Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

People wanting to look younger and cosmetic procedures **Mod Note in Post #77**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,091 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,654 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Blame the fashion industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭babyducklings1

I suppose thinking about it it’s marketing the product to the younger folks and they are easy targets due to social media especially. It seems crazy that they are doing this in their twenties when they are in their prime but obviously they feel there is a standard of beauty they must attain to be accepted. Like being perfect and flawless.

But the whole beauty industry is booming, personal care is a good thing of course but can be taken too far. But of course there is huge money to be made in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭buried

So we now want to vilify everybody that decided to get cosmetic procedures, is it?

Cosmetic procedures were glorified to the hilt by mainstream entertainment media outlets during the 90's.

Now there is a problem? lol

There's a f**king problem alright.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I've NEVER looked at a pretty girl with no procedure done and thought 'oh she's hot, it's a shame about the lips'.

But I invariably ALWAYS say to myself when I see a naturally pretty young one after getting obvious lip filler 'oh she's hot, it's a shame about the lips though'.

If you won't notice it, then why bother (and spend money on it)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I blame Barbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I dont see any difference between getting lip filler or botox and getting a tattoo or piercing but any man that says they dont find the lip fillers & fake lashes attractive is lying! Anytime im out with my friend who has lip fillers, fake tan, fake lashes, hair extensions, she gets the most attention from men out of any of the girls that are natural, don't have fillers or lash extension & dont wear allot of makeup. Young girls in particular can feel allot of pressure to look attractive & be noticed or stand out so I can understand how they get sucked into all these proceadures.

To answer your first question: no.

Not one post has said any such thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,128 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

They are not lying, they can look fake as fück to be honest… I had a work colleague about 27 get her lips done and she looked like something out of Fossets… I don’t know if there was an allergic reaction, a botched procedure or if the finished product was what she in fact ordered…but she ended up OTT, unable to be clearly understood when talking… despite being expected to be dealing with the general public in person and on the phone she was never disciplined…. Just given the handy routine desk gig doing daily reports…. Boring but piss simple and stress free…for about 3 weeks 🤪…. Visible tattoos were prohibited but …..

image.png

something like this was deemed grand and facilitated….^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,016 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I was waiting for this.

You won't notice it's been "done" the way you would a full frozen face, bad lip filler, etc. If someone you know has had good botox done you'll just think they look great in a way you can't quite put your finger on.

Someone you meet for the first time who's already had good botox? You won't have a clue that they used to just look a bit more tired/angry/whatever.

I have a really prominent frown-line between my brows (an "I want" line, as Stephen King calls it). It makes me look like I'm furious even in repose and my make-up migrates into it as the day goes on and makes me look like a Greek theatre mask. I get botox on that one single area about once a year and it just unclenches my whole face, but in a really subtle way.

As it happens, botox is also a really effective treatment for people who suffer from excessive sweating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

I dont know depends on whether you're omipotent or impotent. Personally I'm I'm omnipotent so it depends on whether impotents disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

I don't know of any fella that thinks that the lips look good. Not one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭blade1

They thought they were the bees knees because beauty is in the eye of the bee holder.

She ws probably over filled or took a reaction and had swelling. The problem with fillers is that theyre unregulated so anyone can buy them online and administer them, its very dangerous because they dont understand fillers and they dont know the anatomy of the face so anything can go wrong. Professionals are only just learning that fillers never fully dissolve and that information hasnt reached allot of the untrained & unprofessional beauty therapists administering the fillers so they over fill thinking it will make the effects last longer when really theyre creating damage to the lips and causing the filler to migrate to other parts of the face as it cant fit in the small area its been placed in. Theres so much pressure on girls to look a certain way, especially with instagram and I dont care what anyone says, the girls with the big fake lips and lashes and fake tans are always the ones getting attention from fellas, the natural girls see that and it can make them feel insecure and like they need to get all these things done or else they dont feel attractive enough. I honestly think its a fad and they'll look back at photos of themselves and cringe, like the massive eyebrow trend, shell tracksuits or mullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I have friend who does botox injections etc, 2 clinics, makes an absolute fortune. Early 30's has a brand new Range Rover and BMW M4. Says she can not get enough hours in the day or staff, demand is crazy.

It's all down to the poison of social media, telling girls you need to look like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Its a reflection of how vain and self obsessed our Instagram generation has become. And its an endless pointless cycle. People argue that if it makes you feel good go for botox, tummy tuck etc but its such an unstable foundation. Its never enough...botox leads to more analysis and an attempt to "fix" all your flaws. Before you know it, you are spending thousands on clothes, fashion tips, gyms, fancy diets, basically making the beauty industry a fortune.

The dieting industry is the biggest con on the planet but not enough people can see through it. 95% of people who lose weight cant keep it off by dieting. However its the only industry in the world which blames the customer for failing. If a tablet had a 95% failure rate you wouldnt go near it, yet millions of people hand over their cash to Unislim, Noom, diet books, wellness courses etc etc.

We all get old, thats life. Better to face your natural older self than running pointlessly from nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭YellowLead

It saddens me to see young women messing with their faces because it makes them look so much older. I’m always surprised when I see some younger female influencers/reality celebrities and hear they are only 21 when to me they look 30.

I think a subtle bit of Botox once you get to mid 30s and up can work wonders. I’m definitely going to start soon enough. And yes I’ll be honest my reasons are pathetic - I’m single and I need to compete with younger women all the time and if I look ‘old’ I lose some appeal. I used to get constantly told I looked much younger than my age, in the last few years that’s changed and it bothers me.

The lip filler always looks rank to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,091 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

To be honest I always assume women with all this cosmetic surgery are easy. saw a group lately, in their 20s, all lips done, boob jobs, lashes, tan, one was wearing what looked like a bra in the pissing rain. They thought they were the best thing since sliced bread but any guy with his head screwed on wouldnt go near them in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭PaoloGotti

It’s mostly an instinctual evolutionary trait among women to help them find the best mate possible. They will always apply effort to looking their best, and will use whatever means modern tech/cosmetics gives them. There is very little point criticising them for evolved instincts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭HBC08

Maybe she's better looking,has a better personality or a better body than you.Maybe she would get twice as much attention without the duck lips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I think we all have something we’d like to change. I’ve always sworn id never have surgery or enhancements. Not being able to afford them helps me keep that promise 😂

Truth be told though if I won the lottery I’d seriously consider a tummy tuck. It’s the one thing I’m really self conscious about. And then once you’ve broken your own promise, I imagine it’s easy to have a few bits done here and there. It’s knowing when to stop.

My daughter (27) tried the lip fillers once. I was dead against it but held my tongue. She’s so very pretty just as she is (heavily biased as my opinion is)

She has friends in the beauty sector, got some good advice, and only had a tiny bit. A few days of very minor swelling and the end result was virtually imperceptible, I was actually impressed at the subtle change. Just more defined and slightly fuller. She didn’t repeat it though. She said that the temptation to have a bit more the next time round was there. And she didn’t want to go down that road.

Beauty standards change. And from my perspective, the natural look is always so much more appealing. But this is where we are. If they insist on getting it done I hope they do their research and go to a reputable practitioner.

Do you whatever you want but at least be honest.

The one thing I have noticed about a few media personalities and the like is they will always give a shout-out to the stylist who did their hair, never who did the Botox lip filler, or whatever.

It is doubly dishonest in a way because even if it is mentioned at all it must be framed in a living my best life way, the same way as being thin must be framed as health.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,959 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m glad you said it and not me 😂

It’s true though, and their youth is a factor in making those decisions, in the same way their youth is a factor in lads who don’t have their heads screwed on finding them attractive, the same lads who are obsessed with bulking up in the gym and daring not skip leg day, ingesting all manner of substances to enhance their physical appearance, and more and more deciding that they too could do with a bit of surgical assistance in maintaining their youthful appearance in order to maintain their looks to compete with other men.

I wouldnt even put it down to vanity or self obsession, in most cases I honestly think it comes down to feeling social pressure to look a certain way, whether that pressure is real or imagined. Theres always been beauty standards that women have felt pressure to live up too, in the 90's and early 2000's there was an epidemic of girls and young women with eating disorders because of the pressure to be skinny, then with the kardashians big boobs and bums became the most attractive body type to have.

I remember this change over as I was a skinny girl at the time and feeling so much pressure to put on weight but only in the correct places, people used to tell me to eat a sandwich or comment on my body. Dont underestimate how cruel people can be to one anothers faces and ive no doubt girls and young women feel pressure because people comment on their looks and point out flaws to them.

From when girls are little babies their looks are commented on. Its usually well meaning but it results in allot of girls having their self worth wrapped up in how they look. This is only magnified when they get a little bit older and boys and men start giving them 'positive' attention if theyre attracted to them or negative attention if theyre not attracted to them. Id a friend at 14 who got followed down the street by a group of teenage boys shouting 'who let the dogs out' & barking at her. Ive been in pubs with friends in my early 20's and men have come up and told a member of the group she was ugly, while sitting on a bus with a friend when in our early 20's, a man of similar age turned around, looked at my friend and told her she was the ugliest woman he'd ever seen. People are horrible!!! and thats not even the tip of the ice berg when it comes to how cruel teenage girls are to one another. but calling a girl ugly, whether the insult is coming from a male or female, its incredibly hurtful to most young people who havnt developed strong self esteem & they carry those insecurities into adulthood.

For allot of women it comes down to feeling insecure and probably having a fractured sense of self, its not really about what men like or find attractive they just know that if they get the fillers or the fake boobs, they get attention in a way that makes them feel wanted or attractive, it makes them feel good so they keep doing it.

That said for allot of women its probably that they look in the mirror and feel a bit more confident in how they present to the world.

Either way, theyre not doing anything illegal and theyre entitled to do what they like to their own bodies & faces and no one else has to like it or approve of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The influence of instagrammers have a massive effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,654 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I asked my blunt mate if he was into the marshmallow lips. He said not really, but it makes it easier for him to identify the haunty ones who you can treat like **** if he's just looking for the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭newmember2

Yes probably, as all the men think she might be an easy touch with that level of insecurity going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Lot of old fogies giving out about young people.

Nothg new.

I'm not sure if that is strictly true, looked up a media personality who obviously has had Botox and some sort of check filler She is 52 now id be fairly sure she believes she just looks her best self, and the things she has done aren't noticeable, the thing is she doesn't look young or overdone but no one looks their best self or fresh or whatever it all the time thats the give away that they have work done its not natural to be your best self all the time. There is a lot of dishonesty surrounding the whole issue if there wasn't individuals would be honest about having work done and it would not have to be presented in a certain narrative.