Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Streaming someone drowning instead of helping

• 02-05-2025 03:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭

Another unbelievable example of what happens when you give social media companies free reign over society.

"Mr Shine, who has been a firefighter for 44 years, said: “People today tend to video rather than render aid. But this was another level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Allinall

It's the idiots doing the streaming are to blame 100% for this scourge.

Disgusting behaviour that should be outlawed and draconian penalties brought in for any caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Wow "dozens" of people and no one tried to throw in a life ring? Shocking. I hope they are ashamed of themselves, probably not though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The fact that the lifebuoys were not deployed is very worrying.

People were more interested in filming than in making a rescue attempt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

You know the song by Phil Collins, “In the Air of the Night” About that guy who coulda saved that other guy from drownin’ But didn’t,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I’ve just read an article on this and it’s just very upsetting. His poor family. The ghouls who filmed and circulated this horrible material should be prosecuted.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What is wrong with people that their reaction is to film someone in distress, their death, the resuscitation attempt and then upload it to social media instead of trying to help in some way?

I remember when photos were circulated of a woman's severed head on the road when she was decapitated in a collision. It's just bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭anewme

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I remember walking home in London and there were throngs of people at a major intersection. Turns out that there'd been some kind of awful accident. There were paramedics patching up some severely wounded soul and prepping him for the ambulance but there were hundreds of people holding up their phones just videoing it.

This doesn't surprise me one bit sadly.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭TheSunIsShining

The chaps mother was on local radio in Cork this morning. Absolutely distraught and it was literally heartbreaking listening to her. Anyone who was moronic enough to have filmed the situation should be made listen back to her, reflect on what they did and be made to ask themselves serious questions. Like just look at the below - Cork Fire Brigade officer quoted as saying it appears nobody throw in a lifebuoy. But people recorded it and someone actually live streamed it. There are simply no words to describe it.

Meanwhile, a senior fire officer has pleaded with people not to publish or share the distressing video footage taken as the tragedy unfolded.

“This man was clearly in difficulty in the water but we saw no signs of lifebuoys in the water when we arrived at the scene minutes after the alarm was raised," said second officer Victor Shine with Cork City Fire Brigade.

Some footage was live-streamed but Mr Shine spoke out on Thursday after it emerged that the actual drowning and the recovery of the man’s remains had also been recorded by some onlookers.

Mr Shine, who has been a firefighter for 44 years, said: “People today tend to video rather than render aid. But this was another level.

“I would have expected to see lifebuoys in the water and there are some in the area, but I didn’t see any in the water and I’m not sure if anyone attempted to throw a lifebuoy.

Post edited by TheSunIsShining on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Someone text into NT saying you get fined in Germany for filming incidents like that. We really are fucked as a society when people find someone drowning amusing enough to film it. Anyone found to have uploaded it should be severely punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

We really are fucked as a society when people find someone drowning amusing enough to film it

Think the issue is that people are disassociated from what is happening in the real world rather than being humored by something.

We saw a similar example in the US recently where a girl streamlined herself walking through a college campus on which a school shooting was happening. She showed a girl who had been shot and was bleeding and just walked past her.

It is a sorry indictment of society alright, I'll agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,405 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Id like to think I'd do the right thing in a situation like that, but until I am in a situation like that, who knows.

It's sickening but not surprising that people would record it, since that's what we seem to do about everything these days. Click, record, share, upvote. Why? It's addictive and now a social norm.

Could this be classed as an example of the bystander effect? -everyone assumed someone else would throw the lifebouy, someone else would do the right thing or know what to do?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,716 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I was thinking about this incident while watching the 'onlookers' in the White Bear episode of Black Mirror last night;

Untitled Image

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Utterly despicable and very disturbing that people would rather film a person drowning and in severe distress than try to rescue them.

Just shows where we are going as a society - and it is not in a good direction at all. 😓

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I would like to say name and shame, but given the state of things the wrong people would be named.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭babyducklings1

Completely agree. What is actually wrong with people. We are lost if this is what people are at. Moral compass completely off in these people. Cameras on phones, dangerous in wrong hands combined with videos and live streaming . It’s all too easy at press of a button!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Hodger

Maybe three or four years ago it was post lockdown a summer friday evening.

I remember one friday evening being on the bus from local seaside town travelling into city please bear in mind this is a double decker bus but anyway just past petrol station on the way into sea side town on the other side a car was upside down obviously a car accident and medical personall were at the scene.

I was seated up on top there was a lot of teenagers and early 20s age group on the bus as being a summer evening and young people going to the beach' but anyway to get to the point of the story everyone up top stared out the top window looking over at the scene of the accident.

Three people had I remember exactly three people had their phones out to take photos or take videos I said to one person " its disrespectful filming a scene like this " and I got back a " what are you gonna do about it " answer .

He was likely 17 or 18 as I am more older then him' and in that situation I didnt wanna escaltate it and for it to turn into a fight as given Im older then his age I would of being the one in trouble not him.

Schools and youth programmes def need to do some training with younger people on responsible phone and social media usage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Even simple situations have people ignoring people who might need help. Years ago I was walking down a street in Cork at about ten pm, came across a guy who was passed out on steps, he was homeless and I was a bit concerned. Tried to wake him up, tried to get a pulse and didn't seem able to. Called ambulance and they were sending somebody out, he woke up as I was trying to see if I could feel breath on my palms. Felt like an absolute idiot at the time but at the same time I'm glad I stopped when so many were ignoring him even if it was a false alarm..

This one seems far more obvious that something was wrong so I can't fathom why nobody threw out a ring. The normalisation of the filming thing is obviously terrible too. I do think we're getting a lag on fucked up trends that happen in a lot of countries unfortunately. Should just introduce laws to prosecute people who do **** all in situations like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

We're weird creatures

Been at the scene of maybe 50 car crashes when doing motorway maintenance few years back

Have seen numerous secondary tips from dopes rubbernecking. And at fatalities I've seen cars pull over and stop on the opposite carriage to gawp. Guards have to deal with plenty camera phones and that was 2013 or so.

We were first to a skoda on its roof one day. 40 or 50 cars queued to get past. 1 young fella had got out to help. Rest just staring.

25 years ago few of us, who were on a camoeing trip, happened upon a near drowning in the boyne. Again 20 or so onlookers. 1 chap struggling to help and he had a couple pints on him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,336 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Maybe the ability to record things now has just highlighted the number of people who are sociopaths or just assholes? The sort of people who might just have walked away 30 years ago now have the ability to advertise that they've no empathy?

I was once talking to a firefighter based in tallaght. One thing I remember from the conversation was him telling me he'd been spat at by passing motorists while assisting at a bad RTC on the M50. Maybe they blamed him for the tailbacks they'd been stuck in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,216 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I am not conding the behaviour of those kids on that bus as I do agree with the general gist of this thread that recording absoloutely everything is not appropriate. However there is a difference in your example and the one in Cork and its the worrying thing really. The one on the bus is a "passive" event I would call it, where the onlookers from the bus dont have any control over the event they are recording OR what happened in the first place. Now it is still highly inappropriate to film a crash scene where people may have died or are dying. Don't get me wrong.

It's a whole other level of inappropriate where the person/people filming can have a direct impact on the outcome of the event they are filming. Not only is it inappropriate it is negligient. Any one of those filming could have could have made an attempt to assist/save this person but CHOSE not to. That is ridiculous!

Both events outlined are just awful but I know not every teenager or person with a phone would respond in the manners outlined - there are good ones out there.

As for what can be done about it, education from parents primarily, schools secondary and peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

I was involved in a pile up on the N7 last year (first of three cars that a truck ploughed into while stationary). Fella who was hit first was in obvious shock and turned out to have a fractured vertebra.

Not one person stopped to help us.

Society’s broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

What a sick society we now live in with social media literally warping people's minds.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,336 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ten or fifteen years ago, i rang the emergency services after happening on the aftermath of a car leaving the road on the M6. neither of the two motorists (both lorry drivers, IIRC) who had stopped first had done so; as we arrived, one of them was actually leaving the scene and asked me to make the call. which i thought was odd.

but after, several people (including my own mother) told me i should have not rung the emergency services because i could easily be charged for the callout as a result; which is total horse****. obviously, that bit of lore is doing the rounds, and i wonder how many people don't stop for fear they'll be penalised as a result. not all, but maybe it accounts for some.

maybe it has its roots partially in that story of the good samaritan who let a woman sit in his car while they waited for the emergency services, and they ended up cutting the roof off his car to take her out, for fear she'd suffered a back injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,724 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

A lot of the people who stopped to filmed this believe it or not think they are conpasoonate people.

They put it up online and and talk about the poor soul and how the government needs to be doing more for mental health.(I'm not sure why the person was in the water.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,734 ✭✭✭BrianD3

The only people you can rely on to help you in this life, if you are lucky, are close family members. The idea is to not get yourself into a situation where you are reliant on strangers to save you.

The bystander effect and onlookers not being able to process what is happening in front of them existed long before smartphone filming. Smartphones do add another dimension to it alright but it's more complex than arseholes filming a drowning man to get likes on social media. For someone who is a heavy phone user, taking out their phone instead of trying to help would be a default response in a stressful situation.

The lad may well have drowned even with no filming as people would stare and do nothing. It's human weakness. It happened to me the first time I witnessed a serious road crash happening in front of me. I froze. So did the driver in the car behind me and the car behind that. When a fella from a few cars back, came running to help, we all joined in.

There will be more drownings this summer. School pupils should be given basic water safety training with particular emphasis on the use of lifebuoys and not to jump in.

Scumbags are still going to get entertainment out of vandalising life buoys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,985 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

disturbing stuff, society is fcuked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,216 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There is so much stuff out that, like that particular story around getting charged for callouts, being sued for helping someone who might have ended up worse as a result etc, that a lot of people think that it's easier and less hassle not to get involved.

A lot of people who don't stop (especially in the context of witnessing a road crash) I would bet do so because they don't know how they could help. A 'What's the point in me stopping, I won't be any use' effect, especially if they see someone seems to be already dealing with the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Photobox

Heard his mother on Prenderville yesterday. It was so upsetting. Its something that stays with you. People are morons. As another poster says society is broken.