If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Car scraped while parked

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Imp Lannister

Any update on the outcome? Happened me today. Pretty sure security camera will get the culprit. Right outside the front door of my local Dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭masterboy123

So they can see the culprit and car model. But unable to read the number plate. So no further action taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Imp Lannister

Pretty much the same result for me. Have the car less than a year, and as much as the damage is annoying, its the fact they drove off. Can see them reverse back down a one way system and park elsewhere. Can't get a reg though. New bumper and recalibration of cameras and sensors needed now. Will have to go through my own insurance I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Similar experience in two different shopping centres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Why do you think a minor scrape is dangerous driving.

People have mentioned half a dozen similar incidents and you've only escalated the one where age is mentioned.

Older drivers are not the worst offenders for traffic accidents, the only notable statistic was they are more likely to have severe injuries in an accidents because they are frail. At least that was the case last time I looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,087 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Are you able to share the outcome of this? Someone dinged my door, with the ding audible on the dashcam, which also got the car details, and shows the driver and passenger having a bit of a chat, gesturing in the direction of the damage. I'm wondering will this be enough for their insurer to pay up? Damage is < €1k.

No luck in my case. The CCTV camera can't read the number plate. The Gardai did not come back to me with an update, so I believe they closed the case.

Sorry to hear that. In my case, we spotted the damage when we returned, so we have the reg and insurance disc details of the other car, plus the dashcam footage showing their car reversing in, and the audible ding when they open their door into my door. I'm just wondering about the chances of the insurer paying up, or are they likely to quibble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭pale rider

no ding is a €1000 repair.

Happened to my wife’s car when we were within sight of the car and we challenged the driver, they ignored us, said we are in an hurry and drove off. It was a minor ding but tbh I was fed up having had many dings over the years and never catching anybody.

Reported to Garda, they had a car call to house, apparently mortified, paid up upon me producing a receipt fur repair.

Smartness Dent Repair guys are very good.

The thing is we all have those things happen at some point….I hit a parked car one night whereby a car ahead saw it but braked and indicated last minute and I swerved and into it….

I waited and called the Guards and they took the details….passed mine to the driver and he contacted me.

I believe in being fair….and honest because honesty is the best policy.

I have had people dent my car but when I see they are genuine people I let them off….minor stuff can be fixed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,685 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You need to define a ding or post a photo of it. Is the paint broken?

You don't normally get dings or dents repaired at a main dealer. They will probably quote you to repaint the entire door. Also most main dealers don't have a body repair shop onsite so usually farm the work out to a local paintless dent service or body repair shop and then add their mark up to the price to make it worth their while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Lads bumping cars and driving off want to be carefull now days as there are motion detect dash cams that can catch them .

A friend of mine got a new car and a delivery van hit it and drove off. She had the whole thing on camera showed it to the garda they contacted the driver and told him to pay or he would face conviction. He paid quick enough. I'd say he was shocked he got caught to.

Yep, paint is broken - not by much, but it is broken, and yep, they are quoting to repaint the door - which isn't unreasonable on a very new car.

And yep, I know they probably don't have a body shop, and they'll farm out the work, but they'll farm out the work to someone who's been doing decent quality work for them for years, and they'll QC the work, which is what you're paying for.

The real question is whether yer man's insurer will take the dashcam showing yer man reversing, followed by the audible ding, followed by the two lads looking and gesturing, as confirmation of responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,126 ✭✭✭✭User1998

The other driver will probably just admit to it anyway so the evidence doesn’t have to be 100% clear

In my opinion, you have sufficient evidence. If the CCTV showed the number plate of my culprit, then Gardai were happy to assist. Your case is pretty clear and you will get the cost of repair. I understand you have a new car so go via the dealer. Also, ensure to inform your car insurance about this incident. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭kirving

To be honest, I'd actually forgotten about this, I had surgery around the time and working abroad too. Their insurer wasn't based in Ireland as far as I could see, and they only got back to me four months after I initially emailed. My car still has the scratch though, and I'm still within a 2yr timeframe, so I'm going to open a claim simply to make life difficult for the driver who didn't care about my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,112 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

A lot turns on whether the incident is captured on CCTV or not, and if so if the other party is identifiable.

Whilst the Dunnes security guard may not be in a position to show you the CCTV, he can look at it himself and see if there is anything of evidential value. So asking him to do that is certainly worthwhile. You can also request copies of the footage with others data removed, and that can be useful too, and that can be useful depending on the circumstances.

Got the word back from the other party's insurer that they are covering the full cost of repair by direct payment to the dealer - woohoo. They mentioned the dashcam footage as key, particularly the driver and passenger doing a double-take at where the damage was. The driver told them that he wasn't aware he had done any damage apparently.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,038 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I know a guy who wrote off his car in a car park. They live amongst us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

This Howth local who has "form" puts a parking cone on the road outside his mothers house near O Connells pub in Howth. He scratched an off duty Garda's private car and the evidence was on his own CCTV. Classic scrote he is and they came to his door for the evidence 😂. He is known locally as a scrote, this time the victims gang were bigger than Vincent Hendy.

Howth Car.PNG

Here is Vincent Hendy's mammy's house (he lives with mammy) with his car and the parking cone.

What's the deal on informing the current insurer? Here's what the small print on the current policy says;

- Conduct of Claims You must inform us within a reasonable time of any accident, injury or damage and send to Us any information about the accident or claim as soon as you receive same. You must complete an Accident Report Form and supply any information and assistance that we may reasonably require. All information provided by you or on your behalf shall be the truth.

It's clearly in the context of a claim against the current insurer, which wasn't the case here.

If I caught the person who did the "hit and run". They could say all sorts of things including contacting my insurer to say I hit their cars and left. So its important to contact Gardai and your car insurer also to avoid any possible conflicts in the future.

Also, Aviva car insurance policy states this.