If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Absolute nobodies who run for President

• 28-03-2025 10:40AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭

Im thinking of Patrick Hillary, Mary Benotti, now Frances Fitzgerald. I havent scratched much surface admittedly but I do feel that if theyre going for President, they should have been in the spotlight a bit. Frances for example, yeah she's held high office but im pushed to name one achievement of hers.

And no I don't want Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Patrick Hillery was a TD from 1951 until 1973, when he started working in the European Commission, before running for President. What's wrong with that?

Are you just looking for a celebrity President? Maybe we should select our President using some reality television format. Is that what you're looking for?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

I’m voting for that Badly Drunk Boy fella! I like his no-nonsense posting style, his witty username & funky avatar ✅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Peter Casey

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,321 ✭✭✭prunudo

Non of those rumoured to run so far inspire me with any confidence. I know its a role with very little power and really just a person to be the pr person for Ireland, but not seeing anyone worthy of the role yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,205 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Here's your woman so!

eurovision-1992.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,152 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Hillery was a long term TD and Minister.

Banotti was a long term MEP and also FG royalty by virtue of being a grand-niece of Collins.

I really don't know what your expectation of the level of notabilyit is in these circumstances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,071 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You certainly haven't done any research into the careers of Hillery, Banotti and Fitzgerald.

You can't even spell the names of two of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭fran38

Ill name one of Frances Fitz glowing achievements. She was justice minister during the Maurice McCabe disaster. Fitz was knee deep in that ****. Yeah, ideal qualities for president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭randd1

Imagine if some lad from the local ran for the presidency for the craic? Except he was genuinely sincere about it. Some thing along the lines of;

"I know I'm not a politician and I know that with the presidency it's just mainly a ceremonial role, but that's what I'll do, I'll just do the job, no mouthing off, no sticking my oar in beyond my remit, just represent the Irish people. I have no outlandish views, I don't wish harm on anyone.

I'm an ordinary Joe Soap, I work 9 to 5 in an office, I did my summer jobs on the farm as a young lad, worked during Uni. Never been arrested, like a quiet pint now and then in the local, follow the hurling and soccer clubs because that's what the kids play. A complete nobody is who I am who tries to get on with life.

I'm no angel either, there's been times I've lost the head during matches over the years, and in my younger days there was times i was a bit wild with the drink, or had a few puffs of cannabis.

But in the main, I've got on with my life in an ordinary way, and just tried to be a decent person and a decent husband and father, do my job and do it well.

I'm an average lad, so why not have an average lad represent the Irish people? I'll just do the job, and not embarrass ye, smile and nod, be polite and respectful in the role, do my constitutional duties, and if I feel something is hurting the country speak in private to the government rather than publicly undermine the freely elected government chosen by the people, and foster good friendships on behalf of the country where I can on the international stage.

And that's it. An ordinary lad doing the job, representing the ordinary people of the country".

I'd vote for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Randycove

remember when Boaty McBoatface hit the news.

Imagine if we could get Pres McPresface to be the next president by creating a social media storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Allinall

Imagine there's no heaven

It's easy if you try

No hell below us

Above us only sky

Imagine all the people

Living for today

That's about as far as that idea will go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It doesn't matter. Our upstanding citizen Mr McGregor has already decided he's the next president. He can count on the oul lads and the female votes.

You sound like an ok sort of person but then so am I.

Why would I vote for you though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Comical. I don’t know which is more tragic in an adult. To not understand to process by which a candidate is nominated, or the function of the office of president of Ireland. Tayto is in for a bit of a land when he …. ‘runs fer prezdunt o’ de gubbermint’… 😂 Hard to tell if it’s an indictment of the education system, or the inevitable result of spending the majority of his adulthood getting professionally punched in the head. The cocainahol habit probably hasn’t helped…