Senior and U20 Leinster titles won and are in the U17 final where they'll be favourties to beat Offaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,346 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Congratulations Louth. Great victory today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Lanky_Lad

Delighted for Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Congrats on a great win from the rebel county who ye beat in 57! We'll have a trip to Navan now for our troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Rmgblue

Reposted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Rmgblue

The equivalent of those ones on RIP.ie saying condolences from a mammy in X,Y or Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,571 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Congrats Louth, well seen out!
    As a Monaghan man, looking forward to putting a stop to yer auld carry on in Group 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭andrew1977

I am a Louth man who has followed the team home and away since i was a child ( long time ago ) , Sunday was a moment we all dreamed about and never thought it would happen , the promised land was reached.

All those years of hammerings/ relegations/ near misses washed away, it is up there to being the top 3 things which have happened in my lifetime. Most Louth people would say the same.

I have seen some very dark days when we have been absolutely hammered out the gate by teams .

The changes in Louth football in recent years have been due to the changes made, Mickey Harte a major factor and the then chairman Peter Fitzpatrick.

To see Louth lift the Delaney cup after 68 years was something truly joyous to behold.

well deserved especially after that absolute robbery in 2010. I can recall similar feelings in 2002 when we landed a Munster title for fist time in 39 years. Still waiting for the ‘big one’ though. 🥲🥲 With the underage success that Louth is also now enjoying you shouldn’t be waiting for another 23 years (and counting) for the all ireland……enjoy the ongoing celebrations and who knows what else the summer might bring

2010 washed away at the full time whistle last Sunday, as Peter Fitzpatrick said " i will never speak/discuss again about that infamous today, it was firmly put to bed today .

My dad was at the 1957 All ireland the last time we lifted Sam Maguire, he has passed away since 2010 , and always said, i wont see the day again where we even win Leinster, he and a lot of passed Louth gaels were there in spirt last Sunday.

Under 20 Leinster secured, our minors going for the same, senior title secured . Many false dawns and collapses from Louth through the year, but finally some shoots of good life, hopefully it continues .

But last Sunday in Croke park we will never forget and nobody will ever take that away from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Cast Iron

U20s stuck at it to get past Mayo last night and into the AI final. Kicked alot of wides just after half time which let Mayo back in but found a way. Some super football played and great scores in the match.

Youse are certainly on a run…..could it be the start of a golden era….?

It's fantastic but I don't think anyone in Louth will be losing the run of themselves. We know only too well how hard it can be!

Probably the guts of a decade and a little bit of luck with the right people falling into place with the right structures. Hopefully the minors and 20s will translate onward to senior, plenty of challenges keeping lads involved, that'll be the trick, interest won't be an issue as it was in the past but economically it's challenging for young people nowadays, our proximity near Dublin might help keep lads around.

Roll on Monday in Newbridge for the minors, hopefully a third Leinster title for the county, which is an unbelievable thing to be saying!

One thing that stands out as far I can see, beyond fantastic footballers and coaches, is the mentality across the teams appears really strong and resilient. Success will only help push it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Cracking minor game here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭megadodge

Superb game absolutely spoiled by the ref. And I'm a complete neutral from Roscommon.

Phantom free after phantom free after phantom free. And then a ridiculous red card at the end for a fair shoulder.

Fair play to the Offaly goalie, who kicked some fantastic 2 pointers, but how many of them were actual fouls in the first place?

I feel really bad for an excellent Louth team, though I don't begrudge Offaly either.

Louth had their chances to get a good lead before half time, some bad choices/panic for scores led to some bad wides.

Referee was dreadful in the second half, but fair play to Offaly for holding their nerve, and especially their goalie with his 2 pointers.

The joy on the field for Offaly last night you couldn't begrudge them , they were in the doldrums for years like we were , good luck to them, the scenes the had at full time for their fans , we in Louth have had it twice this season, including the big one in Leinster.

Great to see other teams coming through with talent.

100%, you have to hand it to Offaly they wrestled the momentum back their way and finished strongly, congratulations to them.

Unfortunately Louth couldn't make it stick and ball handling errors cost them dearly handing the initiative back to Offaly. The wides kicked earlier really bit then.

The referee was involved so much that it made the advantage rule look ridiculous. Haven't seen the match back on TV but it felt constant, his right arm must be hanging off him this morn.

Nonetheless the teams put on a fantastic end to end match, serious pace to the game.

Hard luck to Johnny and the lads but still in the AI, hopefully the experience stands to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 playithard

offaly are some county for there size winning hurling and football all irelands and leinsters like they done in the 80s and 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,467 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

A nice touch from Ciaran Kilduff in the match programme at Oriel tonight:

"Like many in the area, I've taken huge pride in what the Louth GAA teams have achieved recently. That kind of momentum and belief is contagious. We look at that and take inspiration as we continue our own journey back to the summit of Irish football. After all, every great sporting story has a thread of the underdog running through it - and we're writing ours now."

Off topic I know, but check out the Goal of the Season contender (of course he meant it), and the second goal wasn't half bad either. Even Drogheda fans will have to admire them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,467 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Under 20 final against Tyrone is in Armagh 7:30 Wednesday evening. Should be a big crowd. Coverage on TG4 from 7:20.

Heading to it myself, a big ask against this strong Tyrone team, hopefully Louth bring an All Ireland title home.

Serious work being done underage in the county, I was at an event on Friday night, Gavin Delvin was one of the speakers, you could listen to him all night about the details/effort/thought required to change the mindset of players to believe in what they can achieve once the foundations are laid .

His son is on the Tyrone team in the Under 20 final , inside information for Tyrone or what !

A gallant/ brave effort by Louth last night , but that is some Tyrone Under 20 team,strong/fast/quick to move a ball and take /make scores with ease .

The final score line was harsh on Louth, we done well in first half, superb midfield catching , then our goalie made an absolute howler and kicked a short kick out straight to a Tyrone man who buried it in the net , just before half time.

We came back into it for about 5- 10 minutes start of second half, missed a couple of goal chances, Tyrone powered on from there.

A big Louth support in attendance last night, great to see, disappointing losss, but great summer so far for all our teams, we cant grumble too much, infact we cant grumble at all considering all the barren years.

Post edited by andrew1977 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭thesultan

It was a fine game , Louth had two goal chances after half time both of which were spurned and after the one that hit the bar Tyrone goaled. Very clinical team and the conveyor belt is working overdrive up there such is the talent they are producing. Really classy forwards at both minor and U20. Louth will definitely get a few players from this team.

Yea the scoreline was particularly harsh. That minute was a real killer where maybe you could say there was a 6 point swing of sorts where we hit the bar and Tyrone got the goal. Seemed to knock the stuffing out of the lads, which was a pity as they responded well to the mistake goal before half time.

Have to say Tyrones directness was incredible, up the field as quick as possible and get a score, no hesitancy at all. Really impressive, big congrats to them.

On the Louth plus side, the fielding of the high ball was really impressive. Hopefully bring that through the seniors in years to come.

A game of two halves in Newry last Saturday, woeful display in the first half by us, Down came flying out of the tramps and left us with too much to do in second half, we almost grabbed a draw, only for the fine block by the Down defender, some dubious calls by the referee, but overall Down shaded it in my opinion.

We looked tired and way off the pace first half, Tommy Durnin, cant do it all in the middle of the field, and he is targetted now by opposition to nullify this presence.

Subs could and should have been made a bit earlier in the game, few of the forwards woeful with their kicking and pass choices.

On we go to Clare and hopefully get a win there to scrape through to the knockouts . The 2 week break will do us good, like all other teams, Between the Leinster final partying and 2 tough games, it will certainly do us benefit.