Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's going on with HSE agency spend?

Options
  • 09-10-2023 2:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭

I've seen reports lately saying that the HSE is overspending to the tune of 1 billion this year and most of this is being blamed on agency costs.

If this is the overspend, does anyone know how much we spend in total on agency staff?

I worked in healthcare myself until a career change about ten years ago. At the time, and in the disability services where I worked, agency staff were paid broadly the same hourly rate as employed staff.

But for each hour worked, the agency would be paid the same again.

At those rates, suppose we spend 2 billion on agency staff, 1 billion is effectively wasted.

Is that correct? If not, how much of this huge spend actually goes to these agencies, does anybody know?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Here's the HSE's Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2022: https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/publications/corporate/hse-annual-report-and-financial-statements-2022.pdf

Here's the breakdown of staff pay and pension expenditure for both HSE and Agency staff (clinical and non-clinical). This is on page 172

The 2023 one won't be published until mid next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

This article, based on a FOI request, has the total figure in 2022 at 690 million.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/arid-41200039.html#:~:text=The%20HSE's%20spend%20on%20agency,between%20January%20and%20October%202021.

Those figures you shared suggest to me 300 million?