Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost Bovine Tag

• 11-02-2024 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Went about tagging calves today and realised once I opened the box that I am missing the next sequential numbered tag that continued on from 2023, haven't a notion where it went!

Question is, can I just forget about this number and continue with what is left or how do I order the full replacement set when no animal was ever registered under these digits?

Hoping someone had this issue before?

Thanks.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

I don’t think its a problem. I skipped around 10 tags that I had left over when they changed to the new white tags. Never an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I had 6 tags left over beyond the eid deadline, which couldnt be used. So there's a gap of 6 in the number sequence here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭893bet

Can you even order a replacement set for an u registered number? I doubt you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Jb1989

To answer your exact question you can skip to the next number yes 👍🏿

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Skip to next number, no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,416 ✭✭✭emaherx

No issue skipping,

You can also use that tag if you find it later, no need to use tags in order (apart maybe easier for your own admin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,485 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A local farmer called in this evening he has had no calves born in about 5 years. He had a box of tags, double yellow tags with bvd samples. He couldn't get his head around that he cant use these anymore. I assume he will just order eid tags and use the bvd tag? He wanted to know would he be reimbursed for the ones he can't use

I tried that with the 6 left over, it wouldn't allow me order online. I rang mullinahone following day, only tags ordered after 1st July 2022 were acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

No rebursement just his tough luck. When did the IE go from tags; is that 7 years gone now? As if he has those on his tags they are useless.

The first one registered 372- here was on 1 Feb 2017

Never thought of that. He'll only have 2 calves born this year. I stupidly said I'd order the new ones for him and he's with Mullinahone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭green daries

Just have to order new the old tags and numbers are unusable now when they changed to the white tag they started off on the next numbers after your last order regardless of if you'd tags left over

You can order off any company over the phone without signing up to anything find cormac tagging good for the phone

I baulk at calling out credit card details over the phone, especially find it alarming when they repeat the number back, who knows whose within earshot. Its a gamble.

Ya I wouldn't think its any more of a risk than using machines or online shopping 😉 🤔

I rang this evening 43 minutes on hold . Ordered 4 sets of tags, he had a credit on his account from over 10 years ago. Going to get the little white cards to register them. I might need wine....

A drop of prosecco after the pancakes.

I also put a ring in a bull for the neighbour while I was there. I must have said to him 10 times dont open the pack until I say so. I turned around and there he is on his hands and knees looking for the little screw that he dropped out of the pack.

Ohhhh sweet Jesus 🤦🤦🤦🤣fair play whelan the top shelf I'd hit for after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Thought i read somewhere last week the white cards are gone now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭tanko

No, i think you can still use them but if you’re in the NGP you have to register calves on line, no white cards allowed. I’m open to correction on this.

Ye I explained the situation to the woman on the phone, this man didn't even know his herd number. No problem issuing white cards. I said I'd tag and fill in the cards for him. After I hung up he told me he needs replacement tags

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I thought I was the only one that used to get into those situations.

In fairness he gave me 50 euro and rang me after to say thanks. I said I didn't want the money but I'd hate to see him trying to deal with it himself. He was telling me to hang up but I was saying we're only going to have to go through it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

"After I hung up he told me he needs replacement tags"

I have one of these lads at home myself. Fair play to you for taking one on.

I'm used to dealing with my dad so have a fair bit of patience, plus hopefully we'll be old some day and hopefully someone will do the same for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

In fairness most of them have not grown up with technology and it's a huge challenge to get stuff done now without an aptitude for it.

I'm registering all the calves for my neighbour because he would be excluded from the NGP if he continued using the postal method. It's these older guys that would get the real benefit out of the program as they have all their genotyping and testing done in the one go. Unfortunately some of them have had to opt out because of the online registration clause.

Fairly play to ye all its nice to see people still help out other people......it's also nice to see it appreciated 👍