Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man gets 10 months for threatening to send personal pics

• 14-05-2024 10:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭

Firstly, I don't condone what this man did. It was nasty and conniving and must have brought great stress to the victim.

However, 10 months in prison for essentially saying something he shouldn't have is absolutely preposterous. I know people who threatened to kill someone who got off with verbal warning from Gardai. But no, this is a "hate" crime and despite the fact that he was drunk when he sent the message, showed deep remorse and apologised and plead guilty despite them losing the evidence against him - the clown of a judge sentences him to 10 months regardless.

Some judgements set down by judges over the years have been mind boggling. Those were for actions. But now they are sending a strong message out that they will take jurisdiction over our words now too. Shocking stuff.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2024/0514/1449117-intimate-images-threat/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I know people who threatened to kill someone who got off with verbal warning from Gardai

If they genuinely thought he was threatening to kill someone then they should all be fired for that.

It is coercive blackmail. It seems on the the heavy side, but it's a despicable thing to threaten to do. Portraying prosecution over threats and blackmail as prosecution over "words" is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Martin Nolan enough said.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭gipi

There were lots of public service adverts on tv from the gardaí last year to advise that even threatening to share images is now a crime.

Can't do the time, don't do the crime.....

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chosen1

Absolutely no problem with this sentence and shows a strong message that this kind of sh1t should not be in anyway tolerated.

Biggest surprise here is Judge Nolan actually handing out a custodial sentence for a sexual offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

So you agree that a person's words should be sufficient for getting them imprisoned for 10 months?

Just wait until you fall on your own sword with this

• Registered Users Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

This case is from before that ad campaign,

20 months with 10 suspended seems fairly harsh, for what was probably nothing more than a drunken outburst. I'm not sure a custodial sentence is appropriate at all tbh,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Didn't even clock it was him. Wonder what drove him in this one versus letting full blown rapists off the hook.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Musicrules

This is a great decision from the judge. This kind of thing is not on. It's disgusting behaviour. Strict sentences might make other men think twice before doing similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,316 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Threatening to post intimate images on social media - 10 month sentence. Nolan.

Punching and repeatedly kicking a woman, dragging her out of a car by her hair, standing on her neck for a minute and threatening to kill her - 0 month sentence. Also Nolan.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2022/10/12/man-who-punched-kicked-ex-partner-in-savage-attack-gets-suspended-sentence/

• Registered Users Posts: 16,636 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The man, who cannot be named to protect the anonymity of the victim, told gardaí he was annoyed and was drinking when he sent a voice message to the woman threatening to put the images on Facebook and send them to her mother and her social worker.

That's horrendous, he deserved the sentence. I know Martin Nolan is notoriously lenient but he was right here.

It might make others think before they threaten, blackmail or harass others.

he was pleading guilty despite the fact that the voice message which had been played to him by gardaí after his arrest had since been lost and could not have been used against him if the matter had gone to trial.

He needed better advice

Just goes to show, honesty is not the best policy.

He was right? This was one flash-point message and it gets him 10 months in prison! There have and are currently people putting up with sustained physical abuse and harrassment for years with perpetrators getting off scott-free and even cases where the Gardai wont' do anything about it.

But this case, "Oh a flippant remark by 45 year old white straight man, my least favorite bracket of society, send him off, serves him right!!"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,827 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

F*ck him. He knew what he was doing and now he gets the consequences. He has only himself to blame.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Careful now, in 10 years there could be a law that could see you serve a sentence for messages like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,350 ✭✭✭Augme

There's a conspiracy theories forum for stuff like this btw.

There were people ridiculed in conspiracy threads 10 years ago who warned that people would be imprisoned for words only.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,827 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The lengths some people will go to to defend utter scumbags…

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

The lengths people will go to control what others say, I can assure is a far more sinister prospect. But can understand why you would want to deflect from this.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Sorry but blackmail has been a crime since time immemorial. Is blackmail just words in your opinion and not a crime?

blackmail noun

the action, treated as a criminal offence, of demanding payment or another benefit from someone in return for not revealing compromising or damaging information about them.

The man was not demanding anything, he sent idiotic drunken messages, that does not warrant almost an entire year in prison.

The man has 10 previous convictions, including public order, road traffic and criminal damage offences.

The man has a good work history, counsel said, but his alcohol and drug addiction issues “got the better of him”, adding the man was homeless for a number of years.

Ms Small outlined her client's personal circumstances, including a history of mental health issues and psychiatric in-patient treatment.

Cant help but feel if it was yer man in the ad he'd be walking away with a fine or a donation to the poor box

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

"Your honour , I said all this before the ads came on the telly reminding me it was wrong .

Thing is, your honour, I wouldn't have seen those ads anyhow as I don't watch RTE .

And I never would've been threatening if I had thought I might actually get prison time " .

• Registered Users Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Stark

He'd have to threaten revenge porn on a partner first before falling on his own sword. Pretty easy thing for any decent human being to avoid.

You seem very wound up about this particular case. Anything you'd like to admit to?

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The relevant act under which this prosecution was brought is The Harassment, Harmful Communications and Related Offences Act, otherwise known as Coco's Act.

The sentence was at the lower end of the range laid out in legislation which allows for up to 7 years imprisonment and an unlimited fine.

https://www.gov.ie/en/policy-information/35bec-intimate-image-abuse/

• Registered Users Posts: 85,623 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He had left school after primary and had lost both parents in tragic circumstances. He had suffered mental health issues requiring admissions to various psychiatric units, she said. He is currently homeless but had since engaged with his probation officer and was hoping to take up a course.

He had a number of unrelated previous convictions from the District Court, the court heard.

Judge Martin Nolan said the plea of guilty in circumstances where evidence had been lost was very valuable. He had also shown remorse.

I am surprised it is this judge but imho a fair sentence, revenge porn, even threats is taken seriously the last few years

I do not know why anymore would send nude selfies or let themselves be filmed nude by anyone, just my take as it can always hang over your head, be out there forever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

In this case it appears to me that justice was metered ourtappropriately. We now have 'revenge porn' laws for this type of crime and they are warranted.

I do take the point though that the sentencing from our judiciary is deeply inconsistent. This sort of threat to release intimate photos can be disturbing for the victim and custodial sentencing serves a purpose to deter would be assailants. However, as one poster showed here, getting a suspended sentence for a prolonged violent attack is just not congruent with any form of justice. Given that the same judge handed out both of these sentences is ludicrously inconsistent.

Take the recent case of the Limerick hurler who beat someone to a pulp. Suspended sentence. Another farce.

Revenge porn is a nasty, vindictive crime and deserves the threat of a custodial sentence. But so too does violent assault. This is much like refereeing decisions in sport, all we ask for is consistency in the application of the laws.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,583 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

See you in 10 months OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

The man was not demanding anything, he sent idiotic drunken messages, that does not warrant almost an entire year in prison.

He got what he deserved.

You clearly haven't considered the impact his "idiotic drunken messages" must have had upon the person he made the threats to.

Or you have, and just don't GAF?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,254 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

The OP obviously has no idea of the damage that can be done to a person if personal private images are shared to the public. People have died because of this.

Threats as "Only saying words" had been a crime for a long long time. Threatening serious harm unto a person can land you up to 10 years in prison. What this man did is akin to threatening harm.

The threat to share these kinds of images absolutely deserves a sentence such as this in order to provide a real deterrent for this despicable act.

But I don't think the OP gets this, and I expect them to retort with some kind of victim blaming.