Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car damaged in supeemarket car park - neck of some people.

• 08-05-2024 09:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

My wife was parked in a supermarket car park this week. As she was returning to the car she saw another car - trying to park in the adjacent space - hit her car. Wheel arch dented and paint scapes along the side. She took the drivers details etc. Driver asked to pay without going through insurance, so my wife got a quuote from a local garage - seems reasonable - cost of repairs not too bad, and told the other driver.

This evening, thd driver asked to look at the quote and inspect the damage. Turned uo at our house with two relatives, one of whom did all the talking.

Started out with this relative saying "that damage was there already...." (which is not true). Then started saying ".....your wife hit our car as she waz reversing out..." Again not true - they hit a parked car with nobody in it. Then it progresses onto ". . my sisters a guard.........your wife can be done for leaving the scene of an accident...." To which I pointed out that they hit a parked car in a car park etc etc before pointing out the imappropriateness of her threatening this while mentioning her sister is a guard. I shut down the conversatiion mentiioning I'd report the sister ti GSOC if she went down that path.

Any views on what to do next? I'm not optimistic that they'll pay the repair cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,706 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Maybe try the Motors forum, or the Insurance forum.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Ring your insurance company in the morning. Let them deal with it. That's what you pay them for.

An insurance assessor will usually be able to tell straight away who is responsible.

If that crowd ever show up at your door again, record them and call the Gardai. Don't deal with them whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,973 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

CCTV in the carpark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Report to your insurance and theirs.

Do you have a dash cam?

Find out if the car park have cctv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭csirl

Yes, I think there's CCTV. Wife will ask them to preserve the footage tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Just go through insurance. Some people see someone being decent with them as a sign of weakness and try to walk all over you.

Do not engage with them at all in future. Just say its being dealt with by insurer.

Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Report to your insurers, let them deal with it.

Don't engage with those "people" again.

If they call to your door, inform them its being dealt with by the insurance companies and close the door.

Update - going thru insurance rather than dealing with them.

The irate relative mentioned in my OP turned up at the house again about an hour ago. Neither my wife or I were at home. My elderly MIL answered the door and was subjected to a very abusive rant from the person. Luckily my daughter was also home and was clued in enough to record the incident on her phone. Thinking about going to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Pass that onto the guards.

Harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Get the Gardai involved. They'll put the frighteners on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Never EVER entertain someone who says they'll pay for damage themselves.

Just get their insurance details, take a couple of photos to include the reg number and leave.

Also, never give your home address.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

straight to their insurance. You gave them the chance to avoid insurance but they ruined that. You did take their details?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Importantly take a photos of the insurance disc as it gives you their insurance company and policy number.

Wife had taken pic of the insurance disc, reg and damage - spoke to other parties insurance company -ithey are arranging repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Ring insurance, inform carpark management company, CCTV may show incident but will need to be stored before overwriting. Report the conversation about sister being a Garda to local station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭KLF

You shouldn’t invite strangers over to your house although it’s unfortunate some scum are trying to take advantage of you doing them a favour and looking to sort it outside of insurance.

Lesson learnt though to not entertain anything like that in future. They should be the ones running after you with the cash to settle it quietly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Agree, with everything except why would you cause trouble for the sister? Who likely had nothing to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't imagine there is actually a sister Garda. Its all bluff.

Absolute scumbags.

Be sure to claim for everything you can. Hire car during repair etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Same story every time with these don't go through the insurance types. All on for paying out of their own pocket but when they see the quote they quickly change their tune.

I would never entertain it, I pay plenty for my car insurance to not have to deal with that rubbish.

OP that crowd sound like a bunch of tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

I had a neighbour hit my car, while drunk, a few years back. She said she'd pay for the damage herself. When I gave her the quote, she asked to pay it off in monthly installments. I just refused that, so it went through insurance instead.

A more recent tip involved an older woman who couldn't do a three point turn hitting my car. Neighbour had to stop her driving off. She said she would pay for the damage, but wasn't happy with my quote of €300 from a small local place. She wanted an invoice and to pay it herself, and the quote they gave her was €500. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Because if true, their relative needs to be brought to book, but mostly lightly it untrue and the Garda sister is an imaginary character, just part of the intimidatory tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

If it is true, what would she need to be brought to book for? She's literally not involved