Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange conditions on your liscenses

• 25-10-2024 12:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,222 ✭✭✭✭

This week, I got a renewal on my restricted shotgun[Mossberg 500] and, with it, a chat in my local Div HQ with the district chief, whom I have known for a long time and who is generally a good guy to deal with.

After asking an odd question, twice,if I use this gun to hunt on anyone else's land to which I replied no, as it would be construed as armed trespass,I have my own land to hunt on anyway and it's restricted here in Ireland as a restricted shotgun to Target shotgun shooting on ranges, and that if I use it for hunting its for Wboar in Germany. Grand says he. So no trouble with a restriction note to those conditions then of competitions and hunting on your own land,and keeping up the alarm to code? Fine says I, we shake on it and go on our ways.

The next day the grant arrives with the agreed conditions. It's suddenly grown some more undiscussed and not agreed on conditions such as separating the "firing mechanism" and keeping that in a separate "safe" as well as now storing the ammo in a separate "safe" [Contrary to the act which states a "lockable container" away from the firearm.] As well as the agreed conditions.Slight problem with putting ammo in a "safe" is if there is a fire and the ammo cooks off ,if there is enough of it,it has no way of venting out of the safe and will become a literal bomb!

So back it goes to the Cheifs office,stating [1] my ammo is stored in an ex-USN locked footlocker made of 3mm steel,as it always has been and which your CPO was very happy with last visit [2] Buying another "safe" to store trigger mechanism[s] is vexatious and as I have already got the highest category of security conditions under Irish law for secure storage and I'm not paying out another 200 euros for another safe specifically to store a trigger mechanism.

To be continued….

So bottom line. Has anyone else out there had any weird extra conditions added to their renewals recently?Or what is the oddest/weird condition you have had added to your license on use or storage?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭SVI40

Not me, but a fellow shooter can only assemble his restricted handgun on the range. Other than that it is to be disassembled at all times.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

A buddy of mine was granted a silencer with his rifle licence.
    The condition added was that the silencer could only be used on land that he had permission to hunt on…

So presumably when he is off poaching(armed trespass, etc) then he can't have the silencer on as that would breach the conditions on his firearms cert 🤣

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

I know that this is hard to believe, but I actually saw a pistol license with the following condition “Not to be discharged within the state”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

people getting licences with conditions attached that if hunting at night they must inform the Garda station of timings, the land and owners details they intend to hunt ect ''for their safty and the publics''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭kunekunesika

Got that last week on my centre fire? Local station are going to get fairly tired of those calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Just out of curiosity, were the conditions included on the back of the grant letter? I've got my own conditions for my 2 most recent firearms, but the back listing the advised conditions was left blank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,222 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭freddieot

I thought any binding conditions must be on the actual cert itself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

No. If I remember correctly, it says something like "subject to and of the following listed conditions or conditions advised" on the grant letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭freddieot

True enough but I meant in the actual legislation itself though. It's the cert I have now, not the grant letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭kunekunesika

Havent got license yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭bmmb88

One of my licences stated that if I left the counrty for a period of time my firearm had to be handed into an RFD. No time scale specified. Hasnt arisen on the cert again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I have assume the intent there was to limit its use to hunting only. ie so it couldn't be used at the range - rather than not for poaching.

What kind of pistol? Silly if for a .22lr pistol for target shooting obviously.
    But I've seen similar restrictions on pistols/firearms that are licensed as part of a collection. Although not sure if that's possible in Ireland.

if I use this gun to hunt on anyone else's land to which I replied no, as it would be construed as armed trespass,I have my own land to hunt on anyway and it's restricted here in Ireland as a restricted shotgun to Target shotgun shooting on ranges, and that if I use it for hunting its for Wboar in Germany.

Why would somebody else's land be an issue? Assuming you had permission from the landowner, obviously.

I don't think so since the same FO has sent out licences conditioned for hunting only in the past.

My assumption is that there was little thought put into the condition.

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Very possible, it was a strange way to word it. But was pointing out more to highlight the actual consequence of the condition. Even if unintentional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Why would they need it assembled outside the range restricted or not ? Assuming this is here in Ireland you are talking about. If I opened my pistol case at the range with an assembled handgun I'd be shown the door. I mean outside the firing line where you can assemble and have an RO come and clear you before going on the line. The Gardai would take a dim view if they did a spot check and found an assembled pistol in your safe surely ? Bolts and slides stored separately is the norm.

I'd imagine it's less the norm than you are suggesting .

Post edited by Mellor on

In some cases taking apart some firearms is not advisable,esp target pistols and those with small fiddley bits that can get lost easily or are not designed to be stripped on a regular basis.IE Browning buckmark.It's a recommendation not legislation to remove the omponent parts,and if you have the highest possible security on your premises.It would be saying that even then your Super or CS is not happy and is now demanding onerous and vexatious on top of the highest security level under legislation. A monitored alarm is approximately 600 euros PA.Ive just had mine upgraded and it now has a camera covering the gun safe in the upgrade. I should go another 250 euros and buy another safe for a single trigger mechanism….Dont think so!

I have absolutely no idea as to how or why this would be even asked of me. If I wanted to shoot on someone elses land I'd obviously ask permission to do so.I suspect this is some new "policy" to try and make restricted firearms ultra limited in their usage ?

Legally(bar some strange conditions on individual licences) there is no requirement for it.

In fact I don't know anyone who goes to the range with disassembled firearms(bar some who keep their bolts out of their rifles).

Reasons to have an assembled pistol at home(off the top of my head at 2.30am so probably missing some):

No reason not to(so why do it if there is no reason/benefit),

As grizzly said not all are designed to be constantly disassembled or kept so,

Function testing post cleaning(snap caps recommended),

Practice(unloaded practice obviously, practicing trigger press and the like).

At my range it is the norm to go to the firing line with a cased pistol, take it out, get it cleared then begin shooting if the line is hot.

Never seen anyone assembling a pistol on the line, or disassembling it for transport.

Definitely saw ones disassembled for malfunctions, but that's a different kettle of fish.

And from AGS perspective I can tell you that the last several times my CPO was out inspecting my storage there were assembled pistols there and bar him being quite interested in them(doesn't get to see them often) not an eyelid was batted.

Barring a frankly quite pointless licence condition I cannot see why anyone would want to have their firearms(pistols included) disassembled vs assembled.

Post edited by otmmyboy2 on

I remeber some on here insisting that the reasons you gave when you applied for a licence, was a usage that you are limited to. Eg, if you applied for a target rifle, you could only use it on the range, even with hunting permission, licenses, etc. That would have obvious applied in tighter circumstances for restricted.

I always disputed that, as the law doesn't include for any such restriction. Other disagreed. But it seems that the powers that be including more and more conditions backs the idea that you are/were free to use any legally held firearm, in any legal way, unless conditioned otherswise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,713 ✭✭✭✭Victor

"The next day the grant arrives with the agreed conditions. It's suddenly grown some more undiscussed and not agreed on conditions such as separating the "firing mechanism" and keeping that in a separate "safe" as well as now storing the ammo in a separate "safe" [Contrary to the act which states a "lockable container" away from the firearm.] As well as the agreed conditions.Slight problem with putting ammo in a "safe" is if there is a fire and the ammo cooks off ,if there is enough of it,it has no way of venting out of the safe and will become a literal bomb!"

Irish Rail and other railways use compression detonators as warning devices when there are workers or other unusual situations on the railway, e.g. a broken down train.

A few years back, there was a new model of detonator (supplier bought out a different supplier, but supplied the detonator under the same brand and model number) that had a slightly different size. All was good until someone carelessly threw the the bag containing them into a train cab and 9 of the 10 detonated at the same time. Afterwards, it was noticed that the container that train staff were given was rigid, when detonators are meant to be packed loose. In effect, they had issued hundreds of staff with pipe bombs and nobody noticed.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

A full bore pistol, I can't remember the calibre but I was shown the license at an IPSC match in Wexford back in the day. The owner applied for a license for target shooting.

That's pretty much what IPSC is/was. Target shooting. So he was correctly liscensed.

Yes, and I should point out that this was before IPSC was banned in the ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

My bad lads. By disassembled I just meant slides off and bolts out. To have to go much further than that is a bit much alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭SVI40

Heard of dry firing? Many of the top shooters do it. It's great practice for when you cannot get to the range.

My clubs allow you arrive with your firearms assembled ready to be cleared on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

How do I deal with poacher on my land … taking down a "trophy" stag ?

Regardless of the loss of a life… what can I do about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BSA International

I left one range and refuse to go to another due to anal crap like that.