Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snooker Season 2023/24

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Nip and tuck final so far. Could see it going 10-9.

Jan Ver Hass refereeeing, Jan doesn't do that many matches anymore. Been occupied with supervising all the younger refs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Zhang is in shredsville.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Poor Zhang starting to Wilt big time now, should never of lost that frame, really he's handing it to Allen now who isn't at it either it has to be said.

Allen really just should put this away now

Late night finish it looks like now

That was a dodgy frame from both players

• Registered Users Posts: 18,312 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Ref should take a red off the table every 5 minutes

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Joe O'Connor made the 200th maximum today in the Championship League.

Not sure if you can get a Lada anymore, doubt it though

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Yes. Maximum at the Masters etc or Champion of Champions etc. count too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Golden ball started today - might check it out tomorrow

Thinks it's wildcard matches today before tournament proper

Yeah John Higgins and Ding added last minute.

The 167 prize is a one off. First man to do it gets the pot. I'd say there is a fair chance of someone doing it. Especially if balls along the cushions play a bit generous.

Ya was wondering

A prize for a 167 ?

In addition to winners prize money ?

No money for a 147 but if you get 167 first you bag the lot.

250 grand to the winner as well. Players will love Saudi, more than they do China.

Making one or two even more big headed about turning up for a Tuesday night in Telford/Crawley/Belfast or Newport.

Hmm is the wily fox Hearn involved in this golden ball innovation?

On first glance it seems to make a 147 less likely and 167 less likely again what with potential for fouls and the golden ball getting in the way of pots and the white

"Any foul or infringement involving the Golden Ball incurs a penalty of 4 points or the value of the ball ‘on’, whichever is greater."

Not too many frames in this tournament either

Wonder is there odds on there not being a "super maximum" break 😁

Might be worth a punt

I just looked at what the craic is -

Here is Lisowski explaining it:

My take on it is -

1) It was added as a gimmick and hype (clever in that sense we are talking about it)

2) By putting the "Golden Ball" on the baulk cushion it lessons the odds of a payout - having to pot one more ball difficultly placed after a 147 is the equivalent of adding the "Green zero" in a roulette wheel. The odds are with the house and the house is more likely to win

--

But the key I took from it is if the 147 is no longer on the Golden Ball is removed. And the "Golden Ball" has to be potted last.

At the level of these fellas the ball needs to be on the baulk cushion to make it tough. If they get to 147, I fancy them to get from black into baulk with a nice little angle. Knocking it in along the cushion is another matter. But if balls are hugging the cushions a lot this week, well....

There's a good chance the golden ball woyld be undisturbed until tackling the baulk colours in a 147

Either move it then or play for it on the cushion off the black ?

Anyway this is a clever marketing move on an unlikely payout

WTF is Lisowski at...

I heard Shaun Murphy talking about it, he was already thinking about how he make sure the "Golden Ball" could be freed up early.

I found a youtube channel that shows the World Masters - it is in Arabic.

But in my head I could pretend it is Aonghus McAnally commentating on the Irish Masters in Goffs As Gaeilge -

Riyadh Season is the name of the channel.

No arabic for cushion apparently... or maximum break

Jayus Higgins got a 120 against Williams all reds and blacks - first frame. But the white stuck on the yellow (The black he potted white was close to cushion so it was hard to control) it got very tense. Audience was even asked not to move. I would say Higgins is sick, great chance for the big prize.

Frame 1 and he had 15 reds and blacks already.

Like the F1 there, there no crowd or atmosphere. Players seem to be relaxed which makes me think they'll keep going for maxis. Half a million dollars, and table seems to playing fast

It was a good break by Higgins and he got a bit unlucky with how it ended but there was a black he took on that should never of went in, it looked well wide, pockets are playing very generous.

Sort of a low key exhibition, feel to it but big money on offer. Weird. Sort of like the Saudi soccer.

Then you see the lads walking around in the crowd with the Saudi traditional dress. My first thought was you would have some job playing snooker in that get up. A foul waiting to happen!

It is on eurosport if you have it. Gone midnight there now. Selby could be playing until 3am if his match comes on late.

The ref doesn't put the golden ball down a pocket. It seems to have its own little box on the adverstising board at the baulk end. No rowdy crowds for the refs this week anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,515 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

some tasty QFs today

Didn't watch too much last nite

Was the arena empty ? Seems odd if so

Why wouldn't they fill it FOC ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭waynescales1

• Registered Users Posts: 12,515 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Jack getting into the theme of things