Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spencer is sooo amazing

• 28-08-2024 7:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭

OMG Spencer is just sooooo amazing. He ran 30 marathon back to back in the desert and became a world record holder. He even had to do one of them by running same back and forth many times as his Sat Nav thingamajings were not working. And Vogue was there to meet him at the end she is amazing too. Wow what a power couple what will they do next??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Still quite the achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

You know who's going to be telling us what an amazing and successful person Vogue is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I wouldn't be his biggest fan but it's a pretty decent achievement. I mean I doubt I could run 30 marathons in a lifetime, let alone in a month on sand in that heat. Least it was for charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Why anyone would willingly run a marathon is beyond my comprehension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Who is Spencer?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

It’s Spencer everyone knows him and Vogue they are just amazing. You might know him better by his well loved nickname Spenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

You ok OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

30x26=780 miles

That is one long run to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

No idea who the guy is. Some kind of reality TV personality by the sounds of it. But yes 780miles is impressive at the best of times. Let alone entirely on sand.

Eddie Izzard did a comparable achievement some time ago - especially given he did it with zero training. David Goggins does some insane runs even by normal standards - let alone given the fact his knees have no cartilage left and he is running bone on bone most of the time. These people are something different.

I plan to run the Frankfurt Marathon in November and am aiming for my PB marathon time ever by a noticeable %. Training and diet is specifically focused on it right now. And after I do it I will be taking a few couch and ice bath days to recover. The idea I could do it and then have another 29 similar runs in front of me is certainly out of my head space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,956 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Call me simple but I think its quite funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

90% of your posts are whinging about what posters post on boards. How about stop crying and add something? Non stop bitching. You're some wum doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Easier to do when you have no financial worries. Kind of like all things of that nature , they're the preserve of the wealthy. Still took some doing.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Why don't people plant trees, pick up rubbish, harvest crops, help build schools etc instead of all that wasted energy training and running ridiculous distances ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

no clue who he is but running 780 miles,through the desert is some feat!!! be a bit of an achievement to DRIVE that distance through desert sand/rocks and heat,not forgetting the cold at night…

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,437 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Thought it was admirable when he went to Everest to locate, and bring home, his brother’s body but, on not locating him, took another climber’s corpse, a Sherpa’s I think, down and returned it to his family.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

One half of an insufferable couple whose handlers and RTE keep pushing on us. Famous for no good reason.

Because he was doing it for charity? He's raised £340k for smaller UK charities that might not normally get the same kind of support that bigger, well known ones do.

Look some people like running & why not use that for good. Are you doing any of those things you mention or are you sat on boards getting annoyed about a bloke running for charity & not doing those things (that we know of anyway). We could all be doing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I am not getting annoyed.

I raised an interesting point. People expend a lot of energy exercising on treadmills, running across deserts, etc, when they could use the same energy to do something useful.

So, he could still have raised that money for charity, and help put a roof on a school or planted 1000 oak trees.

And he could still have got a load of social media likes as well.

Win win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There was a bloke at the BBC who ran for charity…

Not that I'm comparing the two.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Yes we could all do way more if we had the work free-care free-cash rich life some of these simpletons do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Don't care for the celebrity shite, but that is a genuine achievement that took a serious amount of commitment and training, so fair play.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭xyz13

Bien faire et laisser dire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Running is good for you. I could put a roof on a school (it would collapse with rain) and I could plant 1,000 oak trees for the right payment but 30 marathons in a row is far far more difficult, for me impossible. I never heard of him before today but fair play to him for doing a great thing for charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Wouldn't you do the same if you were married to herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

It doesn't doesn't seem like you would be adhering to the Department's construction standards or the building regulations and you are unlikely to win a contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

When my father went into rehab for alcohol addiction the doctor met with my mother and told her that very often one addiction can be replaced with another, and for him it was cycling, it became an obsession with him and between that and the relapses back into drinking it finished the marriage. I guess an addictive personality doesn't care what it's addicted too

Post edited by baxterooneydoody on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Did anyone ever notice the size of Vogues mouth , it's fcukin' enormous.

How is it an interesting point. People do things they like to do & are able versus doing things for the good of everyone else. Is that not just life in general. How much time do you spend on hobbies versus making the world a better place?

Look I'd prefer that man run than be responsible for any building work as he's no qualifications. Some things, like building schools, should be maybe left to professionals.

That doesn't smack of jealousy at all. Look I don't know the guy, don't know how smart he is but anything I've seen him on recently he's come across as ok. I mean he didn't have to bring down that sherpa's body from Everest for his family when he had gone to retrieve his brother, but he did. That's pretty good. And just because someone is rich, doesn't mean they're care free. Everyone has issues and struggles.

It was admirable what he did bringing down that body yes, but that and marathon running for charity is not much different to videoing yourself giving to beggars for thanks and likes whoring and building a profile, only on a bigger budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,437 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ah now, he got pretty famous with ‘Made in Chelsea’. That was a massive show when it started.

Vogue first came to prominence here being on that show ‘Fade Street’. They’ve both gone on to do other things and are hardly nobodies.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

When herself tried to eject someone out of their seat on a flight and didn't get her way she became very well known, I'll give you that.

If you actually listen to the story of that, it was a her taking the piss & being sarcastic about "how dare they not move" etc. It was on her podcast which is where the media dragged out an article from. She never actually tried to get someone to move.

I listen to her podcast & honestly, she's grown on me since. Able to take the mickey out of herself quite a bit & very aware of her priviledge. A lot of what the media reports is taken out of context from the podcast - I've seen it. And she's not responsible for that.

So what should he have done instead? It seems damned if you do, damned if you don't. I cut my hair for charity last year, I put it up all over my social media (granted much less impact than his) so as to raise money for the charity. Was that me whoring & building a profile for thanks & likes? Or was it trying to get as much money for the charity as possible by any means? Look he did a thing, charities are benefiting, why is that such a problem? Do you react the same way when anyone else famous or well known does something for charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

It's lucky we have psychic people to defend us from this feux charity stuff though :) hehehe.

People who have never got up off their ass to better the world in any way who can look at people who have done so - and look into their hearts and minds from a distance - and illuminate for the rest of us what their actual self serving motivations and agendas truly are. Imagine all the people we risk mistaking for being genuine - if Professor X's psychic X-Men were not among us and defend us from the clearly dangerous notion that there might be some genuine and altruistic people in the world.

To be honest though, I do not think I particularly care either way. I am more utilitarian on that level. If someone is genuinely doing something which makes the world a better place - directly by bringing money and attention and awareness to those who need it - and indirectly by then also inspiring people to get off the sofa and start getting after it themselves - then if their motivation is social media thanks whoring I genuinely couldn't care less. Give them their thanks.

The people who are going to moan about it seem to me to be often people who themselves have done nothing for anyone ever. :p Though I genuinely do not see how going out with a camera and filming yourself dropping coins in a hat - something any fat ass kid could do today with the phone they have their face permanently stuck into - is quite comparable with an achievement that may have taken months or even years of effort, energy, time, training, preparation, suffering and financial outlay. Yea SO similar :-p face palm

It's also often people who have never done a genuine thing themselves who seem to me to come out with moans like on this thread "Why did he use his energy to do good in THAT way when he could have done good in this OTHER way instead??". As if charity and altruism must be this cookie cutter thing that everyone must do it the same way or it's a waste. No - that area of humanity is made better by people doing it in different ways, with different voices, different agendas, and different ideas. Perhaps it is these keyboard moaners who are the ones actually thanks whoring. The next level of virtue signalling appears to be to mindlessly police other peoples virtues for them not being quite virtuous enough.

Some people set out to do charity directly. They fly off somewhere to help build a school or they go out manning soup trucks and much more. This is all great stuff. We do need people who do this.

Other people however monetise for charity, something they were probably going to do anyway. And that's just as useful and just as valid. For many people, marathoning one's way across a large desert would be a life goal anyway. Why not monetise that goal and benefit people directly (money) and indirectly (inspiration) in doing so? And again why is it so often people who themselves appear to have done nothing more than bang a keyboard ever - who actually care? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

He could do a marathon every day for the rest of his life and still not outrun his need for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,433 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭Be right back

I wouldn't be a fan of theirs but credit to him. Some achievement accomplished.

Spenney will be announcing his next world record challenge in 2 weeks. I cannot cope!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

He ran 30 marathon back to back in the desert and became a world record holder.

You are right, that is pretty amazing.

Dangerous as fúck though.

Not really. He had big team around him including doctors, he had all the fancy gear, equipment, cars, living conditions that money can buy, he ran them at night time early morning when temps were not high, he wasn’t breaking any time records in any of the runs. Anyone with superfine cardio which he obviously had could do it with same support. Apart from the risk of getting stung by a scorpion or bitten by a snake there isn’t much of a big deal to this.

Still. Amazing feat of endurance, 30 marathons on sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Who is Spencer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

You are right, he is pathetic, what a loser. He should have ran for at least 1 year.