Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

High score challenge

• 17-11-2024 08:37PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭

Hey all , long time since I've been here but my love of retro games and cabs has been rekindled.

I remember used to be a weekly high score challenge with a game a week.

Anyone want to throw down the gauntlet.

Starting today...Sunday to Sunday .proof of high score grab posted.

Anyone is free to choose the first game for battle . Arcade games.

Bring it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Ok I'll start so .let me see...mmm one life. Highest score .

Mmm.....ehhhh.

Shinobi.

Get to work people 🤪

Shyt3 should have picked a game I'm good at, played two games there and horrific .

Ill have dinner and come back to it with gusto :)

One credit I mean btw , not one life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,957 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Haha, I'll give this a bash - used to be a bit of fun back in the day alright.

If I remember correctly, I am also shite at the arcade version of Shinobi

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,795 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Gave this a go tonight. Was getting the hang of it in the end but still could only make it to stage 3. Ken Oh is kind of trivial now but the chopper in stage 2 I need to use magic to finish it off because there's just too much bullshit on screen with the ninjas and missiles.

Final score:

Now Bedtime.

shinobi-241119-003427.png

Oops completely sidetracked with work and forgot this . I'm firing her up now and will show my embarrassing score. Never even saw stage 3 when I tried other day, and missed free life with the bonus stage ( love that stage )

Ok hold onto your pantaloons.jeeus Christ , not even got past the first level .

Screenshot_2024-11-19-19-41-43-491_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Forgot about that infuriating timing needed to jump and hot the big samurai in the noggin. Must try better , room for improvement :) but at least I tried

I remember I was good at this game. Hence I picked it. Alas the ravages of time must have taken Thier toll.

.must check the dip switches...maybe it's set to extra hard 😬

Screenshot_2024-11-19-20-02-04-850_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Getting the feel back. Progression.

Lets make this interesting . Winner after the month gets a prize . This is first week ...Sunday to Sunday ..

Winner after each week's gets to chose the game for next week .

Let me check my cave ,I'll give prize...gunbird jamma PCB or taito football champ PCB I'm thinking of the top of my head .

In case of a draw after the month it will be a showdown and I pick game to play ( unless I'm in it which would be highly unlikely )

Bit of craic:) gentlemen , start your engines

Yeah ,taito football champ PCB is the spoils .

Good game actually , the sound effects and music are the business

IMG_20241119_201347.jpg IMG_20241119_201347.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,795 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Ken Oh always gave me trouble but I'm finding him trivial now after last night.

As for the bonus stage, I beat it for the first time ever last night and could t repeat it. It's near impossible.

Master of the Universe

Bit of a quick bash this evening 70,840.

Got taken down by those scuba guys on stage 2-3

Forgot how fun it is, lovely flow to the action. Will come back tomorrow evening and see if I can do better.

PXL_20241119_212033666.jpg

I got killed by the lads in level one, twice .they look like Spiderman 😂

They don't even do anything FFS. I'll try again tomorrow and get back to my rhythm like back in days of yore, I'm sure .

What snk cabbie that by the way

Master of the Universe

Those Spiderman lads are feckers!

Learn where they are (I think there are only 3 of them), jump forward off the boxes just before they're on screen while firing and then when the screen scrolls forward your shots in the air take them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭geotrig

Im **** at this every game really, forgot about those spiderman guys as well .. My biggest challenge will just be getting a game in, within the week. But my back and leg are finally goodish so may just be able to manage a game or two hopefully

Yeah I was doing that..the 3rd one for angry and landed 😂

Try play with out your leg, I've never tried btr I'm imagine holding a joystick between your toes could be difficult . Anyway good man , get involved, a bit of healthy competition snd praise /slagging is always a good thing

I shouldn't help you guys but I'm just too nice

The first spiderman guy on stage 1 can be taken out with a shuriken at the top of your jump. The second guy you just walk up to and walk away when you bait him to jump down. You can do that with the third one but it's easier to get him jumping off the top of the crates just before him

The scuba guys can be rng but tend to get you if you are too close. I tend to just duck and hammer attack, even if you are too close trying to correct yourself just gets you stabbed in the back. Also there's places we're two jump out so don't trust they are gone until the shadow in the water is gone.

played 3 credits as a reintroduction last night and just couldn't get my timing right on ken oh ho🤨will try and get a proper crack at it tonight and post a score to prop the table up !

Master of the Universe

Its a bloody annoying timing. I tend to cheap out, go right up beside him at the start and unleash my special attack to get his health down.

i forgot about the special magic attack move o\

IMG_20241121_203700.jpg

86500, improving and first time I've even seen the 3rd level or the second bonus stage .

Christ if ya managed to beat the bonus stages you'd be onto a winner with extra lives.

It's seems to be always the 3rd last or second last ninja that springs from nowhere and gets me

Im trying not use magic for the fecker as you seem to get a bonus id ya finish level not using it .

I got the timing right on my last 2 games to hit him in the noggin , and ya can finish him quicky

Also I forgot what really annoys me in this game . When you get a power up ,your shuriuiken turn into some sort of mini missile launcher!!!

That's what it is or am I insane?

A ninja with a missile launcher just isn't right :)

Videogames in it? I think you get it when you rescue half the hostages in a stage.

I'm actually finding ken ho easy enough as I've the jump attack down pretty well. Don't need magic. There's a few dodgy places in stage 3 where you need to jump and make precise attacks against crouching enemies which is a right pain.

Ill give it another few bashes after work ..starting to get the hang of it .I'm going for your score retro. Few beers on a Friday after work any ya never know , I could sail trough those bonus round 👊

Master of the Universe

I'll have another crack at it this evening after work too, let the games begin 😁

Master of the Universe

Ah lads, thought I was on to a winner. Bonus stage complete, extra life.

Got to the suba guys with two lives left and they got me again haha really zero space to move when you land those jumps.

Still a little better than my last one, 75,480

PXL_20241123_125050500.jpg

Edit, 78,460. I could get another 5,000 if I stopped cheesing Ken with the special attack haha

PXL_20241123_130359385.jpg

Further edit - totally have Ken down now, easy peasy.

Scuba divers beat too, as Retro said you just jump, duck and hammer on.

PXL_20241123_134109448.jpg
    Post edited by o1s1n on

Dont even move on the pillar. They will get you sometimes if you are too close but if you try to correct yourself they always get you in the back