Advertisement
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/.
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.
https://www.boards.ie/group/1878-subscribers-forum

Private Group for paid up members of Boards.ie. Join the club.

Edge case, new football rules

  • 02-03-2025 03:50PM
    #1
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭


    With new rules if keeper touches the ball before it goes over bar then a 2pt effort only counts as 1pt. But, as happened with Derry today, if the hooter has gone just after a free outside the arc has been awarded but before it's taken then the free is allowed to be taken. Now the only action that can happen is the player takes the free. If as should be the case he is told he must score direct then what is the score if the free goes over but keeper gets a touch. One or two pts.?



Comments

  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy


    Have you not answere your own question in the first line or am i missing something?>



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,722 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious


    Yes you might be missing something.

    The poster says that the ref tells the player that he must score direct, as the hooter has already gone.

    But he doesn't score direct, the keeper helps it over the bar.

    In that case maybe it should be no point.

    The kicker didn't score direct.

    The keeper was the last one to touch the ball, not the kicker and with the hooter gone the half was already over.



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,459 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005


    The first thing to establish from the rules is whether any action can continue after the hooter. That would have to be written down somewhere for the referee to allow further play.



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Rega


    A stupid question I know but what happens if you take a shot from outside the 2 point arc but it bounces over the bar without anyone touching it? 1 or 2 points?



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭mayoman1973


    Previously if a player was told they had to score direct play was still in progress so other players actions could impact how this final play played out. But now with hooter gone the only player who is allowed to do anything is the kicker... Or is he ? All Ireland final day, hooter gone, kickers team 2pts down, kicker puts it over but keeper gets touch. Draw or loss? Things might not be as clear then as you would hope they are.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,459 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005


    What score is awarded in the first minute, if a shot from outside the arc is touched over the bar by the keeper? Whatever applies in the first minute should be the same in any other period of play.



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭TsuDhoNimh


    Untitled.jpg

    https://learning.gaa.ie/FRCFAQ - Under "13. Stop Clock".



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves


    If the player has to score direct, if anyone touches the ball or if it touches the ground then play ends when that incident happens, what happens afterwards is immaterial as play has ended. That is my understanding of the rule

    Slava Ukrainii



  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser


    So what happens if it is a penalty, after the hooter. By your interpretation, if the keeper gets his fingertips to it but it still goes in the back of the net, the goal doesn't count?

    Edit: I see that has been covered above. My apologies.



  • Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭ [Deleted User]


    If the ball bounces over the bar with no touch its 2points.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭TsuDhoNimh


    The FAQ clarifies the "directly" with an "i.e.", which doesn't specify a bounce.

    It's only other player actions, teammates or opposition, that would rule it out (with penalties having an exception to count if it's only the keeper that touches it). If it somehow manages to hop in for a score (highly unlikely, but always possible) that would count according to the wording of the guidance.



Advertisement