Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Donald Trump the Megathread part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,150 ✭✭✭✭looksee

We all know that organising a picnic or planning a day on the beach will guarantee rain, whereas taking a coat and brolly with you or sowing grass seed will make sure the sun blasts down all day. Does this count as weather manipulation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭McFly85

American republicans consider climate change a hoax but will happily believe in democrat weather control devices. The country is a parody of itself.

Also, why aren’t the republicans using this magic technology to make the weather nice all the time???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,517 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,845 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Because Republicans hate Americans*.

*Obviously, this is in a hypothetical scenario where weather manipulation by the state is possible.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

”Drive to border. Drive across border. Present self at Canadian or Mexican border officials for entry.” Not a difficult escape process.

The US does not have exit control. It’s why you may have noticed that US domestic flight gates are intermingled with international flight gates at airports. Unless, for some reason, you have had reason to come to US government attention while you were overstayed, the US government has no way of knowing that you stayed longer than you should have.

Of course, that doesn’t guarantee re-entry on the same basis as before, but it’s not impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,150 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Some years ago, I think it was in Bush's time, my son was in the US for 6 months working at head office of the US firm he worked for in Ireland. Entirely due to the firm's error he overstayed his visa for 1 day - they booked him a return flight on the wrong day. Immigration made an unconscionable fuss about it and as a result any time the company wanted him back in the US he had to get a visa and explain himself at length Thank goodness it was then and not now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

The byproduct of so many Republicans being anti-science is that they are also anti life-saving science.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,845 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Only when it's for other people. They got vaccinated awfully quickly when the covid vaccines came available.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

It was one of the things we noticed after we moved to Texas from California, that a lot of “services” which one might expect to be provided by the state (if at all) are instead provided through private charity, often faith based. Sure, they won’t mind if you join their church afterwards, but it’s legitimately motivated by “help thy neighbour”. I don’t recall, for example, free swimming lessons for the toddler being offered by California, but a local church in Texas offered them. Fantastic, he knows how not to drown if he falls into a pool and can reach the side. San Antonio’s model for dealing with homelessness is a joint venture between the city and a church, and is considered highly successful and a model to be followed due to its success rate.

In effect, the practical difference is the State in one case saying “we as a society shall prioritize what we think is important to help your neighbours, and you are going to contribute to those things whether you like it or not”, whilst in the other case the state is willing to let loose the idea of “you as individuals know to help your neighbour, and we trust you to do it to a large extent”. Both work, the it becomes a matter of preference.

Case in point, what’s the Northern or Western equivalent of the heavily redneck “Cajun Navy”? They are an officially integrated NGO of volunteers for flood rescue operations, whereas a lot of other areas would be relying on local, state or federal employees to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭yagan

There seems to be a lot of stories about people leaving the US being placed by ICE in profit driven detention centres, including legitimate visa holders.

Reading their own info the basic message seems to be that even if you have a one way ticket booked ICE can still arrest you at departures and put you in a for profit detention centre.

https://www.ice.gov/self-deportation

Basically what should be a straight forward process is now a license to print money.

Post edited by yagan on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

That ear !!!!!!……….looking well, totally unmarked !!

The ones I can find are those such as this lass from the UK

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/apr/05/i-was-a-british-tourist-trying-to-leave-america-then-i-was-detained-shackled-and-sent-to-an-immigration-detention-centre

For those who click the link, the subtitle is "But as she tried to leave the US she was stopped, interrogated and branded an illegal alien by ICE. Now back home, she tells others thinking of going to Trump’s America: don’t do it."

Reality, the headline should be "After working illegally in the US, I was denied entry into Canada, then arrested by US border agents trying to get back into the US"

Suddenly, according to Guardian readers that's a "Trump's America" problem instead of a "her not understanding the rules of two different countries" problem.

She had successfully left the US without coming to the attention of ICE agents. Has she picked a flight to Heathrow instead of Canada, she would have least made it home without a stopoff in any detention centers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The fact that there's an active concern about being prevented from entering the US because you're critical of Trump, that is Trump's America.

https://www.politico.eu/article/france-academic-denied-entry-united-states-donald-trump-personal-opinion-messages/

That's fair enough to bring up, but not related to the earlier matter of "feeling stuck in the country"

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 17,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Or they could have handled it without a detention centre at all..

It's the blunt instrument approach they are taking just to appear "tough".

That could have been handled in a much much better , less contentious way, without a stay in a detention centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,324 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Only if you drop down to his level. For instance, you never trash talk like he does, you never react like he does, fake news etc.

You stay respectful and criticise intelligently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The regime is turning the way of Russia/ North Korea,say anything critical of government and you will be punished,, he has the media gagged already because they were his first targets.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,332 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Being put in some kind of detention centre if denied access to a country is pretty standard. Now the manner of how the US is currently doing it is a whole other thing of course - the shackles are ridiculous and most people would be detained in the airport (though she was crossing by bus) and there is no plausible reason to keep them in detention for 19 days if they are willing to book prompt travel home. But well, yeah, in most countries she would be sent to detention under these circumstances. The cruelty of ICE detention is, of course, the point. But some perspective is still useful here.

Unlike these other cases, Burke had been trying to leave the US, rather than enter it, when she was detained for nearly three weeks.

This bit from the article is fundamentally incorrect though. She was essentially detained trying to re-enter the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,525 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I have a buddy in the US that is fairly MAGA orientated. He's also super in to the Epstein stuff. It's at the same time amazing, hilarious and depressing to see how people like that are folding themselves into having nothing left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,489 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

https://www.threads.com/@aaron.rupar/post/DL2o2eSJwzv?xmt=AQF0YkUUQQ6zlzYfe7Vm_krotdl_2w_Cnv8B42PeHAJb-Q

Very sketchy behaviour by Trump, as he interjects on a question about Epstein.

It's almost as if there's something to hide....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,525 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The orange clown is gonna end up burying people under the WH, and all his small government cronies will celebrate it. His proud military men will happily do the lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Pam Bondi’d body language says a lot in that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

As well as the tremble in her voice. Useless ghoul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

America is a weird place.

I can't get my headd around the fact that no one just turns around to trump, tells him he is a gobshyte and to cop on to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭yagan

By their own wording which I linked to their government page they will detain you even if you attempt to self deport.

Do you want me to post that link again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭mikewest

Oh but they do. His very first Secretary of State Rex Tillerson (former CEO of ExxonMobil" confirmed he called him "a fcuking moron" when he quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

He's the President and unquestioned leader of his party (much more so than 1st term). Trump just banishes anyone who doesn't suck up to him enough.

Was struck by Hegseth praising him after the bombing of Iran. I thought way he phrased it, you'd almost think Trump was right in there planning out the operation and directing it! Think I have heard similar from others (e.g. Rubio).

Can you imagine it here if all the cabinet ministers had to do a little spiel about the visionary leadership and the strength of Our Taoiseach, M. Martin or whatever everytime they opened their beaks about something in public? It'd be ridiculous, a joke.

When it comes to the Republicans and Trump's cabinet + officials, the US is now very much the land of the lickspittle, shamelessly brown-nosing the boss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

He has the nerve for them to talk about Epstein during a time of awful crisis in Texas, but did he not brag about having the tallest building in part of New York hours after the 9/11 attacks. What an absolute Kunt he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭pad406

Not only did he brag about it, he either lied or got it wrong. Trump Tower wasn't the tallest but the 2nd tallest left in Manhattan.

Given what we know now of him, I'll be going with lied.

But what an utter douche bag to be talking like that after the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

The perfect scenario would be for a reporter with accreditation for the WH ask little miss bimbo press secretary a question or two and then go off on a rant telling the assembled what the majority think of Mr. Plump these days, tell it like it really is and fu*k the consequences. Would make great television.