Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s the reason you’re awake?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,214 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Working. Always nights so well used by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,323 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Awake because of a severe case of thirst due to a salty Chinese takeaway from this evening. And now I can't get back to sleep 😫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭karl tyrrell

Rain and flooding here in Wexford worst in 20 years septic tank is doing overtime never seen anything like it if it freezes down here then snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,870 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Just restless. Tried sleeping not happening.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seanrambo87

I'm lying here in bed with my youngest of 3 girls. She just turned 3 a week before santy came. I love nothing more than snuggling with her. What's keeping me awake is the news that Biden has pledged 8 billion in support of the state of Israel. I can't imagine how rational thinking people can support the slaughter of mostly innocent people. I work in construction and I've come across people who are ardent supporters of this genocide. In my opinion it is because they are anti-muslim, I don't care what religion anybody is. There is wrong and there is right. This thing is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,870 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I agree totally. When I heard that number at first I thought it was going to be for Ukraine but then I heard Isreal and I was disgusted. It us so wrong and so so sad what Isreal has done to Gaza.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,883 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

my tablets seemed to have stopped working .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭watchclocker

I forsee a late night for me

Can't lie down because the wheeze on my chest sounds like a dodgy hoover and has me coughing instantly

Back to work tomorrow, nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

sorry to hear that. Have you nothing you can take to relieve it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,873 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

not sleepy, but nothing on tv, probably too late for a movie. Yeah defo is.

Just enjoying Spotify, and perusing boards and making preliminary plans for a holiday….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭watchclocker

Thank you

nothing seems to be making a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭Guffy

NFL.… it's always NFL 😭

I took my tablets at 10pm . Pieces of sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

your wan next door putting on the air to water heater at 4

Noise would wake the dead

because I went to bed and couldn’t sleep . 😡😡

👏👏😊

👏👏😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Deregos.

My poor misses often has to wake me up with an occasional but gentle nudge. Reason being, is because I'm unconsciously waking her throughout with either my restless legs lashing out, or if I happen to roll onto my back with loud snoring. So neither of us are sleeping particularly well these nights unfortunately.

I might just kip on the couch tonight and let her get a decent nights sleep.

ye need separate beds

If possible

My ex partner couldn’t hack my snoring etc,

Couldn’t blame her,

I was overweight and it didn’t help,

Back seriously in the gym last few years,

Down 3/4 stone- snoring and choking in my sleep Goni hope ye get sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭_Quilombero_

had an ill advised but unplanned power nap about 8pm now cant sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,701 ✭✭✭appledrop

The 2 year old awake again, will he ever be a good sleeper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

A car alarm has been going off for 2.5 hours solid now on the row of houses behind mine. It is a particularly sharp and piercing noise that is making me feel physically sick. Just when I start to slightly tune out the deafening whine and close my eyes after maybe 20 mins, the owner starts again trying to turn it off, causing the noise to change and become staccato, which makes me aware of it all over again. I wish I had ear defenders. This is the worst noise disturbance I've ever experienced, including the attached house's alarm sounding for 48h while the occupants were away. I feel like I'm going mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,873 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Just finished watching a film…looked out my window just for a look see and saw not far outside on the ground, a lit torch. Checked with my binoculars and it definitely is. Thought maybe someone had lost a light off a bike but it’s way too big it’s about 8 inches long like one of those maglites. I’m curious to know what the craic is, was someone disturbed in the act of being up to no good, at a car or property ? Bit unusual a rainy Saturday night and someone out doing DIY somewhere…. Most strange… might have investigated if it was earlier and dry out…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭spakman

Heard a bang and house alarm went off at same time.

Thought it was our house first, but it was neighbours. had a look out the windows but couldn't see anything of note.

Stopped after couple of mins, so presume it wasn't a problem.

4 hours in and still going. Up for work in an hour so zero sleep for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭larrykinney

^^^^^^^

Have you considered calling the Gardai…?

No. I think it's highly unlikely to get a response. Maybe if there's a repeat tonight?

I just don't understand why they don't just disconnect the battery. There is no way I could sleep through this. I wonder if any neighbours managed.