Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin to Belfast

• 04-09-2024 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

I note that passengers must use a bus between Newry and Belfast to complete a journey but it's all a bit vague as to when a full train service is due to resume. The Irish Rail website states "early autumn" which could mean anything up to December 1st! Does anyone have any idea when a full service resumes? I've also noticed it's not possible to buy a First Class ticket. Has this service stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Yep their answer is "autumn" would recommend Dublin Express bus as alternative if going to Belfast from Dublin and vice versa, I hate all that changing malarkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭p_haugh

There is currently a bus replacement service while the final works for the new Belfast Grand Central Station are completed. They do not yet have a confirmed opening date, hence why Irish Rail still has "autumn" as the resumption date. I believe that Translink are just awaiting certification of the signalling at the new station and it's approach, so there should be confirmation of an opening date pretty soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Irish Rail journey planner have service resuming from Monday 7th October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Grand Central is opening this Sunday, Sep 8 for buses only so presumably all major work is done and when the signalling is signed off it should be ready to open for trains as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭p_haugh

Sorry yes, should have specified - no current opening date for the rail elements. Bus services will indeed begin this Sunday, with the first departure at 5am.

Hopefully the 7th October date bears true, but I'd take it with a pinch of salt until Irish Rail/Translink make an official announcement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Still no confirmation from Translink as to when the station will be open. My earwigs in Norn Iron tell me that a sub contractor made a boo-boo and that it will take time to rectify fully. As a result the powers that be are not able to issue a safety certificate for loco hauled traffic and that there are no dates confirmable for Enterprise traffic into the new facility. It's unsure if there will even be a DMU service either but for now it remains unopened to railway traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭bikeman1

I heard at the weekend that Lanyon Place will be back for a short period while the sort out the railway issues at Grand Central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 topics_talk

Out of interest does anyone know what rolling stock will be used to increase the Enterprise frequency to hourly? There are currently 3 enterprise train sets and a handful of spare carriages. That could be turned into 4 slightly shorter trainsets with no spares although that doesn't sound ideal from a maintenance point of view. I think more than 4 would be needed for hourly.

They will use x2 ICR with first class sets and x1 NIR.

Dublin-Belfast

Mon-Sat

05:50, 07:50, 11:50, 13:50, 17:50 - ICR

06:50, 09:50, 10:50, 12:50, 15:50, 16:50, 18:50 - DD

08:50, 14:50, 20:50 - NIR

Sun

13:50 - ICR

08:50, 10:50, 12:50, 14:50, 16:50, 18:50, 20:50 - DD

Belfast-Dublin

Mon-Sat

09:00, 11:00, 15:00, 17:00, 21:00 - ICR

07:00, 08:00, 10:00, 13:00, 14:00, 16:00, 19:00 - DD

06:00, 12:00, 18:00 - NIR

Sun

17:05 - ICR

08;05, 10:05, 12:05, 14:05, 16:05, 18:05, 20:05 - DD

Thank you, very detailed. Will these sets receive enterprise livery or just retain the IE and NIR liveries? Will the NIR unit have first class fitted or shall those service go without?

Out of interest why are the Enterprise trains currently terminating at Newry and passengers being bussed to Belfast? Can the train not continue to run to Lanyon Place until Grand Central is opened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

Trains run to Portadown

Due to the nature of the road network (the railway line is indirect) its faster to transfer passengers at Newry to/from Belfast

There is a triangular junction at Great Victoria Street/Grand Central. The signalling and track is being redone so its a no go area currently so no way to reach Lanyon Place unless you want to go long way around via Antrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Rain from the West

On it's website Translink has the following message: "Timetables and online purchases are currently only available up until 12 October 2024". Might be a new timetable after this date?

Hourly services due to start on Tuesday 29th October according to BBC NI.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cp3wd98d2n2o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭D8 boy

I've just booked a day trip to Belfast on Oct 15, travelling out on the 08:00 and back on the 18:00. When booking, no seat reservation was offered for either leg, and the booking confirmation says "Seat NA". Neither departure offers 1st class so I assume these are not worked by Enterprise DD sets. Does the lack of seat reservations mean these departures are operated by NIR 3000 sets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭bikeman1

My understanding is that the changeover to the new Grand Central Station is happening this Sunday and services will be running through to Belfast again. With this finally happening, I think there are a lot of tweaks to happening on the booking system and confirm train sets etc.

My guess is that the timetable resourcing people in Connolly are completely flat out sorting out the mess of the timetable, that some of these "less important" matters of seat allocations are taking a back foot.

You will be completely fine on the 08:00 next Tuesday and will have plenty of space. The 18:00 will be busier, but still fine. Everyone will be in the same situation. This will be temporary while they bring in the new improved service.

It appears the article in question isn't correct. Currently no info on the Irish Rail or Translink websites as to when the hourly service will begin.

Both websites are selling tickets for the hourly service from 29th Oct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭OisinCooke

Does anyone know what sets are booked to be DeDietrich worked…? Making a trip to Dundalk in a few days and I’d love a bit of real traction! Thanks lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

They are listed further up the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭OisinCooke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,023 ✭✭✭✭zell12

public holiday monday Dublin-Belfast have a bus transfer from Connolly to Dundalk, then train to Belfast. Annoying!

There is never a good time to carry out major engineering work.

Unfortunately, sometimes they need longer possessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 DrivingSouth

I'm thinking of heading up to Belfast to see the new station.

Would anyone have any knowledge of the routes or times the C3k and C4k DMUs operate, as I would like to try get a spin on both when I'm up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭trellheim

Is there catering a la Enterprise on the IE sets ? or even a trolly

Full catering on all bar the C3K set

That’s not what I heard despite what the IE journey planner may say?

Are you sure that is the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Telecaster58

Anyone travelled First Class on the Enterprise? Is it worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭wijam

I'd usually get first class as a solo-traveller and get the single seat so no one beside me as it gives more room and is comfortable. You have the table service for food, which is alright.

You're paying double for a little bit more comfort for a 2 hour train journey. I'm heading up next month with a group of friends and went economy, which I don't mind either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭trellheim

Really ? They are using the kitchen on the 22k sets ?

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CherryOrchardExPat

Anyone know why I can't book a ticket between Dublin and Belfast after ~Dec 8 at the moment? Tried from both the NI and Irish rail side, and it's blocked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Both Irish Rail and the NTA are still showing services as operating to Lanyon Place. It's as if the largest station on the island of Ireland popped up overnight, when it really opened 8 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Gold7

Same with Google map, the line from Dublin is still showing it terminating at Lanyon Place. It shows the departures from Grand Central however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Gold7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Telecaster58

I travelled First Class return.

Dublin to Belfast: This was the Enterprise. Welcomed aboard and took my very comfortable seat. A waitress offered me a complimentary orange juice, or apple juice or water. I was then handed a menu where I could have breakfast including a full Irish, French toast, bacon and cream cheese bagel etc. There was also a substantial Lunch menu and a full bar. Coffee was served in a cafetiere and the crockery was proper delph. Just before arriving in Belfast I was offered a warm, moist cloth served by tongs to "freshen up".

Belfast to Dublin: This was Iarnrod Eireann. Boarding the train I was informed there was only a trolley service. The seating seemed no different from the normal seating, the only difference I could see was that there was a table lamp. The trolley service offered lukewarm coffee in a paper cup and prepacked sandwiches or a Kitkat. To say it was underwhelming is an understatement. I wouldn't waste the extra money on First Class if operated by IE

Full catering is only available on the Enterprise sets, and even then not on every service.

Last full meal service out of Belfast is the 16:00.

Do the ICR services have a guard role or have they merged to CSO only?

Do NIR require a guard present while on NIR network?

All services on NIR require a guard present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Stonekeeper2024

What is the difference between these two roles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Well, neither the NTA not Irish Rail have worked out Grand Central Station yet.

Guard is considered a safety role where as customer service officer is just that.

The main duty is the guard controls the doors and dispatches the trains but others know more. I beleive on the ICRs while drivers close the doors they can't until the gaurd tells them to close.

IE managed to get rid of this role years ago.

So @goingnowhere is it just the guard and driver on the ICRs excluding any catering staff?

So I take it the Enterprise has this role to comply with NIR regulations or something? Whereas the other intercities do not? I was wondering why there seemed to be two different people some of the time on the Enterprise. One to deal with tickets etc another that seemed to be involved in dispatch and doing the passenger count etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

When on board a train guard is in charge of a train at all times and is in control of all staff on board, including the train driver. NIR/Translink trains running in Northern Ireland require a guard to be on board at all times. In the case of their local services (In NIR cases, this means all non cross border services.) the conductor/ticket seller on board will also be the guard. Enterprise services retain a guard on board at all times. The safe boarding/disembarking of passengers and opening/closing of doors is the responsibility of the guard, although they are entitled to allow other staff to assist.

Irish Rail passenger services don't require a guard, the driver fulfilling the duties along with the assistance of staff on hand at stations. RPSI trains require guards but this is partially down to their safety case and partially down to the operation and staffing of old slam door stock.

Within Ireland all services apart from those relying on ETS or train staff or are slam door trains require a guard. Guards only exist on the Waterford-Limerick Junc, Nenagh branch and also Drogheda-Navan. Irish Rail has a comprehensive secure train radio system in place which effectively guarantees the driver and signaller can contact each other, its coded against the trains running number so high confidence signaller knows which train is calling.

Within Northern Ireland there is a requirement for a guard on all services (though there is an exception for Belfast-York Road for empty stock movements I believe). This is normally a conductor guard who also have revenue duties onboard. Train radio on NIR is basic, insecure and has coverage issues.

When operating cross border a guard is only required north of Dundalk on 22K services, but a guard is always required on Enterprise sets due the local door dispatch arrangement, though the driver has door controls in the cab.

This does not sound like a very well organized set up. When we created all these all-Ireland bodies with the Belfast Agreement I thought the idea was to standardise a lot of this stuff. It seems they are still operating very different systems in terms of the way signals, comms etc work. I wonder how that compares to say cross border trains going through the Channel Tunnel or the German/French border.

There is a common rule book between Ireland and Northern Ireland, which is unique.

NI follows UK regulations hence it has AWS and TPWS.

Every train north and south has been ordered with consideration to run cross border if needed. The C4K 6 coach sets will be put through the approvals process for cross border shortly once they get the radio and CAWS gear installed. Unclear why they are not going with ETCS L1 with the UK STM as border - Connolly is ETCS L1

I've been following the Enterprise X/Twitter account (run by Translink), and the amount of delays due to "train faults" seems very high at the minute. Not a great advertisement for the expanded service IMO.