Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something you wished you had known or done earlier in life?

• 28-04-2024 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭

Anything you would wish you started doing before, or could go back and change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

Yes , you owe it to your future self to be selfish while young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

How money can be earned but happiness must be fought hard for., how life can be short, it can often be very hard and brutal.

That one must sit down early in life and think what you want out of it, what will keep you going when things are happening that are a savage hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Would have had kids earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Seneca the Stoic

No one really knows what they are doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,223 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

with experience I’ve learned to

look after your wellbeing and happiness…

learn the value of the word ‘NO’ and never ever be afraid to use it.

Trust your instincts 100%… they will be right more often than they will fail you.

Don’t be afraid to fall out with people if it means maintaining your wellbeing and happiness…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Money may not buy happiness, but it buys comfort and security.

Study for a career that pays well and you'll be insulated from cost of living, energy price hikes, mortgage rate rises etc. Issues with finance is the cause of most fights in a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭foxsake

I spend time on people who didn't deserve it - some advice around that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Don't get married.

Buy Bitcoin early.

Buy MS, Apple, Amazon ... stock when it was cheap…

Buy houses when they were cheap.

Don't be afraid to apply for the extremely well paying jobs.

Money can't buy love, but **** it, you can ponder that in the Caribbean on your yacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Dont have a big wedding, or don't get married at all is easiest!! Feeding people you hardly know to please your parents when paying yourself is such a bad waste of money.

Don't spend money on how a house looks from the outside. It's inside is what matters.

Think carefully if you really want children. Do you want to travel, upgrade houses, cars, live it up will be impacted by those choices.

Don't shack up with just anyone. Make sure you both can live comfortably, financially, with secure decent jobs. Money isn't everything, but it helps an awful lot.

Travel young. Don't let it til you're starting to get crocked and irritated easily!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭PP Lee

Forget about blowing a fortune on rent and other crap like DVDs and start saving for a house as early as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

gtfo Ireland. After gay Byrnes tenure on the late late show ended, things began a long decline. Go to a country where you pay your tax and you get back what you pay for in hospital care when you need it. To a country whose news channels and newspapers report general global events as well, and not the latest morsels of wisdom or gossip about U2 or Diarmuid Gavin.( Thanks but I'll do my own gardening my own untrained way although Monty over on BBC is a bit insightful indeed )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

You don't even need to study to become wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭elperello

When I was at school I had an autograph book.

Someone wrote this in it -

"Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe" 🛶

The person who wrote it died and the book was lost but the sentiment stayed with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

The person died alone in a boating accident whilst suffering with a STD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

An STD implies risky sexual behaviour.

Wouldn't that be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,964 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I wish I knew when I was young, the amount of careers it was possible to have. In particular working with animals, would love to be involved in conservation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭statto25

Family isn't everything. Blood relations are more likely to fcuk you over than outsiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Dan Steely

Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

Between people being thick, self centred and ignorant, there's not many left in the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Read more and watch less brain numbing tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

How toxic social media is to our mental health.

How dangerous over consumption of smartphones can be.

Nothing so interesting.

Alas most of life is lived in prose.

Only a few of us are lucky enough to remember in poetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭clones1980

Wish Id bought physical gold when it was only a couple of hundred euro an ounce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭jj880

I wish I could have appreciated the sacrifices my parents were making for me at a much younger age.

And the euro million numbers before they were drawn instead of after for the first 100m jackpot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Planted more trees 20 years ago around the farm so I could enjoy them now....ive planted a few hundred this year for the young lads benefit.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

People (mainly men) are fragile but don't tip toe around their egos. Just do you're own thing. 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Wear sunscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Be yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

I'd say jujitsu was something I came to after college and changed my life. It can be a way of life in in so many ways. It taught me so many things that they do not even directly teach you. Health, discipline, humility, patience, social, sacrifice, goals, charity, forgiveness, aggression, peace, over coming adversity, flexibility, balance and much more.

Compat, Jujitsu and other martial arts I have brought into my kids lives since they could pretty much toddle. And I see many of the same effects on them as it had on me. I wish I had it in my life since I was 3 rather than over 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭LastApacheInjun

Learn how to drive at 17. I was 46 by the time I learned how to drive. Laziness at the start, and then finances and babies and then a phobia of it got in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

My only regret - and one for the the "I wish I had known" column… Stay in college. Get that Masters. Maybe do a PHD.

I'm 45 and have a GREAT life. Both parents still around. Super family and friends. A gorgeous wife. No kids. No money worries. The house of our dreams. A monsterous garage for my DIY addiction... My health. A job I'm bloody well excellent at (which brings me to my next point).

I've had to work HARD for it. Because the career I picked is 'low(ish) paying'. I jumped at the money - fresh out of college.

I've always wondered, and this is going to sound cocky… I'm far too clever to be in this particular career (design/print). I should've stayed in college, gone into something engineering or mathematical, public sector, etc… earn more, working less.

But… the flip side is I'd probably have made different "life" choices and be miserable! And broke. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Wish I had got the snip when I was 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Wish I had children earlier.

Now in fairness I hadn't met the right woman, but it would be much easier to be chasing after toddlers in late 20s that late 30s.

Fortunately no fertility issues, but some friends are going through rounds of IVF because they just left it too long to conceive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Gary_dunne

This is only really feasible if you live in Dublin. Most have to move for college/work and don't have the option to not rent. May seem a waste to you but a harsh reality for most younger people these days.

somebody wrote that in my uncles autograph book

are we related so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭jj880

Its opposite for Hardy Bucks. Wish I hadnt seen any of it and could watch for first time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I swallowed the blackpill in my mid 20s so I mostly checked out of society since then. That was my destiny so I can't regret not doing anything different. You can only regret things you could have changed.

Well I was a gambling addict during my 20s so I wish I had spent the money I lost on hookers or holidays rather than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭fits

lift weights. Wish I’d started years ago. Have osteopenia now.

I don't know, did your uncles people hail from the Ebro Delta by any chance ?

sadly boring old dublin :( ebro delta sounds like cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Would have had my kids earlier, just to have more time with them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

I wish I paid a lot more into my private pension when I was young. The money invested during those early work years that has 40+ years to grow is one of the best financial investments anyone will ever make in life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

They have a power over us ( when we are young) that is not found elsewhere and know which buttons to press

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,223 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’m not mad about weights but fitness certainly. Growing up I didn’t know anyone who was into fitness beyond playing sport or going for the occasional walk or run which in the Irish climate isn’t exactly the most appealing idea a lot of the time. Was in my mid 30’s before I started exercising which was more out of necessity due to a pretty serious health issue that required rehabilitation….. prevention is better than cure….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭fits

Women in particular really benefit from loading the muscles and bones though. It’s almost necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Kept my PC DVD game GP 4 by Geoff Crammond.

Only now in 2024 do I have a steering wheel ( well, it's a Logitech flight yoke but it does have a switch to toggle it between flight and driving modes )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

If I could sit down with 20 year old me, I'd tell him to be more astute in weighing people up and their motivations. I'd tell him to put time and effort into people who appreciate it and who at least try to return a favour. To focus on people who will make the effort to drop a text or a phone call for no other reason other than to see if you're alive or dead.

I never paid attention to such things and as a result lost good people along the way and wasted time with others who I should have known from Day1 were just drains, out for themselves. People who go missing the minute there's a bump in the road. Some seem to understand this innately, I was totally clueless to it as a young person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Hontou

I wish I had learned to say 'no, it doesn't suit' earlier in life. I spent a lot of years being the doormat of my family and work places. Being the one that hosted all the extended family events at my own cost. Being the one that minded everyone elses children, even though I was busy with my own too. Always the one that stayed to clean up after others. Stepping in for colleagues who had to leave work early on Fridays and doing their work. I found out that this is not appreciated. People don't get remembered for helping others they just get remebered for the one time they say 'no'….and then they are the baddie. Now I just say 'no, it doesn't suit' and I get treated better.