If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Impromptu trad sessions on planes

• 07-11-2023 11:59PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭Tork

On Sunday, a flight from Frankfurt to Dublin was delayed. And so, the Cavan Town branch of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann took it upon themselves to "entertain" their fellow passengers. Back in March, a bunch of trad musicians struck up on an Aer Lingus flight to New York. It's an issue that tends to polarise opinions: people either seem to love it or hate it. My question is, which musical instrument would you smash first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,953 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Self-indulgent shitebags.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,496 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Yeah no - the only thing I want to do on a flight back to Dublin is sleep - comments are none too complimentary on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

**** that

As a musician myself that would be my idea of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Mr. Grinder

I would not be happy if someone inflicted that on me. I'm a grumpy bastard when I'm travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Pure for the camera's drivel. I get sick of Trad after 3 songs, gets repetitive enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Purely spontaneous

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Should all be put on a no fly list.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

This response sums up my feelings.

DAFF3521-2492-4D15-A041-B53CBC53E3A3.jpeg

Someone else posted that they would start smoking in the toilets in order to get kicked off 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭HBC08

It's depends on lots of things,

Are you having beers on the plane on the way back from a stag?

Are you coming home for Christmas,haven't been with Irish people for a few years and think this is mighty craic.

Are you hungover and just want to get home and p1ssed off enough that your flight is delayed?

Worried that you're going to miss a bus home/connecting flight.

Travelling with young kids,

On your way home to a parents funeral?

I've been in most of these situations on a flight and obviously your own situation is going to dictate what "mad craic" you're up for or not.

I think a good rule of thumb is don't inflict your full time mad b@stard shenanigans on the public where nobody has a choice to leave.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,286 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I used to work in a country hotel and the worst thing was someone at 2-3am whipping out a guitar.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,169 ✭✭✭Floppybits

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,286 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Aye. Granted, I was on the way out and we'd be closing the residents' bar but all the same, it's the last thing a man needs at that time of the morning.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,473 ✭✭✭emo72

There never great tunes in fairness. Nothing seems me running faster from a pub.

Aye. Professional musicians are professionals for a reason.

They have ruined many a good party. Nothing worse than being at a party either in a house or elsewhere and someone pulls out the guitar and starts playing stairway to heaven or some other sh1te. Even worse are the f8ckers that encourage them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I think a good rule of thumb is don't inflict your full time mad b@stard shenanigans on the public where nobody has a choice to leave.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Trad music is not for everyone - it seems to be the Shtick nowadays with young culchies - the lads who wear GAA club half zips and the young women with their sprayed on gym pants showing off their camel toes in full view....who all jump on the latest bandwagon. The vast majority of people on a plane just want to be left alone - this sh**e of striking up an impromptu trad session on a plane with other idiots videoing it for social media boils my piss...or maybe because i'm a grumpy bastard in my late forties who hates the whole rigmarole of flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,830 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

oh god I would have loved that on my last flight dublin from Heathrow after flying from darwin via Perth -NOT!

having said that I was so tired I just fell asleep anyway.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,200 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

You can say wanker.

As for the scenario in the OP, I would go full Falling Down in that situation. I can't fcuking stand trad music. But tbh, regardless of the genre, that kind of behaviour in a sealed metal tube is obnoxious cockwombling of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,389 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I love music but that would be my ideal of hell.

in such a confined space listening to that racket, the hollering and the smug behaviour too.

if you were stuck in a terminal all well and good. A fair chance you can fûck off to the bar or restaurant/cafe, shops….

captain gets on the intercom…. “ ok, we have clearance to depart, take your seats immediately “

it’s going to take 5 - 10 minutes for the instruments to be put in bags & cases, then be stowed & gimps to get seated and belted up….

crew need to do cabin secure checks too…. Another few minutes. After all that time, airborne slot could be in jeopardy . Your flight then goes to the back of the Q.

a fûcking weird generation, all about attention and ‘likes’ for them all…. The vast majority of people have phones out recording and interacting with social media … that’s also more important than ‘enjoying’ what’s happening…. Getting it, filmed, uploaded and liked….12 - 15 years ago you’d be called a bit psycho for that.. now.. “ a tis good for der mintil hilth “…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,607 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Untitled Image

All trad sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,142 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Trad sessions have their place. On a flight is not their place. Self indulgent staged "craic" for shares and likes, fcuk off for yerselves. I'll likely be knackered and cranky so you'll end up wearing that fiddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Noise cancelling headphones for ALL cnuts on flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Young talented kids. Don't know much about that style of music but it sounded good to me. No bum notes. Good rhythm.

As long as their performance was short, I wouldn't be spewing the vitriol that others are doing. I believe the flight was delayed on the ground so this might have provided a distraction for some for a few mins.

I'm not a fan of flying purely because I have to endure other people in close confines for a few hours. As long as the annoyance is not excessively long, then I can get over it. I think others should do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Or the fuckers shushing everyone.

Eh, no. I came to the pub/party to have a few drinks and talk shite. If I wanted to listen to bad music I’d buy tickets to a Genesis gig. You do your thing and don’t worry about me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,203 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

what if Slipknot were on that plane and decided to play a few of their tunes after the Trad music? would everyone be ok with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,975 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Irish people unused to travelling on a two hour European flight think they’re on a transatlantic flight in business class in 1974 and should be treated like royalty. 

Cop, on, it’s music. You’re on a bus with wings for a short time with a €100 boarding pass. 

• This content has been removed.

Didn't know you could say wanker? Some mods operate on a hair trigger on here so was playing it safe.

The shushers are a bad and even worse are those that encourage them, you know the ones "Ah there's Jimmy, Hey Jimmy got your guitar with you, will ya play a couple of tunes, ah go on ya will." those ones. Of course Jimmy always has his guitar with him like that pox Glen Hansard, the messiah of the guitar wan*ers (sorry still can't bring myself to say it for fear of hair trigger mods). 😀

Jaysus you are being generous there with the grade B music. I think the grading would be much much further down the alphabet.