Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

As himself would say, Praise be to Allah, peace be upon him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Expunge

Totally agree with this. An attempt at making it presenter ego proof would help in a big way. Ad break discipline has been woeful for many years with yer man calling the shots from inside the glass.

It doesn't need a massive name/Noel Kelly wonder - it needs strong production first.

It might be a time to stop leaning on the regular callers/bores - John from Cark, Anne from Cannes, Ruth from East Wall etc.

This is a big shot for both the new Head of Radio 1, Tara Campbell and Head of Audio. Patricia Monahan.

If they're serious about moving Radio 1 on, this is the first and best chance they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,152 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

In fairness, he doesn't always keep the ad breaks until the last five mins of the programme.

He often goes to ad breaks earlier if the caller he is speaking to doesn't agree with his agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,726 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

He doesn't always do anything. There is no consistency at all. Which suggests to me the producer has no input.

Half the time the agenda for the show which he announces at 12.45 to Louise Duffy, has been thrown out by 1.45. Not always, but often enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,349 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Anyone care to tell us what Kevin Bakhurst ponders on Joe's 'statement'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭plodder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Genghis

We will no doubt hear our host reminisce that since he took the reins there have been 6 Taoisigh but 8 UK PMs, 5 US presidents but only 2 Irish Presidents, and 4 Popes but only 2 British monarchs.

Being Joe he will also include some obscure / completely irrelevant offices too (like 5 chief dog wardens of Dublin, or 3 governors of Mountjoy, etc).

He might be bullish enough to note how many DGs / Heads of Radio he has seen off through his tenure too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,243 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Today, Joe…

• Easter Sunday there was 5 tricolours flying over Clerys, it's against the rules, there should only be one.
    • 73rd year of the RTÉ amateur dramatic society, did amateur dramatics change your life…No.
    • Penis cancer from yesterday.

Don't forget Joe is on LLS tonight. I spotted Brian Warfield on the 6 O'Clock Show on VM yesterday, he was promoting their latest album 'Gold', it certainly would be gold if the Wolfe Tones show up tonight in the LLS green room with Joe 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,378 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,005 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Any sign of the buck leppin' hurlers he promised us yesterday at 12.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Those of us old enough to remember will recall the Brenda Donoghue got her break on The Gerry Ryan Show by phoning the show randomly and reporting with her friend (who since faded into obscurity AFAIK) on some person or event that was taking place at that moment, and Brenda and her buddy happened to be at the very location by chance, and they decided to call Gerry, who had mentioned whatever or whoever it was ( I can’t recall what is was now, it was a long time ago) . Gerry was taken with her phone manner/reporting and gave her a gig reporting on random and quirky shite happening around the country. Thus another RTE “ star” was born.
    But as for her producing credentials- absolutely zilch AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Might use a prepared script from NKM. Nothing to slight anybody's tender feelings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭notwhoyouthink

Whether you liked him or not, this marks the end of the old guard at RTE. It is a very, very sad day. Joe had many more years in him and I believe would have continued. The Tubridy contract issue meant the writing was on the wall from 2023.

Somebody yesterday posted that Joe censored topics and distracted us from real issues. What utter nonsense - Joe discussed everything. Yes, at times he pursued his pet interests - but I don't blame him for that.

This forum will now cease to exist because what united us all was Joe. I can't think of any other personality who does that.

Liveline is an institution, and it ceases to exist because of this decision. Joe made the show - his imperfections as much as his perfections.

I hope Joe will not give up radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Joe didn’t make the show - Marion Finucane did!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,723 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

When Joe dies he will become as popular as Marian. And Derek. Good career moves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Is Joe going to go big on the Fire Brigade looking to diversify it's workforce today ???

(Not sure that includes morbidly obese, ladder collapsing buffoons though, Joe)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Was her partner in crime called Barbara Jordan? That name is on my head for some reason. IMHO the other correspondent was better but Brenda stayed in long term. Brenda was bottom of the barrel talent imho but that was Gerry’s sense of humour I think at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,243 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They could reduce the water carrying capacity of the fire engine by 50% to fit in baby changing facilities, what could possibly go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Joe did censor topics and he pushed his own agenda, in fact in recent years this “attitude “ of his worsened, becoming irritated with callers, muttering under his breath and cutting them off. And l do blame him for pursuing his own interests on the national air waves, l also blame the people running RTE for enabling this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭archfi

'Young bucks' not standing to attention during the NAtional Anthem at U20 GAA games are annoying this caller…

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭mountain

Did Robbie Martin write an autobiography?

That was Terry Mancini, Joe

Certainly a very important issue to raise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭littlevillage

During the National Anthem, do the Camogie players be buck leapin around re-adjusting those uncomfortable skorts?

I think the GAA have bigger fish to fry right now…

Clerys are gone, Joe

John O'Donovan from Cork!!!!!!

Back in the day, the national anthem would be played after you went into your position, you would be standing next to your direct opponent.

Before a final, the manager of our team at the time instructed a few of us to hit our opponent a belt in the back of the head just as the last line of the anthem was being played, reckoned no ref or umpire would take notice at that exact time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Fookin crackpot