Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Well, it was a better 2-1 than the 3-1 against Southampton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,680 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Nonsense, it wasn’t a foul. Maguire didn’t even appeal for it, which a player would do if there was a small doubt. It was poor defending, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭kyleman

Bruno fantastic when it really matters yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Tandey

It was the old Peter Crouch push. Sure the foul given to them for de Ligt's goal wasn't really a foul either, only the guy dived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭Robson99

Attacking player wise we cannot afford to let Garnacho leave this window or we will be really screwed. We got to win this Europa League and re build in the summer

I don't think in a normal situation it's a foul but by the standards already set in the game it was.

Not looking forward to Fulham, strange that it's at 7 on a Sunday night. We gave up a lot of chances there. Wonder if De Ligt injured. Hate seeing Dalot play on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Didn't get watching tonight, so how were we overall?

Missed a lot of chances by the sound of it but that's just a reflection of how poor/off form our forwards are.

So long as we weren't just playing shyte like against Southampton or Brighton, I'd be happy enough. Every game we win is just a small step towards the message hopefully getting through, the concentration levels improving, and hopefully the squad getting strengthened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,680 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Yeah from a Utd fan perspective it would have been good to get away with it to balance things out but to have a go at people for criticising Maguire’s defending, when it wasn’t a foul, is a different story and what I was addressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭weemcd

United pulling out an injury time winner v Rangers ain't it.

Far too sloppy there today in front of goal, no confidence up front. United reserves should be running Rangers into the ground.

(Objectively Rangers played well, but United allowed them to...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Garnacho wasteful with some shots, but also our biggest shot creating attacker. Without him in the side we create so much less threat.

I can see reasons for selling him, but extremely dangerous to do as things stand imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Don't love Amorim's interview regarding the possibility of selling him there, clear he doesn't want to talk about it but was an opportunity to say he played well, which he didn't take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Caustic

Maguire wins an easy header if the striker doesn't push him with two hands while he is jumping, it's always a foul it's fairly simple

The question was about selling him tbf.

I wouldn't be mad at the response, but that might be bias on my part. I'm slow to criticise amorim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Caustic

Considering rashford is sitting in the stands the manger obviously wants garnacho more but we have to sell him over rashford as he can't be shifted certainly leaves a bad taste in the mouth, we really are reaping what we sowed with all those horrendous contracts

Amorim said Yoro and De Ligt felt something in their leg. Looks like Maguire could be starting Sunday, hopefully he can deal with Raul.

I'd prefer they do proper build up as a team rather than one player getting on the ball and trying to be Roy of the Rovers and do everything himself. I thought tonight was a regression to the form we seen before Amorim where pointless shots were being looked for before the pass.

I mean with the young lads I could be more forgiving if they seemed to have a good on field connection between themselves or others around them but they don't seem to and after a year of playing together consistently enough no real improvement is a worry. Individually they can probably make a step up and develop but what's the point if it's disjointed between them?

I don't really disagree.

I just think the current squad without garnacho is extremely poor at shot creation.

If this was the end of the season and we were talking about selling him in the summer and using the funds to build a better functioning attack then I've far less issues.

But i dont think amad, Bruno and eriksen are remotely close to enough to see through the season, and don't offer enough vertical threat. The only guy we've been really linked to is Nene. Looked promising tbf vs Madrid but he's two years older and less productive on stats than garnacho. Could be a very decent gamble as a squad player, but I'd be worried about his ability to make an immediate abd significant impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,214 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Its just Ole ball. No real control of the ball or patterns of play, relying on a Bruno/Diallo/Garnacho to pop up with a moment of magic to win games.

And 13 games now without a clean sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

2 well worked corners led to goals, 1 chalked off unfairly.

Ole ball

Martinez beauty of a cross for the goal

Ole ball

Eriksen linking up well creating chances our players wasted.

Ole ball

Maguire error for the goal

Amorims fault?

Ole ball indeed.

Yes, yes, we know you think all is great, no need to quote me every time.

Yes yes we know you're blinded by your anti Amorim stance that you literally came up with any ol crap.

And to quote myself

A win is a win but Im fuming, ref **** us over, so many wasted chances, Maguire error, game should have been 3 or 4 nil.

Jesus I sound ecstatic don't I?

13 games without a clean sheet isn't any old crap, its a rather worrying fact.

Its grand though, Bruno will bail us out.

And most of them games had errors like tonight, which the majority of us on here, the players even the manager have said.

Its ok to be grumpy that your hated manager won a game but at least be objective instead of the "Ole ball" bullshit.

I don't hate Amorim, thats just silly.

But lets not talk about objectivity, there is very little of that on display in this forum. Too many people steadfastly determined to ignore the performance of the coaches and management.

Ive seen plenty, Ive had back and forths with Mitch over ETH and I admitted he was right all along.

Back and forths with Liamo about Hojlund last season but this season I'm critical of Hojlund.

Mainoo, Dalot, Onana I've defended and criticised.

Garnacho and Amad for being greedy.

Even Amorim vs Newcastle I called out the awful midfield, the defensive fullbacks in certain matches, tonight he got it wrong leaving Zirkzee on that long.

The difference is I won't go overly hard on him when the squad isn't his and we've seen this lot time and time again throw away games under him and ETH.

By this time next year if he has his transfers and it's still the same I'll start asking serious questions.

So there is absolutely nothing he can do until he gets new players?

I have made no secret that I think good coaches should be able to improve teams without having to replace everybody. Its supposed to be part of the deal, its what makes a good coach a good coach, its why Ten Hag was sacked, because he couldn't get them playing well.

Currently United score less goals than they did under Ten Hag and haven't kept a clean sheet in 13 games. And all it took for Amorim to dodge criticism was to gaslight everybody by saying things are going to be bad and call his team the worst ever.

You plan to wait a year or two before deciding if he is good or not, thats your privilege. For myself, I'd call him good the minute we could see anything that was better than it was under Ten Hag. Isn't that what good coaches do, make things better?

As has been said so many times hes only had them doing proper training sessions in the last few weeks, he has said plenty of times the players are not doing as they are told (an issue with ETH too according to McCarthy) they squandered at least 3 goals tonight with poor finishing, Hojlund and Zirkzee being poor and as has been said so so many times the players are dropping clangers nearly every game, Maguire tonight, Onana at Brighton, Malacia vs Pilzen etc, you just refuse to see all this and say "oh he should be making them better", it's a brand new system that won't work over night, Malacia tonight for example, a natural left footer, we improved loads when he came on, Dalot is a weakness at LWB, Hojlund/Zirkzee not good enough, Mainoo struggling with fitness, Casemiro finished etc etc I can go on and on but you just won't take any of it in and repeat your "coach bad" mantra.

Good night enjoy the win for what its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Seattle

Ole improved the team significantly when he took over from Mourinho, especially in the short term. However, there was always a ceiling to what could be achieved under him. His football was straightforward and overly reliant on a sit-back-and-counter approach, which was easy to coach but unsustainable for long-term success. Similarly, Ten Hag adopted a comparable style after losing his first two games against Brighton and Brentford, transitioning to a mid-to-low block with a focus on counterattacks. While it led to a decent first season, that style inherently limits a team’s potential. No truly elite side can rely on such an approach and hope to consistently compete at the top.

At Sporting, Amorim’s style was the antithesis of this: modern, cutting-edge, and built on possession-based control rather than reactive counterattacking. INEOS could have easily opted for a pragmatic manager who would maximize the current squad by playing counterattacking football. That might have yielded short-term improvements—potentially a 5th or 6th place finish—but it would have left the club stuck in an outdated approach, further from competing with Europe’s elite in the long run.

I don’t know if Amorim will ultimately succeed, but I respect the ambition and the commitment to a forward-thinking vision. It’s a clear rejection of the short-termism that has plagued the club for a decade.

Its a fallacy to think that you cannot stabilise the side and also develop a new long term style at the same time.

Worse than that, your new long term style simply will never be implemented at all if you cannot first stabilise the side and get it functioning to a basic level.

People have convinced themselves that to improve the team we need to be utter shite for a long time first, and it simply isn't true.