Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impact Wrench Recommendations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

U have the dewalt about 7 years and it's never let me down but I already had the batteries

The milwaukee comes with batteries the dewalf doesn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭farmer2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Milwaukee for commercial work after that Dewalt, Lidl or Aldi.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

If you have dewalt batteries then I'd go with the dewalt impact gun. I've the dewalt and milwaukee but to be honest I don't really see any major difference between them as they both do the job perfectly well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭148multi

Would think that you'll get the bare unit for 300, and the full kit for 450 on dd,maybe less if ur willing to Google a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

I don't know about the advertised specs of these impact wrenches or if I bought it initially for the wrong application. I got the DeWalt for undoing the nuts holding on a tow hitch that I was afraid I'd snap a breaker bar on. It failed miserably and in the end I got the nuts loose with a torque multiplier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I have the half inch Milwaukee (not the 3/4 in your link). Its grand and has the power to shift most things. It's good to have.

Also have the lidl one for lighter stuff. No clue about the DeWalt stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Mr..

From looking at the youtubers i follow the majority have Milwaukee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I’ve noticed the likes of ifarm alright seem to be getting more Milwaukee stuff and moving away from dewalt.
    i bought the 1/2 inch dewalt last year and it’s definitely a great tool to have although I haven’t tested it with very hard work yet. I bought dewalt as I had a few tools already and wanted to keep all the same for thr batteries. Check out ept.ie, they had that the best deal at the time I bought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Is it any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭emaherx

You'd be better off buying a breaker bar than a lidl impact gun or at least as well as. Only useful for spinning off already loosened nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

I have the DeWalt one and my BIL bought one also after taking mine for a few days while he was hedge-cutting. He said it was the best money he spent as he can change out flails in a few minutes.

Mine hasn't much done really but wouldn't be without it.

Looks like the DeWalt has better output than the Milwaukee

Whatever you get make sure it has a storage box. It is the one sure way to increase their lifespan, especially in the workshop I find

It can be got in various formats. I bought it with just the box as I had plenty batteries. Think it was around €250 plus shipping from Gotools.de. I was getting other stuff from them also so the shipping was was around €20 altogether.

This is decent enough value for the same one with T-Stak box and 2 x 5aH batteries

DeWALT DCF900P2T-QW Cordless Impact Wrench XR 1/2" (1355Nm/18V/2x5.0Ah) Tstak (baumarkteu.de)

Shipping of around €15 from them I think

Thanks, I have a few batteries already so should be fine buying bare unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I’ve that Milwaukee 3/4 wrench. Fine job and you can lock in with the app so if someone steals it it can’t be used and hopefully tracked if it comes into contact with someone with the app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭DBK1

Depends on what you’re doing. Anything up to m12 or m14 (19-22mm socket) they’re perfect. It’s strong enough to shear off an M10 bolt if you let it. Have one in the mower tractor here for changing the blades and it’s perfect for that job and if it does happen to get left behind in a swarth of grass sometime it’s not dear to replace. If the Milwaukee gets left behind it’d be a different story!

But yea, if it’s for a workshop tool definitely better off paying more for the brand names and minding it.

Are on some things. I usually get batteries from them when they discount. Sometimes the prices show up without the VAT applied but they definitely beat most of the Irish suppliers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Ive the half inch milwaukee and id recommend it . 1900nm of torque same as inch air gun..

It is a weapon. The best ive seen it do is open the back wheel nuts of a landini legend with a 32mm socket and should have been a 30mm socket and down to the last bar of the battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I have one of them I have breaker bar as well. It takes some slavery out of taking on or off a tyre. Recently use it to change a trailer tyre on the cattle box and it was full. It gave some security's with how fast you can take off the last nut and put on the first one.

It's always thrown in the jeep if it's robbed it only costs 60 euro to replace. Those Lidl tools are all fairly reasonable big difference between a 60 euro purchase and a 300 euro option. Used this today to do a bit of patching with grass seed.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I also have the Parkside impact as well it's never failed me so far and I had it on the bed of the mower this summer with the nuts welded onto the turtles and it saved some amount of hardship with a bar and ratchet. Like Bass says for 60/70 euro it's a no brainier especially if you have a battery already.

On the batteries I always use either the 4ah or 8ah battery never the 2ah it's just not up to anything other than Mickey mouse stuff

I did not know you can get 8ah batteries now for Parkside tools. I must pick up a couple. I have a pair of the 2&4 ah. The 2ah I orginally got one with a small battery drill ( it's 5+years old now) and bought the second one. They are handy with the glue gun as well.

As I said before I have the mini &9" grinders, glue gun, small drill, and power washer total cost of all Inc batteries was less than 300 euro. There's weeks I would use none of them. Hard to justify a couple K on tools you use once a month a cannot understand the snobbery about them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Gillespy

There's snobbery with all makes of tools. Fact is they are disposable DIY tools. But if you watch Dean Doherty on youtube you'll know what he thinks of the famous red brand. Disposable expensive rubbish. Now he does admit they make the most powerful impacts and recommends them for people needing the power. Just be sure to get the three year extended warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Kral101

There is no tool snobbery here, I have tried the Lidl/ Aldi tools, my brothers seem to be addicted to buying them and in my experience they are useless, I'd rather pull out the generator with a cheap corded tool than use a Lidl or Aldi battery tool. Earlier this year I was changing chains on the muck spreader and had to cut off a few bolts and my brother gave me his battery grinder to try, it stopped 3-4 times cutting some M12 bolts off and had to be turned off/back on to restart, in comparison my DeWalt zipped through them. The DeWalt is the most basic model and may cost twice as much as the Parkside but is far more useful. There is enough work here for some semi decent tools.

That was tge mini angle grinder. It's not great. The only one Parkside battery tool I have am issue with. The 9" one is the B's knees. It's cut away anything. We use that all the time

Slava Ukrainii

The battery must have been dead, that’s what the grinder does when it is. I’ve cut 3 sections of 60x30mm channel iron in under a dung spreader out in the field on a fully charged 4ah battery and no issue whatsoever with it.

Nope full battery, its overload protection in the grinder. Even the DeWalt can do it with real heavy work if the blade gets pinched but this one was pathetic.

I'm comparing a 4inch with a 4 inch alright but one was useless and should have been able to cut a few bolts.

I've the same experience with their drills and battery chainsaws, any I've compared with the bottom end of the premium brands have not faired out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

Lidli impact here… didn't put pressure on it yet so I can't give an honest opinion.

Parkside cordless angle grinder...Best little yoke I got in ages. I have a cord conventional one if it comes under pressure but hasn't so far.

The Lidli petrol chainsaw is a mighty saw. I have it 7 odd years and it's like the mf 135 that it never fails to start first tip.

You must have got a bad one because I’ve two of them and they’ve cut stuff that I really should be using a 9 inch corded grinder for and they never failed. As kk man just said they’re the best little yokes to ever come around here.

I have 2 of them because about 3 years ago I spent 3 days cutting plaster off walls with a stone disc on the first one and I was sure that would kill it between dust and hard cutting but no, 3 years later and still going strong. The week before I faced into that job they were in Lidl so I bought the second one to have it but there was no need to.

Must have, I must be very unlucky that every single one of their tools I've tried has been pure **** in comparison to the bottom end of any of the premium brands.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

what happens if a Lidl or Aldi tool gives up under warranty and there is no tools in stock at the time. Do they just give you your money back?

Perhaps but it's not that they have broken, they just don't perform well. I'm not breaking the other brands either.

To be fair it's all relative, the tools I use make the aldi / lidl stuff look like toys but a friend of mine who is a fabricator has far better quality tools than I have and his make mine look poor too. The torque of some of his could cause an injury if you didn't have a proper grip on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Gillespy

He has a video where he compared Makita, Bosch, Milwaukee and Dewalt. Milwaukee best for power but especially poor regarding repairability and overall quality. Battery loses connection eventually as they've no wear plates to protect from all the vibration. Makita best of all in that regard with the whole battery protected by a rubber bushing. Others similar with pros and cons to each. Get the extended warranty the main thing with the Milwaukee.

No one is saying they’re on a par with the premium brands but for the occasional or light user they’re perfect and are value for money. I have the sds drill as well about 2 years now, it was probably only used half a dozen times in that 2 years but it was handy to have every time I needed it and i think it was €99. I also have the battery chainsaw, I throw it into the cab of the tractor when I’m heading for a job that I know there’ll be low branch’s at the gates. It means I don’t have the smell of petrol in the tractor. Again it has probably only been used half a dozen times since I got it but it was handy to have every time and cost very little. Would I go cutting firewood with it, no not a hope, but it does the job I need it to do.

If you wanted to kit yourself out with premium brand tools for all them type of jobs you wouldn’t be long running into the thousands and then use them half a dozen times every year or 2 it wouldn’t make sense.

No probably wouldn't make sense for every tool but personally, I'd use the grinder and impact gun enough to spend a little more and they are 2 of the tools that could do with the extra torque.

On the battery chainsaw I have a Stihl one here that I use the same with throwing in the tractor, it's great nice and light, no messing with fuel but it also cuts most of my fire wood for the year too, it's probably the most used tool I have during the winter months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

I don't buy anything that wasn't made with the sweat and tears of a Japanese man - Makita all the way. I've been pondering the DTW1002 for some time now but find that my tiny impact driver does the job for 90% of tasks and is far more portable and low-profile.

If I had infinite funds I would give Hilti a go, although I don't think they have any brushless options but they have nice tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Fully charged battery on my grinder. Cuts out every few seconds too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Which of the grinders are you talking about the €40 one or the €180 one cos I have both and they are night and day in difference. The cheap one is only a toy I only use it for sharpening blades or cleaning off before welding it's not fit for cutting, the performance grinder is a completely different beast I used it over the weekend to cut concrete with a diamond disk and it never stopped.

What cordless mini grinder has speed control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭locha

@markus Antonius I have that DTW1002- it’s like having the power of Thor in your grip. Only thing is it’s bloody heavy… I’ve all makita kit. Very happy but I’d say there is very little difference between the top end stuff…

You have to send it away to be fixed and contact customer services, my experience has not been good

Generally now they are doing replacement or monwy back.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Are lads doing enough work to justify getting an Impact? Would a heavy 3/4" drive breaking bar with impact sockets not be a better investment. I don't like those impact guns. No control over the tightening torque. Plus they won't open a seized nut.