Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things deserving of a statue

• 31-12-2023 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Modern people get less and less statues for them. Deservedly so in most cases. I think some major game changer achievements deserving of statues have to be...

Making shrinkflation/skimpflation illegal. Imagine not having to grimace at a crappy 200ml can of coke.

Forcing ticket companies to show the full price of tickets in advertised price, same way they eventually did same to the airlines

Putting referendums to the people the next time we get told to recognise various peeps as an ethnic minority

Dropping the price of alcohol and/or cigarettes. There's nothing forcing them upping them continuously other than poor poor nanny state habits

Even 1 of these 4, id salute said statue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Ryan Tubridy should have a statue erected in his honour…

… so that people have something to throw rotten eggs at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

"Dropping the price of alcohol and/or cigarettes. There's nothing forcing them upping them continuously other than poor poor nanny state habits"

Eh yes there is. Its called Inflation. If they just put €10 euro on every packet of cigarette's then the people who smoke if they have a job or run a business are going to look for more money and then other things get more expensive too and other people look for more money and it keeps going around untill there is either a crash or inflation just goes crazy and no one can afford anything. I think that's how it works anyway or would work.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

That's an intresting concept, I never once thought an increase in the price of cigarettes would have such a profound effect on the cost of living for the rest of us.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Interesting how fuel drops price sometimes isn't it.

And inflation isn't a constant.. Check the price of stuff from 2009 to 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Id go for an angry Twink holding her kidnapped dog, parrot on her shoulder. Ideally with a button that plays some of her best phrases

"Zip up yer mickey"

"You ruined poor Naomis night in the point you baldy prick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You have to be dead to get a statue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Would rather our streets less populated with chocolate coloured metal pavement clutter.

• My patience with some of yous here

(jk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭kennypowers

The fellow that invented yoga pants /leggings .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The State don't give two tosses if you drink and smoke.

What it does care about is the cost of medically treating the tens of thousands of presentations annually, that are attributable to drinking and smoking.

Cancers, kidney disease, cirrhosis, emphysema and COPD, strokes, heart disease, vascular dementia, hypertension and diseases of the circulatory system, ulcers, eye diseases, skin problems, reduced mobility and many, many more.

So if you're gonna do it, you're damn f**king well gonna pay for the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Jack Charlton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Cheddar Bob

Jeff Hendrick.

He certainly moved like one during most of his Ireland appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

"Things" deserving of a statue...

1/ Large scale Tesla EV car statue

2/ Giant e-scooter statue.

3/ Red Cow statue @ the Red 🐄

4/ Statue of a pint of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭weadick

We have some strange statues in this country. The Sonia O'Sullivan one in Cobh is awful. I'm not saying she doesn't deserve a statue, but the one they erected of her is very unflattering, looks like Charles Haughey in drag. There's a statue of Charlie Chaplin in Waterville and Richard Harris in Kilkee purely because they liked to go on holiday there. Meanwhile Michael Collins didn't even have a statue in Cork City until last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

What's this thread about, things or people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

There was a Collins bust already in Fitzgeralds Park. And now Mick has two more! The one of him with the bike isn't a great likeness and the other one has got him in a weird unnatural pose.

The Monsignor O'Flaherty one in Killarney is another strange one, he's like something from The Matrix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

Bertie Ahern...so we can desecrate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Bigliest president

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

As a fan of heavy tunes I would see regular pics of touring American bands getting photos at the Phillo statue , if we recognise as many of our genuine legends in statue it will bring in tourists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The bray promenade would be a great spot for a sinead O'Connor statue, shane McGowan should get one too as he's internationally recognised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I always thought the women of the Irish Sweepstakes were very badly done by and deserve to be remembered, if only as a reminder of what greedy busters we produced and allowed to operate in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭q2ice

I agree with cj, a statue of Jequ0n 🤩

The Red Cow statue sounds like a great idea too😍

🇮🇪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Ye so we can desicredit it lol and turn it into a Clown just like the Clown Trump himself.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There should be a statue outside that Lidl in Dublin of a fella running with a loaf of Brennan's in his hands to commemorate the great snow of 2018

Another one of a fella in mid air after slipping on live TV to commemorate the great snow of 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

Joey Dunlop

Big Jack

Bobby Sands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

There should be a statue to the man who has gave us a laugh for years .

The Man who Slipped on Ice

😷😷😷😷

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Don Cockburn and Charles Mitchell - two great RTÉ news readers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I wouldn’t be putting up statues, the young ones love to pull them down these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Back in the day they used to blow them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Iguarantee

Assuming you mean Jack Charlton; there's a statue of him inside Cork Airport:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Was the Sean Russell statue removed from Fairview park? I passed it years ago and someone had painted swastikas on it. I think it was removed soon after.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

His most respected holiness , Archangel of Ireland - Tony Holohan ........................ saviour of millions ...

With His wee manslaves , Simon Donnelly on one side and Simon Harris on the other ......

"Hes got the whole world in his hands ................."

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

The Childrens Allowance Statute.

Many of us would not be here but for it.