Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Giro d’Italia 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,806 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Carapaz tried in fairness. He got no help, so he had no choice in backing off and making Del Toro do something. 2nd or 3rd makes no difference to him

This is 100% on UAE and Del Toro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 LLamachara

Agreed. Del Toro still had a chance of catching Yates on the final climb if he kept riding. Anytime Carapaz attacked, they instantly took chunks out of Yates lead. Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

What a mad stage. Incredible ride from Wout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

I want to see a Carapaz spite attack in last 1km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

Watching that, seeing the incredible gap at the end, I was initially thinking 'a penny for Floyd Landis' thoughts right now' - but looking at it again, the lack of any cohesion between Del Toro and Carapaz was mind-boggling, so big chapeau to Yates. The race was there to be won and he never looked back. Carapaz looked very annoyed towards the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,053 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Are UAE also at fault for letting a break get away with WVA in it? Could they have tried harder to bring that back?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,159 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Del Toro seema a nice guy, but i do enjoy seeing UAE lose when they make a hames of things.

Was rooting for Carapaz, but Yates winning after the disaster on the same climb 7 years ago, im happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,618 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Just finished watching the stage. Wow just wow. Chapeau to Yates, what a ride. The racing on Colle delle Finestre was magic to watch

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Incredieble stage up until Del Toro and Carapaz literally just sat up and let Yates take the win.

Take nothing away from Yates he attacked them 4 times on that amazing climb and got away eventually but how did they just sit there and let the gap grow?

Del Toro in particular looked incredibly comfortable all day long, or was he actually suffering and simply couldnt ride?

Great stage but an utterly weird finale.

Grats to Simon yates , both of the brothers seem genuinely nice lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,033 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Either inexperienced or arrogance from UAE to think this was a 2 rider race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Jesus that was so stupid. Whatever about team orders and not wanting to work there was a point at which when Yates was 1:20 up the road that Del Toro should have given the jersey the respect it deserves and chased. If he was deserving of the leaders jersey he should have had the confidence to contain any potential attack from Carrapaz. Imagine if he never gets another chance to win a grand tour how he would look back at this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Our recording cut off mid breakaway discussion bit. Has there been any explanation at all for the "tactics" such as they were?

Del Toro has come out swinging saying Carapaz should have pulled when the gap went out towards 2 mins, and at least he still has 2nd and not 3rd. Mad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That's crazy. In cycling there's first place and then the rest.

Carapaz was dead right to down tools but he just didn't reckon on the other lad bluffing all the way with 2 pair!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,987 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Del Toro talking though his hole. If you’re in Pink, you chase. End of discussion

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Del Toro fuked up thinking he had 1 rival. Anything else is just nonsense to make himself feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Very weird finish, can't recall something quite like that, 2 riders who looked like they still had good legs effectively sitting up and letting another rider ride away with a Grand Tour, utterly bizarre, well done to Yates for taking his chance, but, you'd have to think the 2 lads have huge regrets tonight. Del Toro in particular, when the gap started to head to one minute he really should have tried to close the gap, even with the gap approaching 2 mins they were still bluffing each other, crazy stuff. Del Toro might never get so close again, a great opportunity spurned. They effectively threw away 3 weeks of hard work in an hour of racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

Is it possible to list all of UAE's mistakes from today?

I missed the first 100km or so - was it UAE's fault for letting the gap get out to 10 minutes? If it was only 5 minutes then there's a good chance that Del Toro would have held on.

After Carapaz, del Toro, Yates and Gee got away UAE's domistiques sat up behind and let del Toro get too far ahead. Majka could easily have gone up that climb faster. If he, and others, were closer then del Toro wouldn't have downed tools and there would have been a great battle till the end.

Was it del Toro or his DS that decided to not pull with Carapaz up the climb? It was understandable until it wasn't.

And that nonsense on the descent will never be forgotten - Freewheeling while the your main rival sails away into the distance. And then sprinting over the finish line. I hope Carapaz laughed in his face at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Bizarre stuff from Del Toro ,surely when it was obvious Carapaz was not going to do a turn on the front at pace and they were just looking at each other he just had to give it 100% himself to catch Yates himself, not as if he has any needed to save energy , he just seemed to let the race slip away from him and not react

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'm not convinced he even had to give 100%. The gap tumbled the one time Carapaz lit it up. All very odd. Even riding just under your limit would have held the jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,328 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

del Toro deserves all the criticism he's getting but Carapaz deserves just as much. If he wanted to win the tour he had to chase Yates regardless of what del Toro wanted to do. Fighting with each other while the pink jersey sailed off info the distance is the most stupid thing I can remember as regards the GC in a grand tour.

But then Carapaz is just pacing Del Toro back on and loses anyway. He had to gamble on getting Del Toro to help.

Bizarre to me to think he is equally to blame as the race leader.

So sit up and don't even try? If the other guy won't work you can just keep attacking and hope to break him at some stage.

Just like del Toro he handed the race to Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭cletus

If he pulls Del Toro to Yates, he gets second, instead of third. He's not there just to be on the podium, so that really makes no difference, and he was obviously very angry that Del Toro wouldn't work. Becoming a domestique for him was not going to put Carapaz in pink

Carapaz was trying to win, but Del Toro had the jersey to lose, he's much more at fault here.

Carapaz was obviously willing to work, and willing to gamble on trying to break Del Toro if they both put work into pulling Yates back, but Del Toro said no.

Don’t forget that it was EF and Carapaz who attacked first (and got a decent gap on Yates). It was only in that 5-10km period where Yates got back on, and Yates and Carapaz alternated (a lot of) attacks where it became obvious that Del Toro was only chasing Carapaz. Carapaz brought Del Toro back to Yates a few times.

He effectively called Del Toro’s bluff on the last Yates attack and Yates was never seen again. Very similar to how Carapaz won in 2019 while Roglic and Nibali marked each other but I don’t think Carapaz can be accused on not trying to win yesterday.

That doesn't mean you stop trying to win. This is not a couple of kids in the playground.

Carapaz has to believe in himself. He has to break del Toro or at least try. Sitting up gave the race to Yates.

Nether of them wanted it as much as Simon Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭cletus

There's no winning for Carapaz if Del Toro sits on his wheel for the last 40k. I'm sure he knows his own abilities, and given that he can't win if Del Toro doesn't work, why would Carapaz work just to give Del Toro pink. Carapaz cannot win without Del Toro working.

2nd or 3rd is not much different for Carapaz. Del Toro actively lost a grand tour.

He did try! He attacked Del Toro a dozen times or more. He chased Yates several times too.

Del Toro chased Carapaz every time, and didn’t chase Yates once. It is as simple as that.

Exactly.

Carapaz has given repeated interviews where he said he didn't care about 2nd or 3rd, it was win or bust for him. He attacked to try and drop Del Toro multiple times, and Del Toro followed only him, not Yates or even Gee when he passed them. Carapaz had no obligation to tow Del Toro to the line when he was ahead of him on GC, its all on UAE and their crazy tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

I think watching both cyclists after they came over the finishing line yesterday said it all.

Carapaz had his head buried on his hands on the handlebar unable to talk for a few minutes.

Del Toro flew over the line delighted. Straight to someone saying he'd won 2nd and delighted with this fact. Cheering and celebrating. Over to the domistiques and thanking them all smiles - I wonder if Majka was as delighted.