If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mickey 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,020 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,527 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Read the book a few months ago (called Mickey 7) - exactly the sort of book which is a great shout to adapt. The book itself is only alright, light easy fare, but the concept is quite interesting, and it seems like they're doing a good job of elevating the interesting aspects (hence the name change) and finding a better tone for it.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

My thoughts exactly, there's plenty to work with and nobody is gonna be complaining about elements being improved or changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,713 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Looking forward to this. There is a lack of decent sci-fi films lately and Pattinson can be very impressive when he gets the right role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Absolutely loved this. Excellent black comedy/sci-fi that does veer into quite dark places at times. Pattinson gives a great performance and the cast in general is top notch. The commander is an obvious Trump parody, there are a couple of not so subtle hints, and his wife is based on HRC so it was a hoot seeing those two as an overly amorous power couple. Quite an off-the-wall sense of humour throughout that reminded me of the Fifth Element a bit. I would love to see more of this type of sci-fi to balance out the dead serious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Some interesting and fun aspects as you would expect from a director of this calibre, but overall found the film a bit of a slog, especially the last act. Far from a mess, but disjointed and overly long. Probably one of Boon's weakest films unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭muloc

Jesus that was awful drivel. Worst film I've seen in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,136 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I must be a right weirdo 😂 Thinking of going to see it again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Surprised to see people disliking this, I had a great time at it. It's very much playing with tongue in cheek, but that's clear from the opening - and it meshes well with the "no subtext, just text" aspects of the narrative. It's not as clever or biting as some of Bong's previous films, but I suspect that's more to do with it being an adaptation than being in English.

I'll grant that it could probably have been a bit shorter, but I still found it less of an offender in that regard than almost all Marvel or DC films have been.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,974 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

You can divide Bong's films into two main camps: the prestigey Korean arthouse fare (Mother, Memories of Murder, Parasite) and the zany sci-fi satires he's tricked international studios into funding (Okja, Snowpiercer and now very much this). The Host sorta bridged the two camps I'd argue (tonally at least), and Barking Dogs… is zany but much lower-budget. But yeah, in general there are those two main strands. Thankfully I like both modes so very much enjoyed this.

Don't get me wrong: I think it takes ages to get going due to the voiceover heavy extended opening act / prologue. And I think it struggles to end on the right note. But I had a blast for the middle 90 minutes, which were very silly but throughly entertaining. I think almost all the main performers were tuned into the film's pleasantly unhinged wavelength to varying degrees - Ruffalo arguably a bit too much so - but it was suitably funny, energetic and loaded with ideas.

Its satire of ultra-capitalism, narcassitic leaders, corporate environmental warfare, worker exploitation and religious fanaticism were hardly subtle. But tbf it's hard to be subtle given what's actually unfolding in the world at the moment.

Like Okja and Snowpiercer before it, the film's abundance of ideas and confidence of delivery make up for the shortcomings. I don't think it's on the same level of Parasite or Memories of Murder, but then I'd argue I'm not sure Director Bong thinks it is either. He's having fun, so I had fun too.

Post edited by johnny_ultimate on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,413 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

When is thia due on streamers? I was thinking of going go see it then seen the director is responsible for one of the most overrated rubbish films of the last decade so feck that if I am giving him money.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,599 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 GreatScott2024

Watched this in the cinema last night. I really enjoyed the first half of the film, it went down hill after that. The ending could have been far better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭El Duda

Mickey 17 – 7/10

Fantastic first hour full of great visuals and world building but becomes muddled in the second half. There’s too much Ruffalo, and I’m not sure what Toni Colette and her obsession with sauce was supposed to add. They were too zany compared to the other characters, so they end up sucking all the air out of the room.

Robert Pattinson is the main attraction here and continues to prove himself to be one of the most interesting actors working today. His efforts to distance himself from the Twilight pin-up pretty boy and gradually morph into a strange little goblin man is highly commendable. I loved the manic energy he bought to Good Time and here he scrambles around in a similarly chaotic manner.

The people who are most let down by this are the ones who went in expecting a follow up to Parasite, but got a follow up to Okjah instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,413 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its a stupid film really. The one with robot war was better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,960 ✭✭✭Homelander

Good movie overall, really enjoyed it. But I do think the first half sets the audience up for a movie that never happened. And truthfully as much as I liked the movie, the second half is very weak.

Not surprised it tanked at the box office.