Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Open 2024- Pinehurst No. 2- 13th to 16th June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

He's doing himself no favours with that kind of behaviour.

If you look at Bryson, he lost narrowly at the previous major. He took it on the chin, manned up and congratulated the winner.

Bryson said yesterday he was determined not to let it happen again.

He's shown class in the last few months, on and off the golf course. Signing the hat of a fan mid course was a nice gesture too.

I've really warmed to BDC the last few months in a way I doubt I ever will to McIlroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,894 ✭✭✭facehugger99

You'd have to say he lost his nerve.

Both Mcilroy and BDC had terrible t-shots at the 18th. BDC showed great nerve and character recovering from his. Well deserved victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 animajic

I don't think it's really fair to compare Bryson's actions after the PGA and Rory's yesterday. For Bryson he did all he could to win but just came up short to the better player, Rory on the other hand had the win in his hands and threw it away. I'm sure most of us would've reacted the same way as Rory yesterday.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

You can understand Rory leaving straight away, but its still bad form.

We'd be calling Bryson out for it if he did it to Rory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,945 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nonsense. Petty, sour grapes and poor sportsmanship. He’s 35, not 5!!

It's disrespectful to your competitors, the event and to the sport. A sport that prides itself on fair play, etiquette and manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

just hit a putt a smidge too hard, thats golf

something Bryson also did, did he choke too? Is everyone a choker

The real sickener is that Rory recovered from his (with his 3rd shot) as well, if not better than Bryson. He just blew the putt

I’m not sold on the choker label. Yes, “poor” play last 4 holes, but a funny old game. That result was decided by millimetres. That’s sport at times. Rory did so well to gain the lead, considering he was 3 shots or so behind at hole 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Why did they both hit driver on a relatively short par 4, 440 yards ?

3 wood was the call, leave yourself with 140-150 yards and still a chance of a birdie.

McIlroy had hit 3 wood there all week and then he decides to go with the driver on the final day.

It wasnt the right call.

De Chambeau was haunted with the lies he had in the rough, how many times was his ball a few inches either side of a tuft of that wiregrass.

I dont think that wiregrass is fair to be honest, its very punitive.

Bryson made more mistakes on the day than Rory did, he had a cushion

everyone else made even more mistakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭whitelaurel

cop on , a smidge too hard. He had 496 out of 496 putts within 3ft sunk. Why is everyone petrified to use the term choked or bottled. It’s clear as day he did. He got a few million , he will be grand.

Can only assume he really wanted to try seal it and get really close to pin for his second. Better had he played safer, but he still blew his birdie putt, so really, the tee shot wasn’t a big issue

why are you so keen to choke or bottle everything

because its stupid

did Bryson choke and bottle his putt?

you probably wouldnt even make it past the first hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

would loved to have seen Rory and Bryson in the last pairing.. may have worked out different for Rory..

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

what are you on about man? I’m shocking at golf. But to suggest that Rory didn’t let nerves affect him yesterday on those final few holes is just downright pathetic fanboying crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭BrianD3

DeChambeau is a character and IMO good for the game. Now exempt for all the majors for at least 5 years regardless of what happens with LIV and rankings. I can see why he might have annoyed some or many people with his approach to the game and antics but I see them as generally positive. Pulling a sign out of the ground at the PGA and carrying it like Jesus and this one which still make me laugh.

https://x.com/DivotRoom/status/1405717340583469060

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

The words choke and bottled get thrown around way too often in sports but cmon now. If those last 4 holes and those 3 foot putts weren't a choke then absolutely nothing is.

and maybe cos they do get thrown around to much is why people seem to be so defensive. But yes if he didn’t choke that then it is basically not possible to choke anything ever and the concept doesn’t exist.

its not, no one can play a perfect round, I can see you know that quite well, do you choke on each shot or what?

Are they all choking all the time? are you choking right now

I wouldn’t be choking because I play so recreationally I couldn’t care less. For you to suggest he’d have missed those putts at the start of the round and it just all averages out is pathetic to be honest. He choked, most of his biggest fans would of course admit same. He might actually come out and say he let nerves get the better of him, what will you say then? lol. I’d say the choke is the reason why he got out of there sharpish too, disappointed in himself.

he missed other putts he could or should have made over the other rounds too

as everyone did, he just missed left

he hit his driver a few feet off the fairway on the last, was that a choke?

is everything a choke

cop on. He hasn’t missed a putt that close in 496 attempts. That miss was a choke. Plain as day, won’t be engaging further with your nonsense. Hopefully he wins the Open.

dont choke on your cornflakes

MOD EDIT, C'mon, attack the post not the poster

Post edited by slave1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

I would argue that the wire grass isn't fair because it is not punitive enough, whether you get punished properly or not is completely dependent on the lie.

That is why Oakmont is the best US Open course because the rough is thick everywhere so you get punished irrespective of where you land in it and a roll of the ball doesn't determine whether you have a tough lie or a good one in the rough.

Regardless of how he lost, it was his own fault not Bryson's who played a really great game. Congratulate the winner, its a fairly basic part of most if not all sports. A 35 year old sore loser is not a good look and does nothing for him or the image of golf which he speaks a lot about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭cosatron

looking at the stats bryson had 17 birdies and 11 dropped shots, mcillroy had 15 bridies and 10 dropped shots. 6 of those 10 dropped shots were in the final 4 holes. At elite level of sport the fine margins are unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Concerned2

What a very exciting but strange final round in Pinehurst ! Bruce couldn't hit a straight drive all day , Cantlay couldn't sink a putt all day and Mcllroy couldn't hit a pitching wedge straight all day. Bruce deserved it but all 3 could really have won it and Mcllroy had at least 1 hand on the trophy with just a couple of holes to go. A lot of people are shocked at how he missed the small putt on the 18th but not every short putt is equal and given the situation and the downhill breaking nature of that putt it was a really nasty putt which I'm not surprised he missed. Now the 3 putt from the middle of the 16th green was very disappointing. Any other round of the tournament and I'm sure he at least 2 putt's that.

A couple of other things went against him , especially his long iron into 5 . But all through the tournament his approach shots from the 140 yard range were awful. It is a testament to his chipping that he almost managed to win it. Also I cringed every time he set up to hit a fade , he can't seem to hit that shot under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

of course Rory will win another major again but it’s frustrating he’s stuck on 4 for ten years now. He should be up near Tiger at this rate. How many top 5s since he last won a major in 2014?