Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clutch replacement cost?

• 14-06-2024 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭

have been driving a Citroen MPV GP for last 7 years and was hoping to keep it for another year or two but it started giving gearbox failure problems...now mechanic says it needs clutch replacement costing at least 1500... wondering if it's worth replacing clutch for a 09 year car ;(

I would.

Anything newer is going to set you back at least 5k and there is no guarantee it will be any better than what you have. The second hand market took a substantial jump after COVID and hadn't really come back down.

The only thing that would make me walk away would be if it's a diesel as you could be facing end of life DPF issues which could be very pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭con747

Sounds expensive for a new clutch but I don't know much about Citroen's. Is that a main dealer or an Indie?

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭hello2020

Thanks for getting back...it's Diesel 09 Citroen Grand picasso 7 seater..

clutch replacement quote is from a trusted Citroen mechanic but not the main dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭sonyvision

My two cents.

If the rest of the car is in good working order, replace the clutch, even at 1,500 its better to have the same car now then trading up a few years to a lower spec. Every possible chance whatever you buy could have hidden issues.

Last summer I spent 2,500 on a gearbox in a 06 merc automatic. Car has been in the family from new, if I was to buy another car for 2,500 likely I would only get a 09 plate with high millage. Car past the NCT, suits my needs as a 2nd family car. Heated seats, full cream leather interior, cruise control. It was well ahead of its time and im delighted to still be driving it.

I'd still get a second quote or 2 because I had plenty of clutches replaced on different makes of cars and never paid anywhere near that even with a gearbox reconditioning. Maybe it's a labour intensive job and it's all labour costs. Have you checked the cost of the parts? Have a look at mister auto or similar for a rough price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭lizzyjane

1500 for a new clutch wow I hopes its an LUK one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That price seems a bit high but probably includes a new dual mass flywheel too which would be recommended to be changed while the clutch is being done. Maybe get a price from a different garage to compare prices.

Should you spend that sort of money on a 15 year old car? Well yes unless you want to splash out on a newer car instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭colm reilly

Check out cost of clouch kit on micksgarage or autodoc .It will give you an idea of the labour costs includeing vat .If car engine good in good condition id keep it .As other posters have said 2 nd hand market is all over the place since covid .Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

2nd hand market is all over the place since Brexit but car dealers are trying to take advantage by ripping people off but this is why their lots are full of cars they can't shift.

I've see diesel Hyundai i30s going for 12,500 Euro's with 160,000 Kms and more 10 years old.

The slave cylinder went in the Missus 2015 Outlander 2.2 Diesel so replaced that and clutch because the Gearbox had to come out…… full service and replace dif oil and it cost 1600 for the lot.

There's major advantages keeping old cars on the road, much better than the temptation of cheap PCP monthly payments that can end up costing a lot because of the balloon at the end and the risk of not wanting to pay it and going for another 3 years, I did it for 9 years, bottomless pit !

New cars have far too much tax and are grossly over priced which is why I won't buy another. I am more than prepared to maintain an older car from now on.

There's a big shortage of Mechanics and it's much worse for motorcycle mechanics, we really need to go to schools and collages and recruit mechanics.

OP how many miles are on the Citroen ? if it's in good condition and not mega kms on it I'd say go ahead and replace it because the way things are now you will pay a lot for a 2nd hand car up in the years and with high mileage……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Renault Grand Scenic 2017 1.5d

collapsed clutch diaphragm. for now it's still driving fine

Renault dealer has recommended replacing clutch kit, flywheel, slave and master cylinders (gearbox must be removed for this repair)

for the princely sum of €2911.29

i assume if i go independant garage that i'd get better pricing. It's out of warranty now

thing is, we were considering replacing it as the kids are older now and you can count on one hand the number of times 6 of us went anywhere in the last 12 months.

Would still need to have an estate type car, diesel with manual gearbox as older kids are currently learning to drive and will be doing test within a year. For one of them, he's thinking of doing an apprenticeship so better for him to have licence to drive either manual or automatic cars. we know a couple of lads that didn't consider this and had to go back and do test with manual car.

so repair and keep or change - what do ye think?

An Indie will certainly be a lot cheaper, those engines are a good one so should last if looked after. I had 350,000 on my last one with no major issues so if it doesn't need more work get another quote and work from there. At least you know the car.

How Many miles on it ? those DCI diesels are bloody good engines. Will easily go 300,000 + Kms with proper maintenance.

Go to indi definitely cheaper.

Missus got Oultander slave cylinder and clutch, done, gearbox had to come out too, got full service and Dif oil changed for 1600, granted no flywheel but would still be cheaper than your quote.

I think people are finally realising the benefits of keeping their cars much longer now and good because it saves a fortune over a new car no matter how you look at it. I won't be buying new again because of the cost of new cars is just sick, the tax etc, adding so much tech I don't want or need. My current car I plan to keep a long time.

There are some dealers now pricing work so high to try get you to buy a new car or their work load is far too high, mechanics are hard to get today , motorcycle mechanics even harder.

We need to recruit a lot more people to the trade, the Government need to go to Schools and collages and recruit but suppose they have no interest in this because they want everyone up their tonsils in debt because new cars generate massive income for them in tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭hello2020

Thanks for Ur input... that makes me think I m better off replacing the clutch...will ring around to get a better quote.. thanks all for Ur suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Can recommend GearBox Expert in Dublin. You will struggle to find a more knowledgeable and fairly priced specialist.

https://gearboxexpert.ie

if anyone can recommend an independent place in limerick i'd appreciate it

143k on the renault, going well and in spotless condition. bit big for the kids to learn on maybe, but they'll just have to get used to it

ok lol, would have been easier just to type the bloody make of the car lol.

Anyway, that's not too big to learn. They'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

SRG motors are very good and honest. No bullshit with them.

Seamus McGrath also has a good rep.

Either will do a good job replacing a clutch and flywheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Raichų

clutch kits can get up to €500 for them in fairness and might be needing extra work like cabling etc (and maybe some gearbox work) could be why the price is very high

If it’s JUST the clutch and flywheel they are taking the piss imo.