Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up For The Match 2024

• 20-07-2024 8:36pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭

It's time of year again, presented by Des Cahill and Jacqui Hurley, before tomorrow's hurling decider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Near 2 hours worth 😂

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Like listening to auld fellas down in the pub.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

They have the chauffeur again, wasn't it a fuel voucher last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭C__MC

It still amazes me that we can't get a proper build up preview show for our national finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Des Cahill ( permanently flu ridden) and Jacqui Hurley ( Can't pronounce the letter t) have to be the most insufferable " presenters" on Aaarrrttteee. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Surprised you don’t like Jacqui Hurley

She’s very good. Des is a miserable dose though alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Marty (Renault Lover), seems to think he is at the Rose of Tralee final!

Have you a boyfriend… great chatup line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

On the radio he sounds like he’s trying to finish a sandwich while on the air.

That was actual some good music.

What’s that clicking in the background.

Hard to believe Micheal retired in 2010.

He deserved a standing ovation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭StevenToast

This sort of mucksavage programming should go the way of the Calor Housewife of the year....

Pìss off boggers with your ham sandwiches and supermacs....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Was thinking Davy Fitz would be on.

He called Cork fans bandwagoners there.

Post edited by Say Your Number on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

The whole program is like a father ted sketch.

It's alright when it's faces from the past chatting, the fan stuff is woeful though.

Surely Saw Doctors will be on next week.

Loved the fella in the blue Clare jersey with sour look on his face during that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭siblers

You'd never think Des is 65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

I'd have said no more than 34 definitely 😱.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

I hail from a county involved in today’s match. No way would I have watched this. It’s an extension of the general cheap ass shíteness employed by the GAA for the All Ireland. Sits right in there with a brass band parading round the pitch like it’s 1924 and some country and Irish “star” singing the county songs at half time. I’m not saying we should have Usher at half time but there’s plenty of contemporary bands in all counties who could put on a decent half time show.
    UFTM is the same brand of cheap, embarrassing crap. It’s not far from the Late Late valentines special. Fill a studio with excited fans, interview a few shîte talkers. Get, in fairness, some better music than will be at the actual final, some very cringey fan stuff and then wrap it up. I wonder does anyone much watch this? It’s certainly not relevant tv for 34 other counties and it’s too long at 2 hours. Also, get in some real presenters. Sports staff are general woeful at presentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭riddles

what’s the deal with Feakle not sure on the spelling but it seems to be the only place in Clare?

It's rube central and that's saying something for a county like Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭riddles

No idea what rube means myself but I’m guessing it’s something meant to be derogatory which is uncalled for.

Not Up For The Match per se but an extension. I was watching the Sunday Game last night and wasn’t to unpressed with Joanne Cantwell. Overall both teams left it an on the pitch yesterday and, I think, should be showed have a dinner in peace without mics being stuck in their face. Worse still was Cantwell pushing Tony Kelly about the goal and 4 point he scored, looking for a soundbite and seemingly not being badly Tim he told her he was brilliant. Well done to him for digging the whole embarrassing round of questions. Next there was Marty laying into Shane O’Donnell wanting to know was he going to the states still and letting him for the “right” answer that he wasn’t. Very unfair on the lad. His personal life and career plans are his business.

Fairly much the sort of stuff you’d expect from the kind of donkeys RTE employ as sports presenters. I felt sorry for the lads overall. Fine, do a few interviews on arrival at the hotel but leave it at that. It really felt like RTE were rocking up to the hotel pushing the monkeys to dance for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

Marty shouldn't have been commentating on a Final that Clare were playing in, no more than Ger Canning on a Final involving Cork. Up for the Match is very well past its sell by date.

Tjought that too but, while in not a fan of Mary at this stage, I think he did a decent job of remaining impartial.

Football on tonight, nearly forgot about it because of the Olympics.

Has the president ever appeared on this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Please people stop watching this dribble it's on a par with Joe Duffy's funny Friday in having no business being inflicted on people .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Should he not be impartial and not on a match talking up armagh

Seeing all that space in the full back line is a real novelty!

Benny Tierney has really aged, remember when he used to look like Ronald Koeman.

Ye enjoying it folks

I remember when this show was presented by Liam o muruchu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Quitelife

worth turning on to hear Susan McCann singing “ The boys of the County Armagh “ … fair play to her 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

...the ice cream man was a bit scary..

Kernan looks slimmer, he's nearly unrecognisable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭No Bills

Kernan managed Galway about 15 years ago, forgot that had actually happened.

Tamer than last week imo

He has Spillane's mannerisms, just he retired two years ago.

38 points scored in four finals.

I know everyone gives out about football being negative but it's not that bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I didn't know it was on and only caught the last few minutes, but up Armagh