Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Prime Time | Since 1992 ~ But no ongoing thread for it? Till Now!

• 06-03-2025 09:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭

image.png

This thread is to feature the ongoing shows. Surprised there wasn't one already? Is not popular enough?

Don't be afraid to create individual threads for 'Hot Topic' shows or events! eg. Leaders Debates!

If anyone has any better promotional image than above, please share in the next 24 hours while I can edit the post?

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭corkie

Thomas Byrne TD ~ Minister of State for European Affairs and Defence | Representing Meath East

Will be speaking to #rtePT tonight from Brussels on the special meeting of the European Council.

A report by Oonagh Smyth and Aaron Heffernan on Ireland's defence and security is included in the 6 March edition of Prime Time, at 9.35pm on RTÉ One television and RTÉ Player.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0306/1500624-former-defence-forces-chief-says-irish-neutrality-is-a-myth/

A former chief of staff of the Defence Forces has told Prime Time that "neutrality as a statement in a globalised world is a myth."

Retired Vice Admiral Mark Mellett also said Russia’s involvement in the 2021 cyberattack on the Health Service Executive is "undeniable."

Should be an interesting program after all?

Post edited by corkie on

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

RBB, are you serious about that being interesting?

The informative part of the program was good in fairness, and if you want to bury your head in the sand and wait till it happens until you take some sort of defensive action then you'd be more of a danger than a help to Ireland imo.

Had no warning beforehand that 'Richard Boyd Barrett' was going to be studio guest. Couldn't they have found someone else better to represent the public?

He may have some valid points but they haven't come across well when coming from his shouting over people.

I was wondering when the last poll for neutrality was?

^ From January.

I am in favour of our neutrality, but also see the need for increasing our defence budgets and web security. I'm certainly not burying my head in the sand.

I agree with you the informative part of the show was good and I found it interesting. And glad I tuned into the show for it.

• In her first television interview, Ms O'Brien speaks to Prime Time, as a fresh Garda investigation to bring the other individual to justice continues.
    • The full interview with Kelly O’Brien with reporter Barry Cummins and producer Sallyanne Godson will broadcast on the 11 March edition of Prime Time on RTÉ One and RTÉ Player.
    image.png

^^ Anthony and Nadine are buried together in the same coffin, as they died in each other's arms.

How sad and a heart wrenching show to view tonight.

Edit: - Bertie Ahern maybe on to give advice to Taoiseach Micheál Martin!

Taoiseach Micheál Martin should ignore any untruths told by US president Donald Trump at their meeting tomorrow, advises former taoiseach Bertie Ahern. ~ Link

RTE yet to share on socials what other guests will be in studio! Or if additional topics! Edit latter if required!

Lets hope they have better than 'Richard Boyd Barrett' tonight!

Post edited by corkie on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭con747

Plenty of threads on it here. An example.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I always thought I just couldn't find the thread because of the messed up search function here.

@con747 Thanks for the 'After Hours' Thread. Only 3 post in January, before that March '24!

@thesandeman Tried various methods looking, both on site search and external!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭con747

Just google "RTE Primetime Boards.ie" and there's threads but none ever gained much traction. Maybe this one will.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

@con747 Thanks, found various topic of the time in various forums. But no dedicated thread in this forum.

perplexity.ai results on it. Have tried 'RTE Prime Time site:www.boards.ie' in the past. Top two are the threads I created!

image.png

Is it because of St' Patrick's Day that RTE have a thing about the Irish Language at present?

Revival at risk? Irish speakers say policies must be stepped up

Reporter Jack McCarron and producer Lucinda Glynn's report on the Irish language broadcasts on Prime Time on RTÉ One and on RTÉ Player on 13 March at 9.35pm.

Upfront on Monday and now tonight with this?

Will edit this post, if I get any more details and info on the shows guests!

Nothing on the website/socials about tonight's show. Only now been shared!

Up next on #rtept, winners and losers –the science of gambling addiction and the legislation designed to protect punters work?
    The Israeli phone-cracking tech used by police, and the journalist whose phone was tapped by the PSNI.
    And more on that Trump/Putin phone-call.

The website/social teams must still be on a long weekend!

Trumpugees: Meet the US citizens in the surge for Irish passports

Some observers are associating the surge with citizens fleeing political division and concerns about the new Trump presidency, but specific reasons are impossible to be definitive about.

With Ireland’s housing market already under significant strain, Ms Quinn says that the growing interest from US buyers could have an impact, noting that many are cash buyers — adding further pressure to the market.

~ Source: - www.rte.ie/news/primetime

• A report from Conor McMorrow and Lucinda Glynn on the US citizens in the surge for Irish passports is broadcast at 9.35pm on the 20 March edition of Prime Time on RTÉ One and the RTÉ Player

Not sure if I'm interested enough in this show to tune in, but don't think there is anything else good on, so probably will.

If I get more details of guests or other topics been discussed, I will edit this post later.

Post edited by corkie on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well they're either entitled to a passport or they're not so I'm not really seeing why PT are doing a show on it

@Seth Brundle It is not an issue of them getting passports! From the article, it seems that they are renting properties and not intending to actually move into till the summer or later. So tying up properties that will be empty until then. More are just getting passports as a safety blanket in case they want to move here in the future.

Post edited by corkie on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

OK, just the tagline you posted from RTE was "Trumpugees: Meet the US citizens in the surge for Irish passports"

RTE's choice of title for the article, not mine. Maybe I should have just posted the link and let it embed!

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0320/1503125-trumpugees-meet-the-us-citizens-in-the-surge-for-irish-passports/

I was going to edit my post and remembered my reason for not doing so, would not be searchable on boards.

Prime Time: - 'A monster': Tullamore mother on the man who groomed her family

Sarah McInerney's full interview with Georgina Touhey, produced by Tara Peterman, will broadcast on the 25 March edition of Prime Time on RTÉ One and RTÉ Player.

At least it is not all on the Dail speaking time that VM is dedicating a show to tonight.

But I got scared earlier with this article on the website:-

Note:- 1883 on RTE 2 at 21:30

Trócaire calls on govt to set timeline on meeting aid target

• The appeal for action from the likes of Trócaire comes as global humanitarian needs hit record highs last year according to the DFA.
      "Since 2019, humanitarian needs have nearly tripled, from 131 million people in need in 2019 to 363 million in 2024. The deteriorating situation is as a result of numerous factors, including an increase in conflict and the impact of climate change," a statement from the DFA said.

Watch Oonagh Smyth and Sallyanne Godson’s report on cuts to aid globally on the 27 March edition of Prime Time on RTÉ One and the RTÉ player at 9.35pm.

Hoping the posters that have problems with NGO's don't have a field day with this?

Irish surgeon's footage shows impact of Israeli hospital strike

• A full report from Dr McMonagle's most recent trip to Gaza is broadcast on the 1 April edition of Prime Time on RTÉ One and the RTÉ Player at 9.35pm.

Probably more about the Ceann Comhairle, Verona Murphy that is about to be voted on soon!

Special Prime time tonight on Trump's Tariffs!

Tomorrow night, Prime Time will have a special report on car theft, joyriding and the teenagers behind a spate of robberies across Leinster. ~ 'Xitter link with video clip' ~ shown on RTE today.

Simon Harris will be on Prime Time tonight, just announced before news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Very weird episode tonight. The two items and the way they changed subject seemed very amateurish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Get Real

Tonight's episode on youth crime/joyriding.

"Prime Time understands there are two suspects and both are known car thieves. One of them has already amassed more than 40 convictions in his young life."

"It’s shocking, you know? Like to think that someone can have that many convictions, take a life and still be getting arrested. That's once a month since it happened. It's just a very difficult thing to hear," Conor said."

"Internal garda figures seen by Prime Time show that 11 particularly active members of the gang have been charged a combined 427 times - an average of 39 times each."

Why isn't the Minister being grilled on this and it in the front page of every newspaper?

A man's life has been lost and it's by a youth who already had 40+ convictions.

The guards have arrested and charged and prosecuted these types we see in videos causing crime. But we've nowhere to put them. They're released.

Every so often we see a viral video on twitter, or Reddit etc of young lads carrying out vandalism. Or the viral one recently of a young lad threating to use a weapon on Dublin Bus.

Yet there's not half as much uproar about this. If young lads aren't getting locked away for stealing cars and knocking people down dead, they're not going to get locked up for throwing stones at cars, smashing windows of shops or stealing bikes.

Absolutely scandalous imo and we need more juvenile detention spaces. Pump money into providing education, trades, mental health in those detention facilities. Tax me more for it please. Give them a better foundation.

But do not have the current situation of juveniles amassing convictions, not being detained anywhere with a structure and therefore being free to go on and cause more chaos on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,093 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Spending €600k plus a year per prisoner in Oberstown is a bloody disgrace, who is signing this crazy stuff off? Then letting those on bail with multiple car theft concictions roam the streets where they should be electronically tagged at a cost of circa €10k a year is pennies to keep track of them 24/7. I guess nothing will change until a 'higher ups' loved one becomes a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,499 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Offenses committed by repeat offenders after being released should be leveled against those who decided it was ok for the repeat offenders to be running free.

Only now been shared:-

On #rtept next, as Europe plans to hit back against Trump’s tariffs, what now for Ireland?

Public Expenditure Minister Jack Chambers TD
    joins us.

We speak to child sex abuse survivor Sophie Brady.

And parents group reacts to use of unapproved springs in children’s operations.

Washing Machine Tariffs!?

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0408/1506546-what-can-washing-machines-tell-us-about-trumps-view-of-tariffs/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm sorry to be crass; but this person is a stupid ****

"are you talking to me?"

What did I miss, got an important phone call that I had to take! So I missed everything up to around now.

Tonight on Prime Time: A special report from Kerry on the disappearance of Kenmare farmer Mike Gaine — and the search that’s gripped the community. Watch at 9.35pm on RTÉ One.

https://www.radiokerry.ie/news/family-of-michael-gaine-appeal-for-privacy-429409

I wonder with the request for privacy, will any of the family be on the show tonight?

Wondering will the below also feature tonight or in another program?

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0410/1506976-north-korea-targets-irish-tech-sector-with-undercover-workers/

• Speaking to Prime Time, Google’s Threat Intelligence Group’s (GTIG) Chief Analyst, John Hultquist, said Ireland’s tech sector has become a "large target for these actors."

Edit:- The above has been confirmed to feature, on the advert during news. More on Trump Tariffs as well.

Post edited by corkie on

'Grace' case report: Many children arguably still falling through cracks

Prime time tonight as reported before the news.

I will edit this post if I get more details on the guests etc!