Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Delivery cyclists - grrrr..

• 18-06-2024 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭sporina

they are a menace - was out on my bike today and one almost crashed into me - we wer on cycle paths but as I was going around a corner he came towards me in my lane - twas a close call

he was working for Deliveroo - will send an email to the company… prob won't do much use but better that than sit complaining and so nothing..

have seen them do crazy things - PS in Cork City

anyone else have a close call with one of them or seem them do dangerous stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

The sooner most of these crappy app based companies go bankrupt the better.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

A lot of them don't even have lights. They're practically invisible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Deliveroo would tell you that they are independent contractors, nothing to do with them. A pox of a company along with uber and the rest.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,866 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

We spotted a chap on a dominos branded e-bike the other day on Macken Street in Dublin. I had not realised they'd started that.

A proper looking e-bike - usually the ones you see the delivery cyclists on are retrofitted frankenmachines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭growleaves

I've seen a few Deliveroo cyclists almost get themselves killed.

One cycled smack bang into the back of a truck.

Another cycled out at a bridge when a car was turning left - luckily stopped in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

and the sorry thing is, if there is a collision, every other party involved, Gardai, cyclist will try and pin it on the big bad motorist…. get a dash cam if you are a motorist….rear facing too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭sporina

so deliveroo cannot be held accountable..

but are dominos accountable when such a bike is in use?

Lol, the Gardai taking the side of a cyclist over a motorist? Rarely if ever happens, try cycling sometime, you'll soon see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

One and a half million people killed by traffic every year, and here you are, complaining about the group that does the least of it.

Yet, you manage to see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

I knocked one down the other day about 10 mins from my house. Worked out grand though, turned out it was my delivery he had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Live in Cork City Centre. Walk to work and every day run the gamut of these delivery riders, the vast majority of them Deliveroo. Cycling on footpaths, zig zagging between pedestrians, breaking red lights, speeding around corners. They're a pain in the hole.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,866 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

The sooner they are replaced with robots the better, ive nearly hit one or two on the silly assumption that red pedestrian lights behind me meant it was safe to pull out, silly me making such assumptions

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Separate to the discussion on delivery cyclists but no traffic lights, whether green, amber or red, mean that it is safe to pull out!

Im not sure I quite get your point but the problem with E anything is that they are "too fast for the eye" , they are small and appear out of nowhere due to their speed (and often dont have working lights). if everyone obeys the rules of the road its more predictable. Bring on the robots! automate that shiiiit

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Frumy

Few days ago one flew out in front of me when I had green lights at a right hand turn in South Dublin. I was maybe one foot from running him over at 40kms after slamming on breaks. He just shrugs his shoulders and rolls on. He didn't look at all just went straight out in front of traffic and as usual no lights.

I want to make a point on this

These delivery idiots in battery powered bikes with zero lights and crappy dirty dark green jackets that have little to no visibility do no represent cyclists! In fact they aren't really cyclists as such so when we speak of these people don't lump everyone into the one category of 'them cyclists' Many cyclists are safe/lit up and use hand signals. These delivery guys are a totally different thing and law onto themselves.

I'm convinced alot of them too skirt close to collisions and they simply don't care as they are generally poor Latin American fellas and they would take a few broken limbs for a a payout of several thousand too.

A commuter cyclist generally knows their route very well, enjoys the odd breather at the lights lol and isnt in a hurry to get from A-Z, Delivery guys are on a clock, probably looking at all kind of apps, a totally different beast using bad equipment and taking short cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,192 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

@silverharp

The apps I believe have very severe late penalties and often unrealistic delivery times which put pressure on the courier and encourage dangerous behaviour.

End of the day anything involving roads in this country can be put down to a simple lack of enforcement. Some people are just pr1cks who need to be forced into doing the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

And all because we want everything to our door now.

its not the consumers fault if the apps over offer/promise

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Consumers use the app because of it sets an expectation of prompt delivery (somewhat) cheaply.

how much do the delivery guys get per delivery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

well it is the consumer's fault for allowing deliveroo to thrive. i don't use them because it's a pyramid scheme basically. i have a friend in london on 6 figures working for deliveroo while immigrants bust their balls trying to make a few quid and aren't even entitled to sick leave. these delivery apps seem to be absolutely booming in dublin too, during a cost of living crisis. keep your money and walk to collect your food or cook something at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If people weren't so lazy about getting food for themselves we wouldn't have 21st century "coolies".

• I wouldnt say its as simple as that, sure their are clauses (penalties) for late delivery etc…

Who in their right mind would do that job, must take some desperate person, pity the guys really..

Nobody would put their life at risk unless they were desperate, shame on the companies… they dont give a **** as they know they will always get someone desperate enough to sign up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Robots won’t care if they hit you either. They’ll probably generate more tyre particles so will bring the ire of some.

well, if they got 4 quid per delivery, they'd want to be making three deliveries per hour to even gross a minimum wage.

getting to the restaurant, waiting for the food, getting to the customer… i'd say that could easily take 20 minutes

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Cant see then consistently earning minimum wage … killing yourself for not even minimum wage - companies need to be held accountable..

Disgraceful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭LimerickGray

why can’t they just put lights in their bikes/wear helmets/hi viz gear. I emailed deliveroo previously and they said drivers advised to comply with laws.

Its not the consumers job to care, anymore than if they are getting a tesco delivery or some such. Its a political failure if the supply side is artificially too soft as it seems to be here. Ive a son at college who has a "weekend job" but by my reckoning he is a little "ripped off" because he doesnt get a weekend premium, an anti social hours premium but he likes the experience and the people and its just walking around money anyway

they will obey the rules so there is that and they will be programmed to anticipate collisions and avoid, much better than a distracted human. There are lots of jobs that can be automated like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

It's really something that the Gardai need to take a close look at, maybe run a safety campaign for the Delivery drivers, checking for illegal electric motors on the bicycles, checking on basic awareness of rules of the road. Many come from countries where there's no rules of the road so it's definitely needed.

Use of the M50 by Deliveroo bicycle drivers is definitely one that needs to be stamped out, the last one I saw was last week at the Dundrum junction, 3 lanes and a Deliveroo biker pedalling away could have been easily wiped out by a truck.

• I think the companies need to be looked at and give them better working conditions.

would say they do what they do to make at best minimum wage, if they had better conditions maybe they wouldnt flaunt the rules soo much..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I get the LUAS from Abbey Street of an evening - they all congregate there waiting I presume for their next job.

The number of times someone has almost been hit by them, they're a complete menace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I was pleasantly surprised to see a delivery cyclist waiting for a green light yesterday. The junction wasn't particularly busy so they could have jumped the lights and gone on. But no, waited patiently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

They're a menace irrespective of what type of road user you are. Cyclists, pedestrians and motorists are all affected by them. I've seen them cycling the wrong way down cycling lanes with other cyclists having to take evasive action, going straight through busy pedestriann crossings at speed while the pedestrian light was green and wandering through busy junctions on a red light while looking at their phone apps for the next job.

The argument that they are underpaid and being abused by their "employers" is irrellevant. Somebody is going to get killed because of their behaviour

of course they're going to wash their hands of responsibility - the whole model of how they employ the cyclists is to avoid any responsibility.

That's not the issue I raised, and there's no excuses to be putting their lives in danger by pedalling on a Motorway.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

perhaps deliveroo cyclists have a loose relationship with the law because the law has a loose relationship with them? i've heard several stories about the gardai not bothering to follow up assaults against them, and then there's this;

They'll have a very loose relationship with their existence if some of them keep cycling on a motorway…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭growleaves

It's not a cyclists vs. motorist argument imo because Deliveroo cyclists are not typical of cycling- they are erratic risk-takers (and would presumably also cause trouble on motorised e-bikes.)

Due to the nature of cycling they will not be directly responsible for a high number of vehicular manslaughters but they can get themselves killed* and increase chaos, danger and unpredictability for every type of road user. That's not good

*Unless you are an extreme libertarian you understand it isn't just about whether you flatten other road users.

They won't because it's way way way down the list of dangers they are already not doing enough about.

If they are not going to do more about dangerous car driving and road deaths why would they tackle "getting a fright" from a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Sadly you are right but I'd argue it's more than a fright - I was clipped by a cyclist going on the pavement (that area between Jervis and the Quays) and took a right fall - yeah I'm not in danger or anything but ended up with a skinned knee and elbow that looked like I should be in the Beano!

Cyclists in general will use the lanes where available and the road where not and by and large is they skip a red it's on an empty road where it's causing no harm.

Delivery drivers however, is like a 2 wheeled version of Death Race 2000 at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭thomil

This!!! I cycle as part of my daily commute, more precisely, I use TFI Bikes here in the real capital to bridge the gap between my place of work and the closest bus stop served by my bus route home. Whilst there's the occasional Lance-Armstrong wannabe in an overpriced racing rig and far too tight lycra, the only real "threat" from my perspective is those delivery riders. Not only do they drive like complete maniacs, I'm 95% certain their hideous Engwe brand ebikes, which seems like the standard ride for these guys, are not even street legal. Contractor or not, gardaí need to start cracking down hard on these maniacs!

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Well that issue is lack of enforcement by Gardai.

I certainly didn't get a fright by seeing the deliveroo driver cycle past the Motorway on-ramp, but that's because I saw him and slowed down, next time someone like him may not be so fortunate and could end up being killed or seriously injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

What do these services actually bring to the nation? I mean most take out food is unhealthy over priced rubbish and it's not like the delivery riders are massively contributing tax payers most are probably sending any little money they earn home.

But that's the thing "next time"

We always hear about "next time" "could end up" or "before long" but it has never come. The fact is it's way down the list for a police force that don't even seem too bothered about the top of the list.

• tbh I think it is…the issue you raised is they cycle like maniacs, so what I said is very much on topic

if the job didn’t have such sh*t conditions, they could make this money without having to put theirs and other ppls lives at stake!

I know it’s not right that they do this, but unfortunately this is the society we live in, ppl will do alot to get money, and even at that it’s not very much money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Often see then working from the Ringsend Dominos.

people seem to happily agree that the people being discussed are usually on non-regulation e-bikes.

non-regulation e-bikes are legally classed as mopeds, so they are not delivery cyclists, they are delivery motorcyclists.