Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland sucks

• 03-09-2024 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭

I used to live in ireland for my job from 2017 to 2023. Dublin is a terrible, horrible place to live.

No affordable appartments so you have to live with flatmates. Thank god most of them weren't ethnic Irish, most of mine were from eastern europe so it was at least ever so slightly tolerable but still not great. Landlords were usually horrible Irish scammers with rotten teeth who'd rob you blind.

The city is so full of crime, they attempted to rob me a few times. The robbers were invariable ethnic Irish scum, never a foreigner. One time the guy just wouldn't go away, so I punched him in the face and a fight ensued. Managed to get out without being robbed but had a black eye for a week after due to the Irish scumbag with rotten teeth who was just a junkie after his next fix.

Public transportation is horrible, the Irish are not smart enough to build a metro. They are also too lazy to walk the buses stop at every corner. Sometimes you can see the next bus stop from the one you're getting off at. If you have fewer bus stops maybe the public transport wouldn't be as terrible, and maybe call the Brits to build you a metro because you don't know how to do it.

Food is terrible, greasy chips, most of it is just British food and artificial American food, you have to cook at home to eat anything edible.

Roads are in bits too full of potholes.

While we also suffer from Anglicization in the Netherlands every ethnic Dutch person can at least speak fluent Dutch, unlike the unintelligent Irish who can hardly say anything in the Irish language other than ' can I go to the toilet please?' , the only phrase they learnt at school.

Now I am back in the Netherlands for over a year, I can easily afford a large apartment here and because we actually have functioning fast trains and other public transportation from my village I can still be in Amsterdam city centre in about 40 minutes. And I live about the same distance from the city centre as say Maynooth to Dublin city centre. There's no crime here apart from some occasional petty theft. In Amsterdam sure you have a bit of crime but it's only foreigners who steal, ethnic Dutch hardly ever steal. Accidents with drunk Irish who fall into the canals happen but we wouldn't even fish them out of the canal if we saw them drowning.

Wish you all the best over there in Ireland but just know that especially Dublin really sucks and there's better places, no wonder all your ethnic Irish youth is moving to Australia.

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭con747

Please don't come back so.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I'm sorry to hear that OP. I couldn't imagine living under those conditions…with the Dutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Yeah but the nederlands is a craic free zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Ah, that's a terror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭hawley

This is a horrible thread. How dare you make these comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Not planning to. I honestly think being nuked by Putin would be a better fate than moving back to Ireland

Yet there is quite a few Irish living and working in the Netherlands, especially in Amsterdam. There's also many Irish who go to Amsterdam for stag parties, where they then get drunk and fall into the canal and drown. There are even Irish Travellers who cross over to the Netherlands to try and scam people.

You can find anything you want to, other than legalized weed and shrooms the quality of illicit drugs is higher than in Ireland if you are so inclined. I stick to alcohol and the occasional spliff myself.

yeah well, your mom sucks op

Just kidding, she's a lovely woman and the netherlands is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

lol what an absolute duck stump you are for living somewhere you hated for 6 years. I’d imagine you make poor life decisions.

Living abroad for work is not uncommon. It was a bit better until covid but still not great. Should have, could have… Should I have never gone there? Should I have just left everything behind and came home without anything lined up or a plan? You never know how life turns out. At least now I can enjoy the luxury we have here in the Netherlands compared to Ireland. Before that I thought that the luxury we have here was normal and I took it for granted.

For example, I can just shower anytime without having to turn on the immersion. And I have a house without mold, Irish houses are full of mold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

He's got a point. Dublin is indeed an overpriced filthy kip full of knackers. Not a lot of upsides to it.

Yup. For a short while I was considering buying a house further outside of dublin. But you'd have to go as far as at least Mullingar for anything to be affordable, and usually even further away. I didn't want to be far out in the middle of nowhere as I was already dreading Ireland hence I am very glad I never bought a house there and I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

6 years in a place you hate? And not being able to even afford an apartment on your own? What age were you? Very poor life and career decisions. I guess Dublin is dear and you chose too many **** decisions so just couldn’t afford it. I’d have given up after year 2 personally. Lol I don’t know anyone who doesn’t have an electric shower. Different circles I suppose.

Most Irish people can also not afford their own apartment in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

I hate to admit it but he/she/they/them makes some and I hasten to add some fairly accurate points...despite some of the other stuff being questionable to say the least

Speaking as an ethnic Irish person....

I'm sure there are total pricks, homogenous groups of total pricks and no go areas in the Netherlands too, + examples of bad policy and planning

But poster isn't wrong about shite public transport and feral anti social scum with no deterrents imo....that's an issue with how we policeand a lot of that is down to a dysfunctional "justice" system ...or at least it seems that way to me.

Accomodation/housing is in a bad way ...due mostly to populist gombeen govt meddling

And...as much as I love a bag of chipper chips...short of going to a decent restaraunt in most towns in Ireland your options are limited unless you like mostly shite takeaways ...its also not entirely unreasonable to suggest we seem to take to overpriced American imports...take Krispy Kreme for instance ....now to be found in a lot of circle ks on the motorway....

But....they are wrong about everything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭con747

OP since us Irish are such a shower of wasters you can get your account deleted by emailing these addresses and forget all about us here on boards.ie. hello@boards.ie or datarequests@boards.ie

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - Thread closed

Op you can continue your thesis here if you wish