Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin Half Marathon - little to no consideration given to local residents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭strongback

It's you got to do your event my children couldn't get to their matches

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I don't live near the course, nor was I competing, but I was well aware of what was going on and the road closures around it. Perhaps the OP just needs to be more aware of current affairs.

Couldnt get from the Richmond Rd area to the M1. Left before the race started but the traffic was blocked on Fairview Strand, a sympathetic guard who saw the children in their football gear let me through to Philipsburgh Ave.

The route to North Stand was also blocked.

Was able to drive up the Grace Park Rd to where it meets Collins Ave. Guard told me under no circumstances could I get on to the M1. The guard told me to chance driving east along Collins Ave and heading for the Malahide Rd. There was a barrier on the Malahide Rd and it was a no go as the race route traversed the Malahide Rd. Got stuck there for the best part of an hour, matches missed.

There was no getting through the loop that cordoned off a huge area of the Northside.

I understand they sent the runners over the flyover at Santry to keep the M1 open but there was no way onto the M1 for people within the cordon, literally penned in.

In future they need to allow traffic to traverse the race rute The obvious way to do this would be at a road bridge

Do it in a nice park next year, there will still be happy faces

It is a massive area, far more that 80,000 people living in it

A mile and a halff is too far to walk with children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭py

It really wasn't that given the weather we had today.

Only electronic sign I saw was where the M1 stops at Whitehall. I drive through the race route multiple times a day and so no other sign.

Fairly presumptuous response showing little thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Barry_Soweto

So because it's only one day people should lie down and accept nonsense treatment?

People could have had mothers day lunches booked and unable to get to them. It could have been an away league match for Dublin in the football.

There's only 52 Sundays in the year.

Not everyone has a free calendar all the time where they can afford to sacrifice a day because people are running which they could run anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Sono

absolute moaning from the op is ridiculous. This race wasn’t a surprise to anyone; maybe be more organised next year so you make your match :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Those electronic signs were up on the Drumcondra Road from Clonliffe Road up to the M1 all week. Also in Ballybough, so both ends of Richmond Rd. They could have been a bit bigger, I suppose, but hard to miss. Millbourne Ave, only just over a km from the Fairview end of Richmond Road, was outside the cordon and easily accessible with kids on foot. Inconvenient, yes. Insurmountable (camping/hotel), no.

I didn’t see any moaning from the locals on my route, nothing but encouragement for us all. A brilliant day all round. Keep moaning though for something you knew about for months 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Johnboy316

Sounds like an inconvenience alright but can I ask.

Did you know the event was happening today?

If so, did you check to see what closures were going to be in effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Greengrass53

Please stop whinging about every little inconvenience. Just count your blessings and get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Honestly I don't know why we're entertaining this guy, we hear the same stuff every year with the marathon. Boo hoo the kiddies missed a game because daddy didn't see the signs, the leaflets, the Facebook posts, the Irish times coverage, the f**king thread here on boards.ie about it, the Irish independent coverage, the notice on the TFI website, the notice on the Dublin bus website.

I do stewarding for the women's mini marathon and it's been running on the June Bank Holiday Sunday for as long as I can remember and still every year someone is complaining that they are put out for a few hours, despite it passing their door on the same day every year...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,412 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I live in North Strand and was supposed to collect someone at the airport.

I headed up my usual way, which is up Collins Avenue, got blocked by Gardai at the Grace Park road Junction.

Went down Grace Park to get blocked again at the Griffith Avenue/Drumcondra road junction.

Tried to go via Coolock but got diverted up Kilmore Road from the junction of the Malahide Road.

Knew I couldn't get anywhere that way, as I had already been at the Beaumont Road Collins Avenue junction, but a Garda insisted I would be let through if I went back to the Malahide Road and went up past the roundabout. I had just been stopped going past the Kilmore Road junction. Like a fool, I followed the instructions, got blocked again. I then thought I would try the tunnel, but couldn't get to it either. Gave up.

Seems there was some sort of breakdown in communication between the guards.

Got no leaflet about anything in North Strand. I knew there were some road closures but didn't realise if you were inside the loop you were trapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Johnboy316

What did you think road closures meant?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,412 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I thought the roads that were mentioned in the road closures would be the ones closed, not others.

Silly me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

So if you were inside the race route there was no way out? Leaflets, notices, fun and smiles or not if that's true it's completely unacceptable.

A certain amount of inconvenience can be tolerated for events but not trapping people, even for a short while.

the first wave started at 830 and last 9am if I’m not mistaken. The inconvenience would have been minimal for most given how early the race started. Irish people just love a good moan.

But do continue…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I'm with the OP on this. Heard nothing about it until Friday. Was travelling into the area for matches. Most of the people at our matches hadn't heard about it either. I assume those locals planning the matches hadn't heard either or they would have rescheduled. That's a lot of people who didn't hear about it.

I heard nothing about it until Friday and on Friday trying find out how to get from A to B was very hard. There was a map of the route and a list of rolling road closures but critically no map of road closures that I could find. The closure didn't appear on Google maps in advance so no way of route planning. The closures did popup while the race was on but meant you could only plan a route after the race had started. Obvious flaw with that.

Fill the news channels with ads, and hide news behind paywalls and will just stop looking at those channels and sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

According to the roads closure list many roads were closed all morning. On my route just on the fringes it was closed from around 7:30 am until just before 11am.

But do continue....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭REDBULL68

If ya want to jog for 6 miles for a piece of metal ,that's up to you ,no way should the people organising it should compromise other people going about their daily business, I notice a lot of sports events were called off today due to players and staff not able to get there, is there something wrong about youse running in the phoenix park as before?

It was 13.1 miles and we'll all be jogging in phoenix park again in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Jizique

Why do you think this was on the northside? I was amazed when I heard the route on the radio - they would never have allowed the resident of D4 and D6 to be disrupted like this

Residents of southside severely impacted for the Dublin marathon which goes on for many more hours but I guess that doesn't fit in with your narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,457 ✭✭✭Allinall

I think you'll find the half marathon is a sporting event.

I knew the race was on but not that I was going to be penned in within the race loop. The standard and content of communications for the race were awful and a lot of people were left stranded unable to do their planned activities.

If Dublin City Council or Irish Water do work in my area I get a leaflet drop and they make it very clear the level of disruption that residents will need to plan for.

The communications by the business company running the half marathon, for profit, were not descriptive as to the extent the interuptions would affect residents. Lookback at it now they probably did that on purpose, don't tell the residents too much because they will never agree to the extent of inconvenience they will be put to, an enormous amount of people penned it

BTW, nice little moan and rant of your own in the second paragraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay