Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Largest Back Seats Options

• 30-07-2023 10:33AM
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭

With the exception of a 7 seater, what is be best option for 3 full seats in the rear? The bigger the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,111 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Is it for child seats or just big people. Skoda Superb or Mercedes S class are roomy before jumping up into SUV's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭tom traubert

If it's for adult or larger person comfort, rather than child seats I can attest to the Skoda Superb being the car for the job.

Leg room in particular, front and back, is class leading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 idiot4

Skoda Superb. Get the Combi Estate if you want even more space. I had one, great yoke. By the way, Mark Kane in MSL Skoda North Dublin is a great lad to deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭User1998

Can’t beat a Tesla Model S, has three full size seats and a flat floor all the way across with no transmission hump.

If you don’t want electric than an S Class, 7 series, Audi A8, Lexus LS etc would be the next best thing. But these are all big expensive cars

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

1 child seat and 2 fighting pre teens!

5008 was also recommended. Does test come in 5/7 seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,111 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

All the 7 seaters spend most of their time as 5 seaters, the back seats fold down to give you a bigger boot. They're handy to have.

Picked a used xc90 over a new 5008 a few years ago, few small hiccups but overall happy...you can get them with an inbuilt booster, separate the pre teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,767 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Or split the kids over two rows.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

5008 has 3 separate seats.

Lot of cars surprisingly poor middle belt. CRV and 5 series here over last couple years. Neither great in middle

If you get a 7 seater (5+2) it's handy if you need to separate them. But you can make any car work.

Only real way to know is to go sit in the back of few. Test the rear seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Citroen C5 aircross has 3 separate seats with plenty of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,706 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Citroen Picasso, there are 5 seat versions as well as the 7 seat Grand Picasso. Bags of room in the back, 3 separate equal sized seats. We're some way on from needing child seats, but my 3 older teenagers can fit comfortably in the back together on the rare occasions we're all in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,545 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

We had the last generation superb Combi. Massive leg room, but a surprisingly narrow car, not sure if that’s changed with the new models?

You really need a boxy shape to get decent width for three. Many saloons and some SUV curve in at the roof/shoulder line, to give a sporty roofline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

A Superb is based on the Passat. It's a standard car and not big seats.

The 5008 is the best in terms of 3 separate seats unless you go to a full type van.

Im sure plenty of people will give recommendations for their own cars etc. I have X5 but I would recommend it and spilt across the 7 seats

The 5 series and the A6 are the biggest back car space...some others might have similar.

The other option of course is the multimac in back seats if it is child seats

A 5008 is basically a crossover MPV/SUV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,183 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Have had both Passat and Skoda Superb , which is much bigger in the back . We have 4 very large ( as in tall ) adult kids and can fit 3 in the back comfortably .

Think the dash is not as deep and maybe thats how they get that space .

Have tried Audi A4 and Opel Insignia as well and the Skoda Superb was the biggest back . .

Have not gone 7 seater as don't really have them all in the car anymore.

The Superb (4869mm) has always been is a stretched Passat/Octavia. Its physically longer. (4767mm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

5008 is a good recommendation

as each seat is separate as such in the back (separate bolsters and 3 isofix). 3008 does not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

It's a Passat with a few tweaks. You are kidding yourself if you think 3 people are sitting in the back comfortably. The raised part in the middle seat alone means one person if certainly not comfortable.

One of the advantages of electric cars is that is removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,183 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Not. As I said we have one. While it may be like the Passat as you say my lads have found all three seats more comfortable.

But sure depends on how soft you are and how badly you need a spin!

Superb has a lot more space in the rear than a Passat. They stretched it specifically to get that legroom.

Its not a Passat. Its based on the Phaeton, which is bigger than a Passat

Where did you get that from? It's a stretched Passat.

"...The first generation of the modern Superb, produced from 2001 to 2008, was based on the VW B5 PL45+ platform. The second generation Superb used the B6 A6/PQ46 and was introduced in 2008. The third, and current, generation using the MQB platform, entered production in 2015..."

The Phaeton

I dunno what's people issue on one car being based on another. It's bigger than a Passat. It's why it has more legroom in the rear seats.

A Touran MPV is based on the Golf but has arguably more space in the rear across the shoulders due to the boxy shape. They are 3x80% ish seats in the middle row. Whereas most saloons will be 2.5 sized seats. You'd have to go to a large SUV or larger MPV to get 3x full sized seats.

Something like Touran will manage three regular sized adults, (or 7) for occasional trips better than any saloon. But if this is for doing regular long trips across Europe etc, I'd go larger like Sharan, or large SUV.

Its longer than a Passat, more comparable to the bigger VW Phaeton which has more legroom in the rear. As you can see below they are practically identical

DBA1C149-19A0-4F25-ADEB-693CF09F53F7.jpeg 38211151-A5D3-4D16-955E-19703A01147C.jpeg

Did you even read the links?

Lots of cars look similar. Doesn't mean they are the same platform.

Audi TT uses the MQB platform. Just because two cars use the same platform doesn’t mean you can compare them for legroom😂

You said it was the same as the Passat with a few tweaks. It's not a few tweaks it's been made LONGER. That's why it has more legroom. Not the platform.

The Phaeton is a DIFFERENT platform. That is superficially similar is neither here or there. The Superb is not based on it. Not that it matters.

Someone mentioned the A6. The older A6 used to suffer from poor legroom Vs its competitors. The current model is actually larger than the Superb so I assume legroom is no longer an issue . But at that point you're into large luxury saloons. Often they are intended for 4 luxury passengers than 5. Which is why they aren't always the choice for 5 passengers.

I often carry 5+ occasionally for long journeys. My choice would be a larger SUV/MPV. Though I do prefer a saloon to drive. The estates are stylish but you get more "useful" space in a larger MPV/SUV.

Ultimately it's about which compromise you're happy to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Interior of Superb is noticeably bigger than a Passat. Boot in Superb is much bigger and more useable than a Passat (liftback v saloon).