Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forbidden Fruit 2024

• 04-04-2024 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,761 ✭✭✭Fanirish

day splits and acts added

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭dav09

Fairly strong lineup both days. Seen Neffa-T and Flowdan (seperately) last year at different gigs both a very good shout, very distinct style of DJ'ing. Seems far from their height of Aphex Twin, Orbital and Bon Iver headliner days (my favorite year attended) but still not too bad. Always a good day out either way, tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

which act will overfill the large tent and leave the smaller tent near empty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Nelly Furtado headlining, really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,761 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Barry can’t swim will draw massive crowd in a tent if not on main stage.

She will draw massive crowd at it and bet you that crowd reaction to promiscuous girl, maneater and say it right will be insane.
    some of those have billion streams across Spotify and YouTube

she had a resurgence singing on a track for dom dollo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I'd guess on the Sunday it will be Nelly Furtado and Barry Can't Swim on the main stage, with Four Tet and Overmono on in the largest tent. The Saturday lineup is fairly weak but it's a testament to Biceps popularity that it will probably sell out almost entirely on the back of them playing that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Jayno66

Four Tet is closing the main stage on the Sunday, which means a likely clash with Overmono or Barry Can't Swim unfortunately. I imagine Nelly Furtado will be on the main stage before Four Tet.

Interesting, was that on their website? I've a feeling based on the type of crowd that tends to go to Forbidden Fruit that Barry Can't Swim will be absolutely wedged if he's in a tent. I'd have thought he'd generate a bigger crowd at that than Four Tet would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭dasdog

How Groove Armada are still getting away with this kind of behaviour is more a scandal than Nelly Furtado. It's a great city festival - atmosphere is always good. As headliners, War on Drugs and Tame Impala were really dull even though I respect both bands and they have decent albums. Aphex Twin and lots and lots of amphetamine is how I'll fondly remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Jayno66

Yeah it was on the Aiken website about Four Tet closing the main stage on the Sunday. Doesn't appear to be still on their website, but if you Google 'Four Tet Forbidden Fruit main stage' there are various other website that refer to it using the same text as was originally used on the Aiken website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Sean Seoighe

What behaviour are Groove Armada getting away with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well at Life Festival a few year back they done their DJ set and basically were phoning it in, lifeless, nothing like the live act really.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Whipping Boy

I was planning to do the Bicep day but it's really weak vs the Sunday. Don't fancy doing both. Decisions decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Yeah I reckon they need to put Barry Can't Swim on the main stage or else the tent will be too full.

Perhaps they may even put him on the same time as Nelly Furdato.

Also, is Guinness and RockShore the only beer on sale at this? Guinness is not a plastic cup festival drink and I can't touch that Rockshore crap.

aiken events are exclusively Diageo products so usually Guinness, hop house and rock shore

This exactly, honestly one of the biggest put offs for me for Forbidden Fruit, still to get tickets. Gone are the Bulmers C&C Forbidden Fruit days, Five Lamps larger and Pale Ale/IPA which were all nice, Heineken at least grand too at their events. Hop house/ open gate citra (which is unlikely) are beyond average at best. Can't stand when Diageo sponsor anything giving their choices and the usual poor Guinness at the wrong temp in a plastic cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Exbrontegirl

So what sort of crowd tend to go to FF then? Sounds like you’ve been often. I’m going for the first time this year with a group and we’re in our mid to late 40’s. We picked this festival as like the line up especially Barry can’t swim. I’m sure we’ll be the oldest fogies by a country mile!!! Just hope the crowd are up for the craic and into the music rather than getting insta pics on their phones! 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Thanks a million Bodhrandave. Excellent review.
    You could be a music journalist!
    I asked the question as I had heard the festival/crowd had gone downhill in the last few years.

I haven't been since 2019 but it did get younger as it went along it seemed. It also depended on the day, the 3rd day usually had an older crowd (different style acts), mostly around the 20s mark but still a good mix no where near as bad as longitude (thankfully).

I'm in my late 30s and going with a friend of mine. Hoping to see an older crowd too. At least the lineup is very decent this year.

Yes the line up is pretty good alright so hopefully will bring an older crowd. We’ll have the craic regardless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

Tame impala isn’t dull at all. Jesus people are hard to please these days.

Gonna bite the bullet and get the two day ticket, hoping the weather holds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

I've been at a few of these over the years - usually whenever Aphex Twin showed up!

My crew is late 40's and are somewhat resigned to the Insta scenario while in violent agreement we'll have mighty craic all the same. With Four Tet / DJ Seinfeld et al on the bill, should be a sure thing, right?

I’m glad you’re in violent agreement we’ll have the craic.
    Now all we need is a sunny weekend, Aphex Twin to make a late announcement as an addition to the bill, small queues for the bar and Barry Can’t swim to play an intimate after party gig. Sorted.

Anyone know what the story is with the after parties? I am assuming it’s usually the lesser known acts, right? @Fanirish- any ideas? You’re a fount of knowledge!

Have gone to two in previous years, think it was Groove Armada DJ set and DJ Seinfeld maybe the times I went. Never going to be some of the bigger acts but you might get decent sized ones such as Sally C or DJ Boring or something.

Cannot wait to see DJ Gigola, her sets are absolutely insane. A real throwback to 90’s techno, lots of rhythm and groove, very dreamy.

less than 200 Sunday tickets left

Hopefully it won't be too packed on Sunday. Id imagine some tents might be difficult to get into with the amount of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I googled there but couldn't find the stage breakdowns. Do you have a link for it. Thanks.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I think I might go to Overmono over Four Tet. Four tet just seems too mellow for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭showpony1

Says two special guests also to be announced Sunday - last year was Jazzy so guessing someone around that level. I can't imagine they'll be throwing Belters Only or someone like that into that kind of festival as a bit off brand.

say Ewan mcvicar will be one of those. Has a few Dublin shows in next week so probably announced once they are done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭DireD

anyone here been in last 2 years? what is security like? searches , pat downs etc?

Usual arms spread wide, Pat down and throw booze in the bins before entry

Like most festivals they seem to look for glass. Once they're confident you don't have any on you then you should be good.

I don't think they will let you in with cans, just cause you don't have any glass.

it’s not a camping festival, no booze allowed in at all

Apologies lads, was extremely drunk when I wrote that reply 😂

Correct no booze allowed in. But I think what I meant to say was that the security checks aren't overly thorough if you don't have a bag with you. Have seen plenty of people sneak hip flasks and the like in.

Any idea when they announce the times for the acts? And announce who the after party acts will be?
    I fear a few clashes and hard decisions will have to be made! I imagine Groove Armada will clash with Bicep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Could Imogen be one of the special guests?

Thanks for sharing Cork Fm.
    I’m on duty to get tickets for friends who are going to FF. Does anyone know of you can buy multiple tickets for mates too (if you have their FF ticket ref number)? Or are you limited to just one per ff ticket?
    Need to decide sat night bit Sunday is an easy pick. Hope tickets don’t sell too fast.

• If you can buy not ‘of’

Hoping to get Barry Can’t Swim for Sunday night and possibly Sally C for Saturday but not sure. Don’t know the acts. Looking for some funky house. Not into any hip hop stuff.
    Hopefully tickets don’t sell out fast.