Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour boasting not taxed car for 2 years

• 02-05-2024 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭

Neighbour boasting to other neighbours that car not taxed for over 2 years, and only drives short distances at night so never caught. But parks on public road.

Can you rat out non payers out of sheer begrudgery to the Gardai or would they not follow up on 'minor' things like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Ninap

I personally wouldn’t rat him out (might rebound on you for starters). If he hasn’t declared it off the road he’ll presumably have to stump up at some point? Not as easy as it used to be to clear arrears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭User1998

I’d imagine you can if its parked on a public road but why would you bother? You shouldn’t care about his tax affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Is it all bluster or have you checked his windscreen?
    About 20 years ago, a young lad, about 21/22, back home was all bravado about not taxing his car. He hit a checkpoint one summer evening with some lads in the car heading to a GAA match.
    ‘You’re in trouble now’ says one of the passengers.
    Nope. He had the valid tax disc in the glove box the whole time. He never lived it down. Think he’s in Australia now…

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭keithb93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭JVince

Like any payment evasion you run the risk of being caught and that costing a lot more than the saving. With that length of non tax it would be impounded.

In a way he's already paying a penalty in that he can only go short distances and has to be very wary of any garda car with anpr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

The "sheer begrudgery" bit should have you looking in the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Exactly. Messing around like this always catches up with them, one way or the other.
    OP, don’t waste your time on this. If this is the kind of thing your neighbour is boasting about, he is to be pitied.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭dmakc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

poor Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭_H80_GHT

Yeah, mind your own beeswax there fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Always becarful of guys like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

You should also rat out the local young fella who pussed agin the wall last Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,370 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If it's insured I'd leave him to take his chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Taking OP at face value, maybe it's the neighbour that is being a pain in the hole by boasting about not paying Motor Tax. It's a stupid thing to be mouthing off about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Jonathan2712

I've never understood why it is that in scenarios where someone has done something wrong, and another person wants to report them for it, the hate is focused on the one wanting to report it rather than the one who has done something wrong.

Not paying car tax has an effect on us all. Tax take is lowered so the state has to raise funds elsewhere, you cant get an NCT without a valid tax disc, so is the car safe to be on the road? The rules apply to us all equally.

OP if it bothers you, then yes report it. And in doing so recognize this guy is in the wrong, not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,885 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Of course you can get an NCT without a tax disk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Hooked

One million percent. Boasting about it? You'd better believe I'd report him…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Imagine being this much of a male Karen. God lord OP, get a life.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

If the car isn't taxed and he's parking on a public road it can be ceased.

Happened to a guy in our estate who left his untaxed car on the road for years, in the end it looked terrible, flat tyres - covered in moss , perished rubber. Someone got sick of looking at it and reported it to the council. It was never seen again.

*siezed - stupid predictive text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭eggy81

How did it predict ceased from seized? Weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Ted222

Not much of an asset if it can only be driven at night over short distances.

For the sake of a couple of hundred euros a year, he’d have the freedom to drive it anywhere. Plus, he wouldn’t be constantly looking out for checkpoints.

Boasting about it to others rather than keeping it on the down-low is further evidence that he’s not the brightest.

It will catch up with him eventually. Sit back, relax and watch it unfold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

So it's ok to not tax your car and boast about it to those that do? It would deserve the owner right if the car is not ther one day one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Not often does the penalty of being caught outweigh the saving and that's partly the problem in addition with the general low probability of being caught. Depending on the car motor tax can be very expensive (mine is €710 per annum) so two years of that can be quite a saving while back tax can be easily cleared by transferring ownership to a family member. If there was something like a €200 fine for each month the tax has been out of date then that would be a significant deterrent rather than the inconvenience of the car being seized and the resulting impound charges for a day or two storage.

Maybe so, however in this occasion , council contacted - gardai arrived, took one look at expired tax disc, and within 30 mins tow truck arrived.

also ' tank you' for the spelling correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Completely agree with this..

The admiration of the "cute hoor" is still alive and well in this country and part of the reason the rest of us pay so much for everything, and why we have such incompetent and wasteful leadership and institutions - because too many people quietly admit to themselves that they'd do exactly the same given the chance/if they had the balls.

The problem here isn't the OP. It's the neighbour. Anyone who disagrees with that is just as dishonest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I wouldn't bother reporting them to the Gardaí as such. But what I would do is pass on the gossip to as many neighbours as possible and let them spread the story about. Nothing like a bit of local peer pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭JVince

if impounded you have to pay all back tax and forward tax it for at least 3 months and pay the fine and the removal fee and the storage fee.

If using your car as an example, that would be about €2,000 to get it released.

I do agree the 700+ annual rates are ridiculous. I get the idea of pushing people to change, but a cap at €500 or less would be fairer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I'm paying motor tax on 2 cars, so I contribute to the pot… if everybody contributed (like most of us do), then the pot would be a bit bigger, and maybe the country wouldn't be so much of a sh1thole..

So yeah, anyone not paying, needs to pay, because everyone else is, so why the fcuk should I subsidise someone who's not paying.

(whether you agree or not with motor tax is irrelevant, it's there, and the vast majority of law abiding citizens pay it, so why should some smug fcuker not have to pay?)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 736 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Ah yes because our government is so good with money 😅 How much is that new hosptial costing now?

Irrelevant.

So I guess everyone else is happy subsidising people who'll smugly tell everyone they aren't paying their share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Where do you draw the line on reporting. If someone gets a job done for "cash" and you are made aware of it, would you report it ?

I know I wouldn't, neither would I report someone for no motortax.

Anything thats easily traceable via existing systems then yes, 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Sconsey

So following your logic all taxes are a waste, nobody should pay anything…or is it just the motor tax that you have an issue with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Its becoming more common in Rural Ireland not to tax or insure your car, most garda stations are closed down and others downgraded to an hour a day….you could be living 30 miles from a proper garda station in many counties so if your not driving into towns with a garda station your highly unlikely to ever see a guard is many peoples logic in recent years

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 736 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

how did you make that leap. Its impressive, you a journalist by any chace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Sconsey

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,182 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it'd be one thing if the neighbour hadn't taxed the car and kept schtum about it; but if the neighbour is boasting about it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

I'd be more inclined to report him if I knew he was driving un-insured, or with alcohol taken.

For tax, I'd just ignore the boasting, (he's an eejit) and leave it to karma to catch up with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I'd report them. If you don't want to pay tax then park on your own property. Simple as.

Slightly different but I've reported several cars that were simply abandoned in the cul-de-sac at my old house, it's valuable parking space for guests that was becoming scarce with some households having upwards of 4-5 cars these days. One of them was crashed so they left it there and got another car and it became everyone else's problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Yes you can, or if in an urban area, the traffic warden will do the trick also. But be aware to have a report acted upon you will need to give your own details also.