Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wire Ferrule Crimps For DIY?

• 16-09-2024 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭

Asking, specifically, in here, lads. I fear, if I ask under 'Electrics', the response might sway to the time served pro' Sparks. They, in turn, might be more inclined to speak of high end, even 'complicated' gear. Dunno.

I'm old enough, now. Long warranties no longer catch my eye. I'm also unlikely to ever need use fifty ferrules, now. I don't do a lot of wiring. Just always thought having solid little pins, to dig into the holes in a 3 pin plug, would be So cool! 😁 I'm about sick of twisting wire.

So, Gentlemen of the Massive; What's the size 4 screw of the ferrule crimps world, please? What size might I look out for, really pretty much just for fitting plugs. They seem to do bags of 100? That'd do.

And, what about a tool, please? Loads of these 'round topped, black' things out there. But, I'm actually more drawn to the far less common, 'normal plier' looking ones. Like ringers pliers.

Fitted a plug, the other day. Really annoyed me! Kept thinking; " I Must get some of those Things! 😬 ".

Pension's in! Let's Do this thang! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Sid 1984

For simple DIY no need to go mad, something like this is what I use regularly & is fine

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ferrule-Crimper-Plier-Aongray-Self-Adjustable/dp/B09QMT925D/ref=sr_1_5?crid=15YBSFI9AXZKV&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.VUp5ThTtqNdZ2ScK1k5H3jguQR6GPN70xruHHWA-ou8RPvn_hsPS3X2m3rjeztMe6Cd6mOifKKCocd1lrnkINxdj1t8z_fetG7IQeE18VvQE-ASr_tfwu1XJWk3odedWuBtcZ5DbKAFAtdDJ1OY0hF26C0QgB-p3bMyDXaWKrY3XewERpdPC-Td7RhaZbqhSGpv72PRzLlUX3GyDT9BKQZO8UnWhSY6n4PcyObTqPhOmtwsvuUVr_FeQtA7GcICFKUSb5h7cIlzYdIGdQ52YneQce17TuiQJOo3F4R13gvY.zIc4hY_tcOqn3o1Cw5WfvyBe6qmMKPPBgw5OKzKWDr4&dib_tag=se&keywords=ferrule%2Bcrimping%2Btool&qid=1726523791&sprefix=ferrule%2Bcrimping%2Btool%2B%2Caps%2C79&sr=8-5&th=1

For plugs you need bootlace ferrules (uninsulated) 1mm usually do the trick, maybe some 1.5 on hand as well for slightly bigger cable

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Uninsulated-Bootlace-Ferrule-10mm-Length/dp/B07BNSPHX7/ref=sr_1_7?crid=2IC99Z1ZX8ZN5&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.rp4UsV-wUT5Oi1m3BNjql8kovKbk86rsa4rZ9t0aDpqe8JT2SrEaaSbOEzWpXyZztvpayCYs0N3z6k3gCV0aQbvgEFvJdjREQSy7lytXMWj84bGCzFMFOdX_9C91O_4H5WCmTIXoQ814Tg8gVm0XzxVykIzNeYtj3_J1d9L1j0AxW8y4QlMg5zMxP9m5vYj0jwjYDaeWl2pY043VJXT2eaQ347U01-f0CWIFNouylJMfJhiSHrTCRRMF-tKBdibatb2oATbXIr7JvbZ1sJjKwWFG0dE2P0ojjG83GzH-VUk.doc9y0hk-iZZZyyUwjfTzwT5nq-_R3mJcdr1J_wKEb0&dib_tag=se&keywords=bootlace+ferrules+1mm&qid=1726524054&sprefix=bootlace+ferrules%2Caps%2C75&sr=8-7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Sid 1984

Wouldn't let me post links for some reason, sorry & it posted twice.

The tool I linked to does a really neat job & you can then trim it to size to fit the plug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

No worries with the linkies, @Sid 1984 , I'm a dab hand at that stuff! 😉 Best bit is? I already had those Exact boot lacers on my List! 😁 I'd found them myself. Put them aside, for reference. Asked here and got told Them 👍️

Thanks, mate: Crimps and crimpers should be here, Wednesday. Turns out, the Pliers I had a shine for? They wouldn't send them here. Mean't to be then. Black ones it is. Only, I must admit:

They showed me others, of course. And I couldn't help noticing a Preciva set were down a few quid, to just less than ye own ones there. What's a man to do? 😂

Thanks, Sid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

That looks like the same tool that Lidl sold a while back with a load of ferrules.

Works fine I use it on most electrical screw down connections for plugs and the like. Takes a little extra time but provided you've cut the wires to the right length makes the connections much quicker to make.

The big advantage is that its easier to get the wire into a ferrule than it is to get it under a screw down terminal.

Wake me up when it's all over.

@The CO (Because, it won't even let me address ye, though ye handle comes up?!)

" The big advantage is that its easier to get the wire into a ferrule than it is to get it under a screw down terminal. "

Especially, those bloody Live's, I expect? 😁

Marvellous, isn't it? Crimpers due here, Wednesday. Crimps, themselves? 'Meh. Dunno. When ever we get some more. We've got ye money. Problem?' 🙄

Two decades back, I saw this coming. Got it tattooed, on my left arm. Trust me on this.

Yeah, crimpers? Like Chinese people, but black. That name just jumped out at me. Maybe I saw it twice? Really could just throw a dart at the screen. Only, this one cost me seventy quid, and I've only just got it! 😂

Must Not Need To Change Any Plugs ~ Yet!

Looking good, lads! 😁

Get some more trunking, tomorrow. Ferrules are due Friday. So; By the weekend? I'll have a lovely new ~ accessible! ~ double socket, above my work bench 🙂

Or, I'll have blown myself to kingdom come, and burned the place down. Either way; I'll have Finally put nice ferrules on some wires 😂

Quite the bucket list thing, that. (Yeah: Sheltered life).

I assume you are wiring with a multicore cable? You don't use ferrules on solid cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Ha! That's far more advanced than my simple crimper! Mine said 'Made In Germany' on it, so I bought it on its regional credentials alone, but it's no more than a graduated pliers, but its the reassurance of a better connection that gives me satisfaction in using it.

Enjoy.

I was so glowing, after @10-10-20 's response too.

Postman called, today. BIG cardboard envelope. My ferrules were a tiny little packet, buried inside. Barely bigger than a decent postage stamp.

I considered how tiny the packet was. Took the envelope into my tool room. Binned that and set to.

Look how far I got, lads, before thinking: " Ooh, yeah! Now, I can Finally get to use my snazzy pliers and these ferrules! 😁 "

Then it's; " Ferrules. Yes. Tiny little packet. ….. Now, where did I put those things? ….. Ummm … "

Turned the place Upside Down, lads! 😭 Absolutely Gutted!!! Devastated! Week, I've waited! Really looking forward to this job!

Unbelievable. Just ordered them, Again! Bloody Tuesday, now 😟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,890 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Leitrim, Ted. And, just to add iron? I was in the shop, yesterday. I made a very solid point of checking, to see if They kept these ferrules ~ for further stock, if I ever needed them (Urrgh!!! 😬) They Don't, of course.

Looking for that silver lining? My 'No Contact Live Wire Tester' pen thing's coming Monday. Shop in town doesn't do Those, either 🙄

Less chance of killing myself, Tuesday, so! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,890 ✭✭✭✭ted1

too far me to drop you over some.

Leitrim's pretty far from Anywhere, Ted! 😁

Naah. Appreciate the consideration, mate. But, I'm already looking on it as a pause for reflection. Like; What in gods name am I going to Do with half the gear I have, clogging that room up?

I'm also, figuratively, chewing my lip over my new work top. Was just in there, actually. I'm wondering how a seven foot length of thick, 'kitchen counter' (Chipboard) might work for me.

Really getting quite back into the whole diy vibe, just now 🙂 Been busy, elsewhere. But, Winter Is Coming. I always appreciate holing up, at least indoors, getting indoor stuff done.

Will be so nice though, just to be able to plug a tool in, without having to crouch down, reach around, behind stuff, in the dark 😬

I have designs on making a power outlet using a quartered log. It will sit on one of the flat sides and the double-socket (with USB ports) will be set into the bark side. It will have an auld flex off an iron for aesthetic honesty. The idea is that it can be left on a desk and look, eh - natural. 😁

Seeing this thread is reminding me to bish-bash-bosh that up.

@10-10-20 I think that one's gonna require photo's! 😁

I've got a whole new Desk to figure out! How does one even go about that? LOL!

This one's just no longer fitted to my requirements. It's 'too' upright. I'm thinking just a plain, big, flat table, as a starting point.

Iron; I'll probably end up with a fancy, 'formica' covered work top, in my tool room. Big lump of rough wood, in here! 😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭whizbang

and you will need another 40 more sockets by the time your done.. 😜

Pulls tee shirt over his head and slides, on his knees, toward the computer, pumping his fists!!! 'Yeeeeeesssssssss!!!!' 😁

Okay; Carp Crimps Photo. But, the actuality is bloody brilliant!

Yep! Postman was back, today!

One day, someone might open this one back up and nod to himself: " Mm. Fellow Pro' did This so. (Or he'd certainly done his midnight oil on the chube!) "

See that, lads? Plenty of flex, for that Future Spark to work with! 😉 I've used me 'tools downed' time Well! Watched vid's till my eyes bled! All works too! 👍️

Sweet. Better crimps than mine for sure. I might have to invest.

I'm nor so keen on the boot lacecrimps. I prefer the ones with a plastic bit on them, makes them easier the thread.

The big advantage of bootlace crimps is you can get more than one in a terminal.

They're Brilliant, 10! 😀

Nothing like what I'd expected either. Big, meaty head on the Crimpers. Loads of steel in there.

And, it's just a single fist clench! Job done! I'd thought there was some pumping involved? Nope. Pop it on. Pop it in. (Squeeze) Next! 👌

@The Continental Op said:

" you can get more than one in a terminal. "

Absolutely! 💪 That's Exactly what I thought, the moment I opened the main box! Saw how the Pro's had, indeed, bent over the ends, to save that screw cutting then in halfish! Then, as they came out, I thought how much lovely room was left, for my tiny, spikey, deadly accurate to poke in, little crimps 🤗

May have to look at a tiny bucket, just to keep my specialised, electrical, bits in? Work Room's due a bloody good sort out, this winter. I'm building quite the little pile, on a shelf. That's not right 🤨

Yes, actually! I particularly enjoyed This guys approach. (Though, I must point out that ~ from memory ~ this one was like last. I'd probably picked up set tips from earlier viewings of others work)

With the ones that I have I find that the level of strain-relief is minimal even with those. It's this crimper and the bootlaces in the photo behind that I have. Do you use different ones?

https://www.eurosales.ie/products/14362190SB.html?name=BOOTLACE&type=simple

This would almost be the exact set but sold under the usual brand name in Lidl for €20 only difference being the crimping tool fits in the plastic box with the crimps. You get a decent mechanical advantage on the tool and click it up in stages.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Preciva-CP621200-Crimper-Self-adjustable-Crimping/dp/B073TZ5BBG

I also have your type of tool kept as an emergency spare as I used to make up wiring harnesses but that was mostly lower powered molex connectors. Again all the tools I used had good mechanical advantage with that ratchet so you tightened them bit at a time if you wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Mr321

I bought that set from Lidl also last year . Havnt seen them back in it since, but would recommend it to anyone.

This one went straight over my head! (At the time!)

Damn your eyes, Whizbang!!! Swear to god, I just wandered in there, all chuffed that I could see my new socket, again?

Opened the door. Eyes have gone: New, double socket (😁) Drill Press, momentarily moved to window sill, above 'old' double socket. ….. New, double socket … (Drill press goes back up There. Plug That into new doub ….. 🤔 ….. 🤬 Damn his eyes! He was Right!!!)

😂

😂 He's Unstoppable!

Post 24. I said: " May have to look at a tiny bucket, just to keep my specialised, electrical, bits in? "

I'm So happy with it too! 😁 That little handle was half the battle too. I simply have no space, on my skinny waist, for anything else. Plus; To hell with undoing and disassembling my entire edc belt order, just to strap a pouch on for half an hour!

We all have our full sized 'Totes', full of our usual tools ~ and a good few others, eh? Weighs a bloody ton. Need to do a pluggy thing, few rooms away? No one's humping that tote. Ye grab the few tools ye reckon ye'll need. Then trip, like a juggler, off to the job. Hands full of little tools. Five minutes later? Ye screaming all the way back, because ye forgot some vile little item!

Not I, gentlemen! 😁 Grab my little 'Sparks Bug Out Bag', there? I'm good. And, before ye ask? I've bought a few duplicate tools now too. So, I have the basics in Both. But, all my clippy, crimpy, testy and keep me alivey stuff? Grab 'n Go! 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Good , non judgemental thread guys: kit on the way.

Thanks guys

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

2 days from UK

Looks like the little guys escaped into adjoining cells

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.