General Premier League Thread 2023-24 Mod Note in op 27/6/23 And 21/05/24

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

He will probably get until the West Ham and Villa games as they won't be expected to win against Bayern and Liverpool. Lose those games after defeat to your rivals and being knocked out of the CL however and I think even the fans who don't want to keep re-starting with new managers will have lost faith in ETH turning those players around.

He better get another season. Nevermind this one. Most people in here sound like Piers Morgan going after Arteta.

Anyway main event time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

What a goal, what a move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Villa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,974 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I think that result for United is one that they've deserved a few times this season based on performances but they've gotten away with it from a moment 9f magic from someone or the run of the green from the officials.

What I don't see from ETH is a clearly defined way he wants to play. Hey the squad playing the way you want even if they're not good enough to do it 100%, as the patterns of play become more familiar the repetition will be drilled into the players and those who aren't great can still do an adequate job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There's no gameplan at United.

Particularly when an early goal is conceded, the only response seems to be huff and puff then concede a few more.

The players are a shower of ****s, but the manager should at the very least be able to make them a solid unit that don't ship goals every other game.

The situation with Uniteds ownership has the club in a situation where there's nobody in place to sack Ten Hag so this will continue until Ratcliffe comes in to take charge of the football operations of the club, the Glazers have held off and left him to pull the trigger and he'd have to be crazy not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

That defensive line from Villa is higher than snoop dogg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭doc_17

The referee needs to book Martinez now, rather than watch him waste time all game, then hook him in the 87th minute….

Think snoop gave up weed recently...

Anyway...could be a loong evening here, getting the goal so early has definitely changed how Villa approached this after starting the game similar to how they played vs City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Yeah you would imagine after their exerts against city on weds night that villa will tire as the game goes on

Emery won't want to change things while his players are doing well but he won't be afraid to bring on the likes of Diaby, Moreno, Ramsey and Cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭djan

Some game for with plenty going on and nicely poised for 2nd half. Apart from their goal, Villa have been getting overrun and conceding plenty of chances. Just a case of if Arsenal can keep it up and convert them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

They controlled the game pretty comfortably against Man City so I don't see a drop-off being a factor.

Yeah just thought they weren't in much control here since the opener and it might be down to a bit of fatigue. Diaby might inject a bit more energy into them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Seems like Villa are tiring a bit now. Big effort put in by them them between midweek and today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

Can't hold onto the ball at the minute or string 2 passes together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,901 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

How is no Arsenal player counting out the 6 seconds to the ref each time that Martinez holds onto it for 15 seconds. Such time wasting.

If you don't ask, you don't get.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Kind of like waving an imaginary card in front of the ref, it's not the players job to ask for things from the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Arsenal a goal down and all their lads want to do is roll around on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭doc_17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭McFly85

Petulant from Havertz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,796 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Fair play to Villa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,034 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I'd love the to see Villa win league, be similar to Leicester , I know they are bigger team , but be good for league to break the City monopoly

I'm still not going to go mad and start talking about a title challenge but especially in a season when 5th could get you in...Champions League we (Villa) are coming for you!

Your welcome Liverpool! They really have to have loved Villa's last 2 results.

Was a lot of talk of Utd being only 3 pts behind City but City aren't who they are competing against as at best Utd are trying to get CL football - 8 points behind Villa now (and they play each other this month)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭jacool

Its strange, but I cannot warm to the underdogs Villa in the same way I did Leicester City.

All I see is the cynicism of Martinez and loads of time-wasting that just goes unpunished.

I also want to know how you win a penalty now as the referee who saw that handball didn't see Rice getting pulled to the ground in the box in the first half.

I'd love a weekend where there are 20 penalties in every game and then players realise they have to defend properly.

I would also like to see a replay of the disallowed goal again as I actually thought in real time that the ball hit Matty Cash on the arm first.

This does looks like the kind of season where it could be in the mix all the way through, as no one team is in anyway visibly ahead of the others and looking utterly unbeatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭irelandrover

It did hit Cash on the arm first. But his arm is by his side so it's not handball. Havertz wouldn't be handball either except he scored.

They have made an absolute mess of the handball rule. Handball is only handball depending on what happens next.

I don't believe for a second that the ref saw handball in real time considering it took a slow motion replay to see it grazed the arm.

Villa kicked them off the park. Let it flow of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,892 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Realistically we’re only gonna hear more about the handball rule (which has been in place for quite a while now) because it’s Arsenal and they find a decision to whinge about in almost every game under Arteta.

Went in to their thread for a giggle at the talk of corruption etc.