Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming Farming Events - 2024

• 03-08-2024 9:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭

There are a lot of farming events coming up in the next few months. I thought this might be a good place to list them. Feel free to add any, you might hear of.

Post edited by patsy_mccabe on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

OK, starting with a dispersal sale on today, 3rd August 2024.

Carbery Herd Dispersal - Tullamore Mart

Carbery Herd Dispersal Tullamore Mart 3rd August for sale in Co. Cork for €1,000 on DoneDeal

Tullamore Show - 11 August 2024

Tullamore Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

I watched a bit of it, great prices for great stock, didnt watch to much but the few cows I seen go through were sold at great money.

Ya, nice stock. Most of the top prices were 1 or 2 stars which would make you wonder about it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

No wondering. Plenty of good stock with no or poor stars about. Claim enough for the scheme and don't worry about not having stars on the other animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Two heifers made like €5k and €5.5K. One 2020 cow made €3.8k and her twin heifers nov 2023 made €2150 and €1750.

Overall about €3k average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Anyone at the tullamore show today? We got there at 9.30 and had a great morning ..saw plenty and decided to head for home at 2 ..got back to car and had a puncture..changed the wheel in a few minutes and proceeded to be stuck in the car park untill 4.30..the traffic management was a disaster .apparently there was still plenty coming in so they literally left no one out for over an hour..needless to say it took the shine off an otherwise enjoyable day.

Spoke to people in a different car park and they got out in 20mins..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

we went to the green car park as we late and also missed a turn, usually park in the yellow car park. It was a free for all leaving it, cars were leaving the back of the queue and joining further up so the cars at the back were barely moving. There was no system in place at all until you joined on the metal roadway.
    A steward gave us a lift in one of the buddies back to the car, he was sound out. Said the red car park was a disaster as they let too many in.
    it was a great day otherwise. As I said we were a bit late leaving this morning so were on the back foot all day, but I’d say numbers were up. We will make sure we leave early in the morning next year for more comfort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Danny healy ray

i was there myself and few more with me enjoyed day out some fantastic stock on display left the carpark around 4 ish no problem straight out the gate

Was there today, landed into the red car park at 7.20 no que in obviously, walked the legs off myself till 1.45, got in the jeep to get half way out the field and ground to a halt, could see the car entry/exit point into the field, all one way traffic into the field. After 1hr 45 I eventually made it out. I'd agree it put a bit of a damper on the day, but in saying that , it was a super day, they got 99% of things right. I'd not been to the show in I'd say 10+ yrs for one reason or another and it is streets ahead of the NPA, no shite worth talking about,plenty of machinery to keep any man or woman happy, loads of cattle, sheep, ducks, chickens, appletarts, so on, no bus loads of school kids going around wearing Aldi hats was a massive bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grass10

I cannot figure out the hype about this 1 day show it should be a 2 day show and usually a disaster traffic wise because too many trying to get in and out in 1 day and too weather dependent on the 1 day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Was stuck trying to get out of the yellow car park for almost two hours. I got that thick that I walked up to the front and roared at the two stewards at the front. They opened another gate after that but it made feic all difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭farmertipp

first time at it in 15 yrs. Great show , amazed at size of it. like ploughing was 20 yrs ago. farmer focused. very little rubbish. weather a great help. all major tractor makes there.very upbeat. some difference compared to the **** show ploughing has become under the hungry crowd managing it. parked at 12.15. in blue park. got out after 4 in 20 mins just before crowd. didn’t realise it would be so big so will land earlier next yr pg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

An exhibitor drove carelessly up along one of the sheep roads and my oh told him to take care, but he told her to f… off.

Everyone stood in along the side of the sheep ring as tight as they could, yet he drove on a young fellows foot and skinned the ankle. He definitely wasn't watching the mirrors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I think that’s a good comparison with the ploughing 20 years ago alright. There seemed to be more big name machinery crowds at it, ploughing was losing a lot of big names the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I spoke to 3 different dealers and none going to the ploughing, even though they all within 20 miles of it. Couple have to send reps alright to do stuff but none bringing machines or paying for a trade space. None commented on the cost, just it was full of day trippers and kids and very few people were doing business at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I was doing steward in blue car park. Do it as a fundraiser for the local school. There from 6:30am- 1pm. Have been doing it for 6 years now and never saw the crowd like yesterday.
    cars were non stop from 10am.

There was still two lanes of traffic coming into the red car park at 2.30. unbelievable crowd, I'd say if or when figures are released it will be touching 100k. The red car park was massive and every inch was full, thousands of cars in that one alone.

Fair play for doing your bit dunedin it's not an easy gig as I'm sure plenty of grief goes your way at stuff like this

Yesterday was the first time. One punter gave out that his car was facing downhill in his parking space and he mightn’t be able to reverse out.

I quickly reversed away from him - I don’t get paid (anything) to humour lads like that 😂😂😂

I was parked facing down. was very happy with the spot. got away nice and easy. ground like flint. I just asked a guy which way out and he said back up to corner the way you came in. all other ways closed. got out in no Time. well done yesterday

were you in the blue car park? What time did you leave at?

around 4 I'd say . we thought it was going to rain . we were able to move away slowly and were driving well after 15 r 20 minutes. turned right for birr rather than left as traffic looked slow. went home by templemore

we were in blue car park

the blue car park seemed to be ok for getting out. The red and yellow are getting all the complaints on line. When we were leaving at 12:45 the cars were still coming as strong as ever.

On a side note, there was a good cut of after grass in the field. Apparently 50 acres in it. Even at 2 bales to the acre, he’d have a 100 bales. Better than letting it be drove into the ground.

it was well organised. any talk of it going to 2 days? it's certainly big enough for it but maybe it wouldn't suit ?

anyway if you didn't leave till after 6 I'm sure traffic would have eased somewhat ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I went to it for the first time in years. A serious display of all cattle and sheep breeds. The blue car park was a bit slow leaving. I sat for around 50 minutes. Finally left at 6.20. Not a major problem to be honest.

Well done to all involved in organising a very successful and well run show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

the biggest problem we see for the last couple of years is the way the cars are parked on entry to the car parks, with no tight parking and wasting ground and just get them in and leaving a long walk to the show and ground rough to walk on and people struggling to push buggies, one thing that really pissed off is the clowns walking around the sheep showing areas with dogs when trying to get sheep in and out of the rings. Great show and leaving the ploughing behind with all the stock in Tullamore and not the greed as the ploughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

I'll just leave this here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

The traffic management in the car park leading to the Clara road is a disaster every year and they couldn’t care less. I fully expect it to be a shambles next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

I was in the blue car park, got there around 11, no traffic, left around half two, straight out the gate, was saying to myself traffic management was excellent until I saw this, gas

the blue car park didn’t seem to have much problem. The yellow and red seem to be the huge issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Danny healy ray

might be a good idea if lads could put up teagase farm open day or monitor farm walks etc up here might be of interest to a few

Coolrain Limousin are having a Dispersal Sale - Roscrea Mart, Saturday August 17 2014 @ 1:00 pm.

80+ to sell at Coolrain Pedigree Limousin Herd (Est. 1999) Dispersal Sale - Irish Limousin

Follow on Facebook here;

Facebook

Organic themed day

Ladies in Red Export Show and Sale - Ballymena Livestock Market on Saturday 24th August 2024

30 top-quality pedigree Limousin females

Northern Ireland Limousin Cattle Club

Ladies in Red auction at Ballymena on August 24 | British Limousin Cattle Society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭irishguy19772

What sort of money would a replacement heifer cost from that coolrain herd? A few grand ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Iverk show is on today..i think its one of the better 1 day shows around with a bit of something for everyone. Usually plenty cattle /horses a small few sheep and a nice few machinery/ trade stands..traffic well managed and not an issue..c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Dualla show on tomorrow

Lisna limousin heifer sale - 30 August 2024 @ 7:00 pm

Facebook

Lisna Herd Heifer Sale - Irish Limousin

Sunday 25th:

Clare Limousin Club Extravaganza - Ennis Mart, 6th September 2024.
    Not sure of time.

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100080227569885

This event was cancelled folks - Clare Limousin Club Extravaganza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

Many going to bother with the ploughing this year. I looked quickly down thru the exhitors. A couple I wouldn't mind looking at something. Still mightn’t bother either. Maybe someone could do a poll

Got a free ticket and a lift so will head to it. Didn't enjoy it 2 years ago though and don't expect an improvement. Wouldn't pay to go.

In another "ride the public" event, the FTMTA are looking for €25 for tickets to go to the machinery show in November. Thats **** nuts to walk around looking at machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The great and the good will be in Northern ireland this saturday for the inaugural Fields Good one day regenerative farming information exchange. There's some speakers from the south, UK, USA. It's basically trying to get their own version of Groundswell going. It looks like it's a fair mix of both grassland, livestock and arable farming info.

Tickets are available by clicking the twitter post and following the messages posted. You can apply through NOTS too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Further on to this. It's 9am to 12am. Bar open all day and a second bar from 6pm with bands and DJ starting up then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

I'm going to drop in to this tomorrow, it would be a shame not too as it's only a couple miles from me. Most of the speakers locally I've heard or would be involved with through AgriSearch projects, but I'd love to hear what Greg Judy has to say. It's to be a decent day weather wise, so I'll go and see what i can pick up.