Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 14

• 14-04-2025 03:42PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭

Ive picked a bit of an odd one, it only came to my head when we had Legend of Valkryie in a previous round and it has same music.

image.png

kinda a mix between ghosts and goblins, wonderboy and The Legend of the Valkyrie from what i remember.

good luck all!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,213 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Always wanted to give this one a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

sure ill kick off with my first sad attempt 16700

Capture.PNG

Gave it 3 credits..ran out of time each time until i realised why.The clock keeps ticking when your doing a spot of shopping.

I'm liking it though…happy go lucky feeling to it , kinda wonderboy in monster land mixed with black tiger and a dash of Legend of Valkryie

It's not causing my blood pressure to rise like the last few games….yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭geotrig

Love willow have it on PCB , haven't played it ages ,has one of my favorite attract screens

I'd say thats a rare PCB is it, CPS1?

get on it so Geo…show us what ya got

Yeah cps1 wouldn't say too rare,but the c boards seem to be a bit more rare !!! 😅, in general I think nothing is really that rare tbh !will try and get cab setup this week and throw a score up, I've never pushed myself to be any good at it though. never got past the cart section on a credit

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,213 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I've never seen one of these cabs in the wild. I would have definitely given it a go if I did.

there was one in a pub in rosslare…thats where i remember it from. along with chase hq, run ark , mortal kombat 2 and a game where you were a type of James bond spy..parachuting, riding bikes, speed boats

anyone know that one??…i remember it being great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Inviere

by jove that's it…nice one. must give it a go and see if it holds up to fond memories i have of it

Capture.PNG

Sly Spy had great Amiga and commodore 64 conversions.

gave willow another go , keep failing at cart part of level 2. it seems like an easy ,happy go lucky game on the surface but its tough . probably need to beef up on stuff from the shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Inviere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Doge

When I was a kid I played it on C64 and also the arcade version while on holiday in Cyprus I believe. It was the only cab in the hotel.

Simple things like zip lining across ships made you feel like an action hero!

And acquiring parts for the golden gun was class too.

That god darn cart section.

Got 100 points better.16800

This game tough.

1000018224.jpg

Didn't spend a coin until the shop just before the cart section and tooled up...it seemed to be harder!!!

Capture.PNG

yeeeees…41750.

got by the cart part and that's the end of level 2, no boss. got crazy bonus for finishing it and got a wee bit through stage 3

Yeah outside of a bit of credit feeding I've never managed past the cart on 1 credit ,,🤔

I found the trick to the cart part..I've only copped you can do a super jump. Think it's hold up and hold jump.

With this you can knock those pesky birds out of the air before they come near you ,and focus on the right and left green soldiers on horses. That and powered up sword / spell for reach and it's handy

Best attempt so far. Got to the cart:

willow-250417-234554.png

Don't know what the craic is with the scoring system. There must be some underlying system. I see ya get a 100 or so for killing enemies and bonus at level end for time and life is it? But I've arrived at level 2 and cart section with wild differences in score which don't make sense . In that last run with score I posted i was over 12,000 when cart section started and I don't think I did anything different ,

Ok had to Google score system. It explains massive jump in score after level 2 I got

"You will receive a bonus at the end of each stage. The bonus comes out to be:
    Time (in seconds) x 100 x Stage NumberLife (in bars) x 100 x Stage Number
    So, for Stage 2 you had 1:31 in time left and three bars of life, your bonuswould be:
    91 seconds x 100 x 2 = 18,200 points for Time 3 bars x 100 x 2 = 600 points for Life
    Grand Total Bonus 18,800 points"

There's some real meanness in this game that isn't on the likes of ghouls n' ghosts. Like bullshit mean. The guys jumping down at you from off screen is a load of old nonsense.

Also I managed to run out of time on the stage 1 boss as I stopped to grind the last 100 coin to get an extra bar of life.

I think the running out of time might be my issue because I found a secret on the first stage where you have to hit a hidden spot near the start of the game loads of times and it gives you a little helper guy that throws spears. Bit sure if he is messing up my scoring as well.

I'm in the zone lads.

Got bout half way through level 3 few times..and then whadda ya know..another bloody cart type s3ction except your on a boat.

1000018239.jpg

You amount so much gold start of level 3 and there's a shop straight away to fuel up..think I had about 4 grand

Ahh now ,there's only about 3 lads that jump down at you from off screen and always in the same place.first two ya just wait for and the third by the chest on the platform just stat to very right and bash you sword.

On a side note my run of tech disaster continues. Just burnt my cheek with a soldering iron. I'm giving up:) I had no solder so was using a spring, dropped it ..bent down to pick it up and scolded myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,366 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Starting to think you're some sort of savant :D this game is pure evil.

You think you're starting to get the patterns down, get to the first level boss and YOU RUN OUT OF TIME.

WHAT THE ABSOLUTE SHITE 😂

Ran out of time three times on the first boss last night and just had to give up.

GTaIA-.gif

IU usually finish level 1 with 8 or less seconds!!

if ya have problem with the time, buy the moon magic…one crack of that to the wolf and a few normal shots and hes a gonner in a bout 5 secs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Man I'm jealous of you guys really getting into these games. Fair play to ye. I have the pcb's of a lot of them including this one. Will clean out the games room tonight and try have a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Musashi_

Limewise, I don't remember ever seeing this game out in the wild!

Cool game for sure.

Join the party pal!

I've been very busy with rehearsals but I've a few days now free to give you's a challenge.

unfortunately I'm out as have a problem with my arm-elbow at present that hasn't cleared up and trying to put cp back on cab is a no go and playing anything is not comfortable at the minute. 😔 pity as it would have been a good challenge to finally push and try and get good at it