Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many here use Whatsapp voice notes?

• 28-12-2024 06:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭

I've noticed a slow increase in a couple of my friends starting to use them and it wrecks my head. Just text or call FFS. Last week I brought some things back from Spain for a friend of friend who i barely know and she sent me a 15minute voice note thanking me. I hope this doesn't catch on too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Simi

Hate it. I tolerate them from one friend, because they drive for a living. Not a fan of phone calls either. Just text!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭garlic bread

Have family members that do that on group WhatsApp and I tell them that i refuse to listen. Drives me bonkers... I can't imagine why anyone would use voice note as you don't know who will end up listening to your long winded ramblings . Heard a discussion on radio recently about this very issue and the general consensus was that only narcissists use voice notes regularly (I know there may he times that they're needed).

So, I agree with you .. ... I also hope this doesn't catch on and become common place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

Try listening to them at a faster speed, it might make them more tolerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Welcome to last year OP!

Personally, I never use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’ve noticed an increase in the amount of people using voice notes too (both sending and receiving). They’re like voicemails, I don’t leave voicemails and I have voicemail disabled, because it’s weird. I guess maybe it’s something to do with the increase in popularity of podcasts and audiobooks, but a 15 minute thank you note? I don’t doubt it, it’s just not necessary 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

I use them if I'm too lazy to text or there's a long story you'd be typing for ages.

But no more than 2/3 mins max and that's for a bit of scandal

They're on Facebook Messenger too.

I guess, as mentioned, they're handy for people who are on the road a lot. Or who have a long message to give and aren't into keying in the words. But then just phone? I also don't understand phoning when you can just text, but sometimes you do have to ring. Or maybe they're good for leaving a message late at night, e.g. with someone in a different time zone. I don't use them, but I suppose since they're there, some people will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

I hate them. Just call me. It's easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ballyargus

use voice to text if you're too lazy to type. Voice notes are obnoxious. I just won't listen to them. For 2025 my policy will be to immediately delete on receipt for both parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,771 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They drive me crazy.

I'm texting you, I don't want a shop or everybody in the living room listen to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,852 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

either txt or call. Don’t use them. Funny an ex used to use them 90% of the time and wouldn’t be enamoured with me when I replied with a txt or call… especially a txt….

Don’t want to have my messages broadcast for others or have to go find a quiet corner of a shopping centre / shop to hear you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,031 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I never send them but one or 2 friends send them to me, I like them because the 2 friends are very funny and I find it better getting their message that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Hate the fecking things. They're on Instagram and some dating apps now as well. I prefer to text as I don't like my bogger accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭chosen1

Had a couple of people who stated sending long winded ones a while back to me, but they soon gave up when I'd just give a thumbs up emoji back every time they'd send it.

Text or phone calls only for me please, unless they are literally 2 seconds long in a situation where they can't type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭dennyk

I find it amusing that we've come full circle right back to communicating via rambling long-winded answering machine messages like it's the 1980s again. Hell, at this rate the Alpha kids will all be using their smartphones to make phone calls, or maybe even calling over to each other's houses to visit in person like their great-grandparents did in ancient times… 😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,148 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

The middle East operates on WhatsApp and they love a voice note. It's so annoying because I have to use it so much for work and then I can't search a key word to find what I need.

I have started telling people to email me. I'm not listening and don't WhatsApp me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭fire_man

Never use voice notes and always respond with a text.Some of family use them and you hear some amount of nonsence over and back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Voice notes you say?

I usually send a message to the BBS server and await their reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,908 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Are people still using WhatsApp?

Do people not care about how companies like Meta harvest their activity for advertising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

No. We are using burner Nokia 3210 phones, no LinkedIn, no social media, fingerprints removed and hiding in our attics.

What a time to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,852 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

over 2 billion people worldwide, apparently.

Facebook and Instagram are also Meta. Few more billion there too.

WhatsApp voice notes are incredibly inconvenient if you are in receipt of them whilst in a public place.

Difficult to hear and who wants their conversations broadcast to the general public. Literally never send them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭JayRoc

How do people not know to just put the phone to your ear when the message plays? This nonsense about "the world will hear your voice message", just put the phone to your ear!

Re voice notes, I use them all the time. I haven't the patience to spend my life texting people who are too "quirky" to answer a phone call.

Post edited by JayRoc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭lucalux

Yeah I don't see the issue with voice notes for people saying 'just call me', surely if you can have a private convo on the phone without the world hearing it, you can listen to a voice note with the phone at your ear no?

or headphones?

I found them really convenient for longer form conversations where people are busy, or in different time zones.

A step up from texts in terms of context, but not tying your attention to a long catch-up chat on the phone, it can be left for a hour and picked back up

Doesn't suit everyone for sure, but if you don't like them and say that to people/don't engage with them - I don't get the hate for them generally.. it's like older people giving out about emojis a few years back - no need to use them if you don't like them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,393 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I hope you sent them a voice note saying "Welcome to Dumpsville. Population… You."

Try listening to them at a faster speed, it might make them more tolerable.

About 10x should do it

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭HopsAndJumps

216 million Brazilians use them, I refuse to listen to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,181 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I hate it, never use it, and don't listen if someone sends me one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,502 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

They're dead handy. Don't mind receiving them, don't mind sending them. Didn't realise people get upset by them, @Mars Bar being the only one with a valid reason: key words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

A work colleague started sending me voice notes a few months back. I don't respond to any message that is not in text format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭eggy81

Yeah kind of got used to them lately mainly because of working with a fees lads younger than me. It’s all they use. Find them harmless enough. Handy even when there a bit of convo flying back and forth. I’d always send a one off message by text

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

incredibly handy things that I hated like everyone else but over the years her family have ground me down. It takes a while getting used to them but they are extremely convenient.

Put on double speed and put phone to ear if in public place the audio will output like a phone call in your ear.

They are also extremely handy if you’re chatting to a mate but can’t commit to a phone call and need to be multitasking so your head isn’t stuck in your phone.

You can get a lot of information across in quick succession. I’m mindful of long pauses and keep to the point when sending them. I don’t send to everyone but me and a mate send them back and forth all the time and it’s extremely handy way of communication.

Embrace it because itll become more popular. Also you can relay emotions better than over a wall of text. Good for the banter.
    I should have made this post a voice message :D

I promise most people in this chat will be sending them far more frequently in years to come.
    I’ll be back to tell you’s I was right.