Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭mobydopy

Bonkers game. Full of mistakes from both sides. Really could have gone either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭BenK

I understand Bayindir's frustration that he didn't get the free but move on, it's not getting changed now. He should've done better for the goal anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

When we stop being sh1t we'll be a good side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

pure shite lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

There is, and we were playing them tonight.

Wolves too…

Oh, and West Ham…

Did I mention Southampton…

Don't forget Leicester. Wout Faes alone makes more individual errors than this United team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭Robson99

They're both poor keepers....let's not try and cod ourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Caustic

Ya it's getting bad at this stage this team will be a long time building anything towards being solid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭JRant

On the positive side, we have less games and the subs did very well. We actually looked like a functional team for most of that second half.

The negatives, well, our extended squad is quite bad. Eriksen looks done at this level, our left side offered very little again, and Martinez was poor yet again.

I wouldn't be too hard on Bayindir, it was his first start in forever. Should have done better for their first goal and was fouled for the 4th.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Just seen the XG 🙈 The mistakes need to be sorted asap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Add a new CB to the ever growing shopping list.
    Martinez form has fallen off a cliff this season and he looks finished.

We need a couple of keepers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,961 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Said it here on Sunday before the City game. Martinez has to be dropped. He’s having a brutal season.

Another stinker from him tonight unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭BenK

The underlying stats look pretty decent again to be fair. In general play it wasn't a bad performance.

Need to cut out the stupid mistakes and be more clinical in attack. Easier said than done obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

A big positive for me was Yoro, looks a superb talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

We don't have better, least not consistently.

Shaw is useless, Evans can't play there, lindelof injured, again. Maguire should be ccb.maybe try mazraoui there? But then you've only amad and dalot for wb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Scoring the goals takes the sting out of the loss for me but its 2 less games against strong opposition in the 4th of the 4 competitions we are in. Meh. Yoro looks a player, Maz and Ugarte continue to impress, Amad doing Amad things, Kobie looked sharp, a good run out. 3 points on Sunday and we won't give 2 shiny shytes about tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

We weren't saying it when he played that class ball into Amad for the winner. Or when he played the same ball for Rasmus when he was robbed of a penalty.

He had a stinker tonight and has been poor this season but he's obviously a key part of Amorim's plans. I wouldn't be dropping him, I would have some faith in him getting back to where he needs to be soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Though he was really good after we went 3-0 down.

Was really proactive when we had to be pushed right up on top of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,184 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I'm constantly baffled by the demands to drop this player or that player, sell this player or that player. There is a constant villain of the week narrative and its been going on for a decade or longer. As you say, Martinez played the assisting pass for Amads winner last week, hero. Makes an error this week, get him out of my club. It's bipolar mood swings. I would hope someone at United is taking a longer term view.

At the end of the day when tempers have cooled, Martinez is still going to be a starter in the clubs best XI, especially with 3 at the back. A week or two back, Onana was villain of the week (bizarrely given he's been overall outstanding this season and most of last season too) and there was calls for him to be dropped and run out of the club. I don't want to dunk on Bayindr too hard, but I think we all see now why - despite the "eye test" - Onana is the starting goalkeeper in the clubs best XI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,227 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I mostly agree with that, but you can't compare the Martinez and Onana situations.

Onana has been superb all season, but then has an absolute stinker and yes, lots of folk want him gone.

Yes he played a beaut of a pass for Amad's winner against City but Martinez has been consistently very poor all season.

I'm not calling for him to be sold but he'll need to start showing some consistent form soon if he's to cement a spot in Ruben's first choice back 3 beyond the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,184 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I don't disagree that he needs to improve, but he has some credit in the bank for me that I wont call for him to dropped/sold. Part of the FA Cup win against City after a terrible season - everyone expected City to hand out a lesson - was him being back available and playing in it. Plus, his character, from what I've seen in interviews, is what this team needs. He seems to be a tough little so and so, and we have very few of those over the past few years.

Even if he is dropped, who takes his place in a back 3 assuming the other two are Maz and MDL? Maguire (on a redemption arc, but a low one), Yoro ( promising, but made critical errors in this game that get hidden behind the focus on Martinez) Evans (going to play to 40+ years old?), Lindelof (at best meh), Shaw (constantly injured). For differing reasons, Martinez is better than all of them.

My issue is that in a perfect world, there would be 10 top class centre backs clawing tooth and nail to take the place of Martinez, and we could run some sort of regime where its deliver an 9 out of ten performance or be dropped/sold for someone else. But there isn't in the real world. Martinez, even if having a relatively poor run of form, is still going to start in United's best XI. It's going to require years of repeated successful transfer windows before United's XI is so good that Martinez cant get in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,227 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Like I say I pretty much agree with you. Particularly on the attitude part. His kind of bite and determination is very valuable to the team.

The only thing I was disagreeing on was the Onana comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭ollkiller

New manager is in and for the first time in years we are developing proper patterns of play. Tonight was annoying but for the first time in years I'm excited. Mazrauri and Ugarte are top additions to the squad. Amadonna. What's to say. Baller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,214 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How many goals have now been scored because of the simple act of Diallo chasing down the ball or putting pressure on defenders?

Hard work pays off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

It would be interesting to know from a stats perspective how much running are they doing now compared to ETH time.

Looking at it on TV, it's like night and day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,880 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Bayindir is another ETH masterclass of a transfer. That mans transfer judgement has set us back years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Martinez is a liability at this stage, so error prone, yeah he can pick a pass but I prefer my defenders to be good defensively and he's not, players need to be accountable for poor performances so I'd have no problem with him being dropped.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,961 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

An occasional assist (I think he has one this season) doesn't cover over his terrible form and individual defensive errors imo. I know guys will say it's only the League cup but he's been really poor for months now. Was clearly at fault for two of the goals last night. The coach can't keep rewarding this by making him un-droppable.

Dropping the likes of Rashford is easy. His form nosedived 18 months ago and the work ethic isn't there - other managers have dropped him in the past even when playing well. But he still has some important calls to make in defence.

Amorim needs to avoid creating a group of "favourites" who are un-droppable (regardless of performance). We've seen how this mistake has cost previous managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Bayindir was fairly rusty but in fairness the lad hadn’t played in 2 months and it was only his 3rd game of the season. I don’t really care too much about him when he isn’t going to be used unless something happens to Onana, a lad who has proven he doesn’t want to miss any games. Having a really good second choice keeper is a privilege - poor Chelsea have 8 keepers and not a single one of them appear to be good enough 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I dunno - not that I think Bayindir is great, but I just don't know if he was targetted by EtH. I would have assumed back up keeper would be something the recruitment team drive rather than the manager himself.

I would also say Casemiro and Eriksen were not driven by EtH in terms of selections, but would have had his agreement. Similar with Hojlund, I believe he was selected based on data analysis - as was Zirkzee according to recent reports re. Ashworth. I don't think EtH personally selected and drove every transfer that was done under him.